Commercial Compliance Hub

19 permits · verified 2026-09-30

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Salt Lake County?

In short

A salon or barber in Salt Lake County, UT has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 17 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services charges $150 a year (12-month license term) for the general business license — home-based, with on-site visitors or customers. 7 of the 19 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-30 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Salt Lake County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Body Art Facility Permitonly if it applies to youSalt Lake County Health Department$275.00 plan review and initial permit, plus $20.00 per station; $255.00 renewal, plus $20.00 per station; $155.00 follow-up; $125.00 temporary permit, plus $20.00 per station. Per the SLCoHD fee schedule published September 1, 2026.annual2026-09-30
Cosmetology Facility Permitonly if it applies to youSalt Lake County Health Department$305.00 plan review and initial permit, plus $20.00 per station; $220.00 renewal, plus $20.00 per station; $135.00 follow-up; $110.00 temporary permit, plus $20.00 per station. Per the SLCoHD fee schedule published September 1, 2026.annual2026-09-30
Tanning Facility Permitonly if it applies to youSalt Lake County Health Department$190.00 plan review and initial permit, plus $20.00 per station; $150.00 renewal, plus $20.00 per station; $135.00 follow-up; $40.00 operator certificate. Per the SLCoHD fee schedule published September 1, 2026.annual2026-09-30
Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Up to 30 Animalsonly if it applies to youSalt Lake County Animal Services$300 flat, per commercial permit covering up to 30 animalsnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-30
Massage Therapy Facility Permitonly if it applies to youSalt Lake County Health Department$180.00 plan review and initial permit; $30.00 renewal; $155.00 contracting-business initial permit; $135.00 follow-up; $110.00 temporary permit. Per the SLCoHD fee schedule published September 1, 2026.annual2026-09-30
Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Over 30 Animalsonly if it applies to youSalt Lake County Animal Services$500 flat, per commercial permit covering over 30 animalsnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-30
Salon or Barbershop Establishment License — State Fee Schedule Position (Utah)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Professional LicensingNo feenot applicable — only individual practitioners are licensed2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Salt Lake County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Home-Based, With On-Site Visitors or Customersonly if it applies to youGreater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services$150 a year (12-month license term)12 months2026-09-30
Building Permitonly if it applies to youGreater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Salt Lake County pageone-time, per permit2026-09-30
Plan Check Feeonly if it applies to youGreater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Salt Lake County pageone-time, per project2026-09-30
Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youGreater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Salt Lake County pageone-time, per application2026-09-30
General Business License — Commercial LocationGreater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services$150 a year (12-month license term)12 months2026-09-30
General Business License — Home-Based, No On-Site Visitors or Customersonly if it applies to youGreater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development ServicesNo fee12 months2026-09-30
General Business License — Per-Employee Feeonly if it applies to youGreater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services$6 per employee, billed alongside the base license feecoincides with the 12-month business-license term2026-09-30

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

UT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax LicenseUtah State Tax CommissionNo feeongoing — no fixed expiration, with a filing frequency the state assigns and can revisit2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-04
Annual Renewalonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$18 a year; a late renewal adds $10annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Salt Lake County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 19 records listed for a salon or barber in Salt Lake County, UT, 2 apply to every business of this type and 17 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 19 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Body Art Facility Permit: $275.00 plan review and initial permit, plus $20.00 per station; $255.00 renewal, plus $20.00 per station; $155.00 follow-up; $125.00 temporary permit, plus $20.00 per station. Per the SLCoHD fee schedule published September 1, 2026.

Cosmetology Facility Permit: $305.00 plan review and initial permit, plus $20.00 per station; $220.00 renewal, plus $20.00 per station; $135.00 follow-up; $110.00 temporary permit, plus $20.00 per station. Per the SLCoHD fee schedule published September 1, 2026.

Tanning Facility Permit: $190.00 plan review and initial permit, plus $20.00 per station; $150.00 renewal, plus $20.00 per station; $135.00 follow-up; $40.00 operator certificate. Per the SLCoHD fee schedule published September 1, 2026.

Massage Therapy Facility Permit: $180.00 plan review and initial permit; $30.00 renewal; $155.00 contracting-business initial permit; $135.00 follow-up; $110.00 temporary permit. Per the SLCoHD fee schedule published September 1, 2026.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Salt Lake County permits page and the UT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Salt Lake County?

Permits for a salon or barber in Salt Lake County, UT come from 6 separate offices: Salt Lake County Health Department, Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services, Salt Lake County Animal Services, Utah State Tax Commission, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code, Utah Division of Professional Licensing. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Salt Lake County that other businesses do not?

4 of the 7 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Salt Lake County: Body Art Facility Permit, Cosmetology Facility Permit, Tanning Facility Permit and Salon or Barbershop Establishment License — State Fee Schedule Position (Utah).

Body Art Facility Permit

A salon offering body art, piercing, or tattoo services anywhere in Salt Lake County needs this permit from SLCoHD: $275.00 plus $20.00 per station for plan review and the initial permit, $255.00 plus $20.00 per station to renew, $155.00 for a follow-up, or $125.00 plus $20.00 per station for a temporary permit, per the fee schedule published September 1, 2026. Health Regulation #19 was adopted by the Salt Lake County Board of Health on September 2, 1982, and last revised October 3, 2019, under Utah Code §26A-1-114. Without a body-art component, a salon offering only hair, nail, or skin services needs no permit under this program. SLCoHD's coverage is county-wide — all 23 incorporated municipalities plus the unincorporated area.

Cosmetology Facility Permit

A salon offering cosmetology services anywhere in Salt Lake County needs this permit from SLCoHD: $305.00 plus $20.00 per station for plan review and the initial permit, $220.00 plus $20.00 per station to renew, $135.00 for a follow-up, or $110.00 plus $20.00 per station for a temporary permit, per the fee schedule published September 1, 2026. Health Regulation #20 was adopted by the Salt Lake County Board of Health on September 2, 1982, and last revised October 3, 2019, under Utah Code §26A-1-114. SLCoHD's coverage is county-wide — all 23 incorporated municipalities plus the unincorporated area.

Tanning Facility Permit

A salon offering tanning services anywhere in Salt Lake County needs this permit from SLCoHD: $190.00 plus $20.00 per station for plan review and the initial permit, $150.00 plus $20.00 per station to renew, $135.00 for a follow-up, and $40.00 for an operator certificate, per the fee schedule published September 1, 2026, under Health Regulation #25. Without tanning equipment, a salon needs no permit under this program. SLCoHD's coverage is county-wide — all 23 incorporated municipalities plus the unincorporated area.

Massage Therapy Facility Permit

A salon or fitness studio offering massage therapy services anywhere in Salt Lake County needs this permit from SLCoHD: $180.00 for plan review and the initial permit, $30.00 to renew, $155.00 for a contracting business's initial permit, $135.00 for a follow-up, or $110.00 for a temporary permit, per the fee schedule published September 1, 2026, under Health Regulation #18. Without a massage-therapy service, a salon or fitness studio needs no permit under this program. SLCoHD's coverage is county-wide — all 23 incorporated municipalities plus the unincorporated area.

Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Over 30 Animals

A groomer, animal daycare or kennel, stable, or pet shop covering over 30 animals pays $500.00 for this commercial permit from Salt Lake County Animal Services, per the department's own live payment page linked directly from its Permits page — the higher of the two tiers listed here, next to the $300.00 permit for up to 30 animals. This permit reaches the same third, distinct footprint as the under-30 tier: the six MSD municipalities (Brighton, Copperton, Emigration Canyon, Kearns, Magna, White City) plus Bluffdale, Holladay, Midvale, Millcreek, Murray, and Salt Lake City only; a business in Sandy, West Jordan, Draper, Taylorsville, West Valley City, or any of the county's other municipalities outside this list uses its own city's animal control instead. The source names this tier only as 'Allows Over 30,' without further defining what the number 30 counts.

Salon or Barbershop Establishment License — State Fee Schedule Position (Utah)

There is no state establishment fee listed for a salon or barbershop. The Division of Professional Licensing's own current fee schedule lists individual licenses under the barbering and cosmetology sections but no salon, shop or establishment line, while the same document does list a $250 establishment fee for a funeral service establishment and a $145 fee for a registered massage establishment; a $250 figure quoted elsewhere for a Utah salon matches that funeral service line. Every individual working in a salon must hold their own license — barber, cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician or hair designer, each $60 to apply and $52 to renew on a two-year cycle expiring 30 September of odd-numbered years — and operating with an unlicensed practitioner is a violation attributed to the location.

Shared with other businesses in Salt Lake County

  • Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Up to 30 Animals — Salt Lake County Animal Services, $300 flat, per commercial permit covering up to 30 animals, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for veterinary clinics and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Salt Lake County, UT; what each one involves is set out on the Salt Lake County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Salt Lake County?

The closest match is a veterinary clinic, which shares 2 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Body Art Facility Permit, Cosmetology Facility Permit, Tanning Facility Permit and 2 more. A veterinary clinic needs Veterinary Facility Permit — State Licensing Division Position (Utah), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Salt Lake County, UT, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Veterinary clinics3251
Retail stores6254
Fitness studios2161
Auto repair shops3073
Childcare centres3073
Coffee shops6076
Contractors and trades4074
Food trucks8078
Restaurants8078

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Salt Lake County permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Salt Lake County Health Department Fee Schedule, published September 1, 2026Salt Lake County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
  2. SLCoHD Health Regulation #19, Body Art FacilitiesSalt Lake County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
  3. Salt Lake County Animal Services — Commercial Permit checkout, 'Allows Over 30' ($500.00), linked directly from the department's own Permits pageSalt Lake County Animal Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
  4. Salt Lake County Animal Services — Permits (coverage area and commercial-permit categories; links the two Stripe checkout pages)Salt Lake County Animal Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
  5. Utah Division of Professional Licensing — fiscal year 2026 fee schedule, covering cosmetology, contracting and veterinary licensingUtah Division of Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.