Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Charleston?

In short

A childcare centre in Charleston, WV has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Charleston, Office of the City Collector charges $3 per week, per full-time/part-time employee or self-employed individual working in Charleston for the city service fee (csf). 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Charleston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit (and related $125 zoning application fee)only if it applies to youCity of Charleston, Planning/Zoning Department (Development Services)$125 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application2026-09-11
Daycare Facility Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department)Kanawha-Charleston Health Department$60.00 for a Family Day Care (7-12 children), $125.00 for a Day Care Center (13-25 children), or $185.00 for a Day Care Center (26+ children), per the Department's own current fee schedule. A separate plan-review fee applies by the same size bands: $125.00 (fewer than 10 children), $225.00 (10-20 children), or $325.00 (more than 20 children).not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Child Care Centre LicenseWest Virginia Department of Human ServicesNo feeup to 2 years — a new service first receives a six-month initial license2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Charleston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
City Service Fee (CSF)City of Charleston, Office of the City Collector$3 per week, per full-time/part-time employee or self-employed individual working in Charlestonongoing — remitted quarterly by the employer, or annually for a qualifying self-employed sole proprietor/single-member LLC on request2026-09-11
Zoning Certificate of Compliance (zoning verification, fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Charleston, Planning/Zoning Department (Development Services)No feenot applicable2026-09-11
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy (fee not published)City of Charleston, Building CommissionNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Business Registration & General Business LicenseCity of Charleston, Office of the City Collector$20 annual, flatannual — must be renewed by June 30 of each year2026-09-11
Business and Occupation (B&O) Privilege Tax — General ClassificationsCity of Charleston, Office of the City CollectorVaries — formula on the Charleston pageongoing — quarterly filing, or annual on written request below the $2,500/year threshold2026-09-11
Fire Protection Service ChargeCharleston Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauVaries — formula on the Charleston pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Sign Permit (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Charleston, Building CommissionNo feenot applicable2026-09-11

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

WV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youWest Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division$25 a year; a late-filed report adds $50 for a profit entity or $25 for a nonprofitannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June of the year after registration2026-09-04
Business Registration CertificateWest Virginia State Tax Division$30 one-time — the certificate never expirespermanent — valid until the business relocates, closes, or the certificate is suspended or revoked2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Charleston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a childcare centre in Charleston, WV, 8 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $53.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Daycare Facility Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department): $60.00 for a Family Day Care (7-12 children), $125.00 for a Day Care Center (13-25 children), or $185.00 for a Day Care Center (26+ children), per the Department's own current fee schedule. A separate plan-review fee applies by the same size bands: $125.00 (fewer than 10 children), $225.00 (10-20 children), or $325.00 (more than 20 children).

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Charleston permits page and the WV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Charleston?

Permits for a childcare centre in Charleston, WV come from 8 separate offices: City of Charleston, Office of the City Collector, City of Charleston, Planning/Zoning Department (Development Services), City of Charleston, Building Commission, Charleston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, Kanawha-Charleston Health Department, West Virginia Department of Human Services, West Virginia Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, West Virginia State Tax Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Charleston that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Charleston: Daycare Facility Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department) and Child Care Centre License.

Daycare Facility Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department)

This is the city-specific childcare permit layered on top of West Virginia's own state Child Care Centre License recorded at the state layer. The City's own current Zoning Ordinance independently cross-references this exact department for the exact same use: 'Family day care facilities and Family day care homes shall comply with the following: a. The City-County Health Department shall approve the proposed plans[;] b. The Building Commissioner and Fire Inspection Bureau shall approve the proposed plans' — confirming this Health Department approval, plus Building and Fire sign-off, are all required before a Charleston daycare may open, independent of the state's own separate licensing process.

Child Care Centre License

No fee, because the governing rule contains no fee provision anywhere in its text for a child care centre license — a genuine absence rather than an unpublished figure. A brand-new service is first issued a six-month initial license before qualifying for the regular license, which then runs for up to two years at the department's discretion, or is downgraded to provisional status if standards slip.

Shared with other businesses in Charleston

  • Conditional Use Permit (and related $125 zoning application fee) — City of Charleston, Planning/Zoning Department (Development Services), $125 one-time, per application, one-time, per application. Also required for auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, fitness studios, retail stores, restaurants and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Charleston, WV; what each one involves is set out on the Charleston permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across WV and are covered on the WV state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Charleston?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Daycare Facility Permit (Kanawha-Charleston Health Department) and Child Care Centre License. A retail store needs nothing here that a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Charleston, WV, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Retail stores1120
Fitness studios2121
Auto repair shops3122
Salons and barbers3122
Veterinary clinics3122
Restaurants4123
Coffee shops3033
Contractors and trades6036
Food trucks4034

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Charleston permits page and the WV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Environmental Health Fees for Permits / Services — the Kanawha-Charleston Health Department's own current fee schedule (linked from the Department's food program page), pricing Food Service Establishment permits ($125-$500 by seat count), the Mobile Food Permit ($125 plus $150 plan review), and Daycare Facility permits ($60-$185 by enrollment)Kanawha-Charleston Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Zoning Ordinance of the City of Charleston, West Virginia (Ord. No. 7167, Nov. 21, 2005, as printed October 24, 2024) — the City's own complete current zoning text, including the $125.00 filing fee for Conditional Use Permits (§ 30-020), rezonings (§ 29-030), variances (§ 31-020), and appeals (§ 32-020); sign permit procedures (Article 24); the zoning Certificate of Compliance and fee-schedule deferral (§§ 28-030, 28-040); and use definitions for Automotive Repair Establishment, Animal Hospital/Clinic, Kennel, Gymnasium/Athletic Club, and Family Day CareCity of Charleston, West Virginia, Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. 78 CSR 1 — child care centre licensing, up to a two-year termWest Virginia Department of Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.