14 permits · verified 2026-09-29
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Collin County?
In short
A restaurant in Collin County, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Collin County Fire Marshal charges $100 per building or new tenant (county page: per building in new construction) for the certificate of compliance (unincorporated commercial building or new tenant). 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-29 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Collin County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Local Fee on TABC Alcohol License or Permit | Collin County Tax Assessor-Collector | 50% of the state fee for the license or permit, new or renewal, as the county's fee schedule words it; the statute caps the county fee at one-half of the statutory fee as of 31 August 2021. | with the state license or permit | 2026-09-29 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit | Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health) | $200–$600 one permit fee per establishment, by floor area: under 2,000 sq ft $200; 2,000-4,000 sq ft $300; 4,001-8,000 sq ft $400; 8,001-20,000 sq ft $500; over 20,000 sq ft $600 | not stated in the county's fee schedule or Food Service and Health page | 2026-09-29 |
| Temporary Event Food Permitonly if it applies to you | Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health) | $40 per permit, up to 14 days at a single location | up to 14 days at a single location | 2026-09-29 |
| Fire Construction Permit, Commercial Cooking Hood Systemonly if it applies to you | Collin County Fire Marshal | $75 per permit, per installation | per installation | 2026-09-29 |
| Fire Construction Permit, Tent, Membrane Structure or Canopyonly if it applies to you | Collin County Fire Marshal | $100 per unit | per unit | 2026-09-29 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Collin County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Compliance (Unincorporated Commercial Building or New Tenant) | Collin County Fire Marshal | $100 per building or new tenant (county page: per building in new construction) | one-time | 2026-09-29 |
| Annual Commercial Fire Inspection (Unincorporated Collin County) | Collin County Fire Marshal | Varies — formula on the Collin County page | annual | 2026-09-29 |
| Fire Marshal Building and Site Plan Review (New Construction) | Collin County Fire Marshal | $0.20 per square foot of new construction | one-time per project | 2026-09-29 |
| Commercial On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health) | Varies — formula on the Collin County page | per system | 2026-09-29 |
| Culvert and Driveway Permitonly if it applies to you | Collin County Public Works | $250 per parcel | per permit | 2026-09-29 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Collin County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Collin County, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.20. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
County Local Fee on TABC Alcohol License or Permit: 50% of the state fee for the license or permit, new or renewal, as the county's fee schedule words it; the statute caps the county fee at one-half of the statutory fee as of 31 August 2021.
Food Service Establishment Permit: $200–$600 one permit fee per establishment, by floor area: under 2,000 sq ft $200; 2,000-4,000 sq ft $300; 4,001-8,000 sq ft $400; 8,001-20,000 sq ft $500; over 20,000 sq ft $600
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Collin County permits page and the TX state page.
Is Collin County expensive for a restaurant?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Collin County sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Temporary Event Food Permit: Collin County charges $40. Across 4 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Fair Oaks Ranch to $52 in Hays County, with a median of $46. 1 charges less and 2 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Temporary Event Food Permit varies by $22 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Collin County?
Permits for a restaurant in Collin County, TX come from 7 separate offices: Collin County Tax Assessor-Collector, Collin County Fire Marshal, Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health), Collin County Public Works, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Collin County Tax Assessor-CollectorIssues 1 permit on this page: County Local Fee on TABC Alcohol License or Permitwww.collincountytx.gov
- Collin County Fire MarshalIssues 5 permits on this page, including Certificate of Compliance (Unincorporated Commercial Building or New Tenant), Annual Commercial Fire Inspection (Unincorporated Collin County), Fire Marshal Building and Site Plan Review (New Construction)4690 Community Ave, McKinney, TX 75071 · (972) 548-5576www.collincountytx.gov/Services/Engineering/Fire-Marshal/commercial-applications
- Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health)Issues 3 permits on this page: Food Service Establishment Permit, Temporary Event Food Permit, Commercial On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Inspection4690 Community Ave, McKinney, TX 75071 · (972) 548-5585collincountytx-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice
- Collin County Public WorksIssues 1 permit on this page: Culvert and Driveway Permitwww.collincountytx.gov
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in Collin County that other businesses do not?
1 of the 6 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Collin County: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
Temporary Event Food Permit
The county's page allows a temporary permit for a period of not more than 14 days at a single location. The online application and payment must be received by Development Services five business days before the first anticipated day of operation, or the county denies the request. The permit applies in the unincorporated areas and the city limits of Wylie, Melissa, Lowry Crossing, Weston, Josephine and Farmersville; an event elsewhere in the county is permitted by that city. Texas licenses mobile food vendors through the state Department of State Health Services from 1 July 2026; this county permit is for the event. Fee currency: the amount is from Collin County's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule, in effect through 30 September 2026, and the county's FY 2027 proposed fee schedule lists the same amount; the fee schedule for the period after 30 September 2026 is not yet published as adopted in any source available on 29 September 2026.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Collin County
- County Local Fee on TABC Alcohol License or Permit — Collin County Tax Assessor-Collector, 50% of the state fee for the license or permit, new or renewal, as the county's fee schedule words it; the statute caps the county fee at one-half of the statutory fee as of 31 August 2021., with the state license or permit. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Service Establishment Permit — Collin County Development Services (Environmental Health), $200–$600 one permit fee per establishment, by floor area: under 2,000 sq ft $200; 2,000-4,000 sq ft $300; 4,001-8,000 sq ft $400; 8,001-20,000 sq ft $500; over 20,000 sq ft $600, not stated in the county's fee schedule or Food Service and Health page. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Fire Construction Permit, Commercial Cooking Hood System — Collin County Fire Marshal, $75 per permit, per installation, per installation. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Fire Construction Permit, Tent, Membrane Structure or Canopy — Collin County Fire Marshal, $100 per unit, per unit. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Collin County, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Collin County permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Collin County?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 5 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A coffee shop needs nothing here that a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 5 | 5 | 1 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 4 | 3 | 3 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 4 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Collin County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Collin County FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule by DepartmentCollin County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Collin County Food Service and HealthCollin County Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Collin County FY 2027 Proposed Fee Schedule, by Fee Title (Commissioners Court agenda attachment)Collin County Commissioners Court · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
