15 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Charleston?
In short
A coffee shop in Charleston, WV has 9 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Charleston, Office of the City Collector charges $3 per week, per full-time/part-time employee or self-employed individual working in Charleston for the city service fee (csf). 4 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Charleston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Service Establishment Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department) | Kanawha-Charleston Health Department | $125–$500 banded by seating capacity — $125.00 (0-20 seats), $250.00 (21-50 seats), $375.00 (51-80 seats), $500.00 (81+ seats); a further $125.00 add-on applies if the establishment also sells ABC/liquor. Plan review for a new food-service establishment is priced separately, from $125.00 (fewer than 25 seats) to $325.00 (more than 75 seats). | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Food Manufacturing Facility Permit | West Virginia Bureau for Public Health | $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales | annual — expires 30 June | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Handler Permit | West Virginia Bureau for Public Health | $10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department | 1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Charleston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City Service Fee (CSF) | City of Charleston, Office of the City Collector | $3 per week, per full-time/part-time employee or self-employed individual working in Charleston | ongoing — remitted quarterly by the employer, or annually for a qualifying self-employed sole proprietor/single-member LLC on request | 2026-09-11 |
| Zoning Certificate of Compliance (zoning verification, fee not published)only if it applies to you | City of Charleston, Planning/Zoning Department (Development Services) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
| Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy (fee not published) | City of Charleston, Building Commission | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
| Business Registration & General Business License | City of Charleston, Office of the City Collector | $20 annual, flat | annual — must be renewed by June 30 of each year | 2026-09-11 |
| Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — General Classifications | City of Charleston, Office of the City Collector | Varies — formula on the Charleston page | ongoing — quarterly filing, or annual on written request below the $2,500/year threshold | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire Protection Service Charge | Charleston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | Varies — formula on the Charleston page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Sign Permit (fee not published)only if it applies to you | City of Charleston, Building Commission | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
WV registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division | $25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofit | annual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate)only if it applies to you | West Virginia State Tax Division | No fee | not applicable — no separate permit exists | 2026-09-04 |
| Business Registration Certificate | West Virginia State Tax Division | $30 one-time — the certificate never expires | permanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Charleston?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in Charleston, WV, 9 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 9 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $63.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Service Establishment Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department): $125–$500 banded by seating capacity — $125.00 (0-20 seats), $250.00 (21-50 seats), $375.00 (51-80 seats), $500.00 (81+ seats); a further $125.00 add-on applies if the establishment also sells ABC/liquor. Plan review for a new food-service establishment is priced separately, from $125.00 (fewer than 25 seats) to $325.00 (more than 75 seats).
Food Manufacturing Facility Permit: $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Charleston permits page and the WV state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Charleston?
Permits for a coffee shop in Charleston, WV come from 8 separate offices: City of Charleston, Office of the City Collector, Kanawha-Charleston Health Department, City of Charleston, Planning/Zoning Department (Development Services), City of Charleston, Building Commission, Charleston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division, West Virginia Bureau for Public Health. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Charleston, Office of the City CollectorIssues 3 permits on this page: City Service Fee (CSF), Business Registration & General Business License, Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — General Classifications915 Quarrier St., Suite 4, Charleston, WV 25301 · (304) 348-8024www.charlestonwv.gov/government/city-departments/city-collector
- Kanawha-Charleston Health DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Service Establishment Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department)108 Lee Street, East, PO Box 927, Charleston, WV 25323-0927 · (304) 344-5243www.kchdwv.org
- City of Charleston, Planning/Zoning Department (Development Services)Issues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Certificate of Compliance (zoning verification, fee not published)915 Quarrier St., Suite 1, Charleston, WV 25301 · (304) 348-8105www.charlestonwv.gov/government/planning_Archive
- City of Charleston, Building CommissionIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy (fee not published), Sign Permit (fee not published)915 Quarrier St., Suite 5, Charleston, WV 25301 · (304) 348-6833www.charlestonwv.gov/government/building-commission_Archive
- Charleston Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Protection Service Charge808 Virginia Street West, Charleston, WV 25302 · (304) 348-8058charlestonfire.org
- West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Report1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, Building 1, Charleston, WV 25305 · (304) 558-8000sos.wv.gov
- West Virginia State Tax DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Sales and Use Tax Registration — West Virginia position (through the Business Registration Certificate), Business Registration Certificate(304) 558-3333tax.wv.gov
- West Virginia Bureau for Public HealthIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Manufacturing Facility Permit, Food Handler Permitoehs.wvdhhr.org/phs/food-safety
What does a coffee shop need in Charleston that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Charleston
- Food Service Establishment Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department) — Kanawha-Charleston Health Department, $125–$500 banded by seating capacity — $125.00 (0-20 seats), $250.00 (21-50 seats), $375.00 (51-80 seats), $500.00 (81+ seats); a further $125.00 add-on applies if the establishment also sells ABC/liquor. Plan review for a new food-service establishment is priced separately, from $125.00 (fewer than 25 seats) to $325.00 (more than 75 seats)., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Manufacturing Facility Permit — West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, $35–$1,000 a year, banded by the facility's gross sales, annual — expires 30 June. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Food Handler Permit — West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, $10 capped by statute; the exact fee is set by the local county health department, 1 to 3 years, set locally within that statutory range. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Charleston, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Charleston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Charleston?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 3 of these permits. A restaurant needs Conditional Use Permit (and related $125 zoning application fee), which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 4 | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Charleston permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
