15 permits · verified 2026-09-30
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Salt Lake County?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Salt Lake County, UT has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 13 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services charges $150 a year (12-month license term) for the general business license — home-based, with on-site visitors or customers. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-30 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Salt Lake County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Up to 30 Animalsonly if it applies to you | Salt Lake County Animal Services | $300 flat, per commercial permit covering up to 30 animals | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-30 |
| Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Over 30 Animalsonly if it applies to you | Salt Lake County Animal Services | $500 flat, per commercial permit covering over 30 animals | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-30 |
| Veterinary Facility Permit — State Licensing Division Position (Utah)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Professional Licensing | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Salt Lake County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — Home-Based, With On-Site Visitors or Customersonly if it applies to you | Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services | $150 a year (12-month license term) | 12 months | 2026-09-30 |
| Building Permitonly if it applies to you | Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services | Varies — formula on the Salt Lake County page | one-time, per permit | 2026-09-30 |
| Plan Check Feeonly if it applies to you | Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services | Varies — formula on the Salt Lake County page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-30 |
| Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services | Varies — formula on the Salt Lake County page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-30 |
| General Business License — Commercial Location | Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services | $150 a year (12-month license term) | 12 months | 2026-09-30 |
| General Business License — Home-Based, No On-Site Visitors or Customersonly if it applies to you | Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services | No fee | 12 months | 2026-09-30 |
| General Business License — Per-Employee Feeonly if it applies to you | Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services | $6 per employee, billed alongside the base license fee | coincides with the 12-month business-license term | 2026-09-30 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
UT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax License | Utah State Tax Commission | No fee | ongoing — no fixed expiration, with a filing frequency the state assigns and can revisit | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $59 one-time filing | perpetual, but a renewal is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $59 one-time filing | perpetual, but a renewal is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | No fee | set by the city or county | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Renewalonly if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $18 a year; a late renewal adds $10 | annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Salt Lake County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Salt Lake County, UT, 2 apply to every business of this type and 13 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Salt Lake County permits page and the UT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Salt Lake County?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Salt Lake County, UT come from 5 separate offices: Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development Services, Salt Lake County Animal Services, Utah State Tax Commission, Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District, Planning & Development ServicesIssues 7 permits on this page, including General Business License — Home-Based, With On-Site Visitors or Customers, Building Permit, Plan Check Fee860 W. Levoy Dr., Suite 300, Taylorsville, UT 84123 · (385) 910-5600 (Main); (385) 468-6700 (business license and planning questions)msd.utah.gov/439/Starting-a-Business
- Salt Lake County Animal ServicesIssues 2 permits on this page: Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Up to 30 Animals, Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Over 30 Animalswww.saltlakecounty.gov/animal-services
- Utah State Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax License210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84134 · (801) 297-2200tax.utah.gov
- Utah Division of Professional LicensingIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Permit — State Licensing Division Position (Utah)160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84111 · (801) 530-6628commerce.utah.gov/dopl
- Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration), Annual Renewal160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84111 · (801) 530-4849corporations.utah.gov
What does a veterinary clinic need in Salt Lake County that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Salt Lake County: Veterinary Facility Permit — State Licensing Division Position (Utah).
Veterinary Facility Permit — State Licensing Division Position (Utah)
There is no state premises fee listed for a veterinary practice. The Division of Professional Licensing's own current fee schedule lists only Veterinarian, Intern and Certified Veterinary Technician under veterinary licensing, with no facility line, even though it does list one for a controlled substance handler facility; the division's veterinary FAQ page and renewal cycle table likewise list no premises credential. A veterinarian's own license is $150 to apply and $83 to renew, on a two-year cycle expiring 30 September of even-numbered years.
Shared with other businesses in Salt Lake County
- Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Up to 30 Animals — Salt Lake County Animal Services, $300 flat, per commercial permit covering up to 30 animals, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Animal Services Commercial Permit — Allows Over 30 Animals — Salt Lake County Animal Services, $500 flat, per commercial permit covering over 30 animals, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Salt Lake County, UT; what each one involves is set out on the Salt Lake County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Salt Lake County?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Permit — State Licensing Division Position (Utah). A retail store needs Seasonal Business License, Alcohol License/Permit — Local Consent Fee, Simple Land Use Permit and Retail Food Establishment Registration (grocery, processor or warehouse), which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 6 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Salons and barbers | 7 | 2 | 1 | 5 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 8 | 0 | 3 | 8 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 0 | 3 | 8 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Salt Lake County permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Utah Division of Professional Licensing — fiscal year 2026 fee schedule, covering cosmetology, contracting and veterinary licensingUtah Division of Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Utah Division of Professional Licensing — veterinary licensing frequently asked questionsUtah Division of Professional Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
