Commercial Compliance Hub

18 permits · verified 2026-10-09

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Irving?

In short

A retail store in Irving, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Irving Inspections Department charges $400 per permit for the commercial swimming pool permit. 13 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Irving

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Irving Health InspectionsUntil 31 October 2026: $50 origination fee plus $5.00 per day per booth operating fee (section 18-2). From 1 November 2026: $52 per booth (Resolution RES-2026-242)per event; from 1 November 2026, valid for up to two weeks per event2026-10-09
Certified Food Protection Manager RegistrationCity of Irving Health InspectionsSection 18-2 as amended in 2024 and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees list no food manager registration fee; the Environmental Health division states any amount payable.not stated in the ordinance2026-08-25
Fuel Tank, Pump and Line Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Irving Inspections Department$65–$100 per permit, install or removeper permit2026-10-09
Commercial Swimming Pool Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Irving Inspections Department$400 per permitper permit2026-10-09
Contractor RegistrationCity of Irving Inspections DepartmentThe City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees lists no contractor registration fee; the Building Inspections division states any amount payable.1 year from the date of issue2026-10-09
Food Establishment PermitCity of Irving Health InspectionsUntil 31 October 2026: $350 a year for up to ten employees, $500 above ten (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $258, $515 or $773 a year by risk level (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).1 year (annual permit)2026-10-09
Food Establishment Plan ReviewCity of Irving Health InspectionsUntil 31 October 2026: $125 per review (section 18-2(c) as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $225 per review (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).per review2026-10-09
Pushcart Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Irving Health InspectionsSection 18-2 as amended in 2024 and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees list no pushcart fee; the Environmental Health division states any amount payable.not stated in the ordinance2026-08-25
Food Establishment Re-inspectiononly if it applies to youCity of Irving Health InspectionsUntil 31 October 2026: $90 for a reinspection or requested second routine inspection and $60 for a follow-up inspection (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $30 to $200 per inspection (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).per inspection2026-10-09
Seasonal Sales and Temporary Event Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Irving Inspections Department$150–$780 per permit, by type6 months for a council-approved temporary use permit2026-10-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Irving

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Interior Finish, Repair and Remodel PermitCity of Irving Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Irving pageper permit2026-10-09
Fire Alarm, Sprinkler and Standpipe Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Irving Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Irving pageper permit2026-10-09
Commercial Building PermitCity of Irving Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Irving pageper permit2026-10-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Irving Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Irving pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-10-09
Single Trade Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Irving Inspections Department$65 per permitper permit2026-10-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Irving?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a retail store in Irving, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 13 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Until 31 October 2026: $50 origination fee plus $5.00 per day per booth operating fee (section 18-2). From 1 November 2026: $52 per booth (Resolution RES-2026-242)

Certified Food Protection Manager Registration: Section 18-2 as amended in 2024 and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees list no food manager registration fee; the Environmental Health division states any amount payable.

Fuel Tank, Pump and Line Permit: $65–$100 per permit, install or remove

Contractor Registration: The City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees lists no contractor registration fee; the Building Inspections division states any amount payable.

Food Establishment Permit: Until 31 October 2026: $350 a year for up to ten employees, $500 above ten (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $258, $515 or $773 a year by risk level (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).

Food Establishment Plan Review: Until 31 October 2026: $125 per review (section 18-2(c) as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $225 per review (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).

Pushcart Permit: Section 18-2 as amended in 2024 and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees list no pushcart fee; the Environmental Health division states any amount payable.

Food Establishment Re-inspection: Until 31 October 2026: $90 for a reinspection or requested second routine inspection and $60 for a follow-up inspection (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $30 to $200 per inspection (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).

Seasonal Sales and Temporary Event Permit: $150–$780 per permit, by type

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Irving permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Irving?

Permits for a retail store in Irving, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Irving Inspections Department, City of Irving Health Inspections, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Irving that other businesses do not?

Certified Food Protection Manager Registration

Irving's 2016 food ordinance (Ordinance 2016-9884) charged $30 to register a certified food protection manager with the City. Section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885 lists no such fee, and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees lists none either. Ask Irving Health Inspections whether a city registration of the manager certificate is still required.

Contractor Registration

Chapter 8B of the Land Development Code requires fence, sign, concrete, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, irrigation, house-moving, fuel tank installer, apartment maintenance (plumbing/mechanical) and general contractors to register with the City in order to secure a permit. Registration is made on forms furnished by the building official or through the City's online portal, expires one year after issue and is renewed on an approved application. A homeowner may obtain permits for work at a residence they live in and hold a homestead exemption on without registering. The fee schedule repealed in March 2026 charged $125 a year per trade; the City's current Schedule of Fees lists no registration fee, so ask the Inspections Department what is charged.

Shared with other businesses in Irving

  • Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of Irving Health Inspections, Until 31 October 2026: $50 origination fee plus $5.00 per day per booth operating fee (section 18-2). From 1 November 2026: $52 per booth (Resolution RES-2026-242), per event; from 1 November 2026, valid for up to two weeks per event. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Fuel Tank, Pump and Line Permit — City of Irving Inspections Department, $65–$100 per permit, install or remove, per permit. Also required for auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
  • Commercial Swimming Pool Permit — City of Irving Inspections Department, $400 per permit, per permit. Also required for fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — City of Irving Health Inspections, Until 31 October 2026: $350 a year for up to ten employees, $500 above ten (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $258, $515 or $773 a year by risk level (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242)., 1 year (annual permit). Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Establishment Plan Review — City of Irving Health Inspections, Until 31 October 2026: $125 per review (section 18-2(c) as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $225 per review (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242)., per review. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Pushcart Permit — City of Irving Health Inspections, Section 18-2 as amended in 2024 and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees list no pushcart fee; the Environmental Health division states any amount payable., not stated in the ordinance. Also required for food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Food Establishment Re-inspection — City of Irving Health Inspections, Until 31 October 2026: $90 for a reinspection or requested second routine inspection and $60 for a follow-up inspection (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $30 to $200 per inspection (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242)., per inspection. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Seasonal Sales and Temporary Event Permit — City of Irving Inspections Department, $150–$780 per permit, by type, 6 months for a council-approved temporary use permit. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Irving, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Irving permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Irving?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 8 of these permits. A retail store also needs Fuel Tank, Pump and Line Permit and Commercial Swimming Pool Permit. A restaurant needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Irving, TX, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Restaurants9821
Coffee shops6640
Food trucks5461
Auto repair shops2280
Contractors and trades3281
Fitness studios2191
Salons and barbers2191
Childcare centres10101
Veterinary clinics10101

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page, auto repair shops page, fitness studios page, restaurants page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Irving permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Irving Code chapter 18 (Food and Food Establishments), section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885 (21 March 2024) — filed with Texas DSHS 14 September 2026City of Irving, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
  2. City of Irving Code of Civil and Criminal Ordinances chapter 18, Food and Food Establishments (eCode360; section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2026-11312)City of Irving (published by eCode360) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
  3. City of Irving Schedule of Fees, FY26-27 Amendments (Exhibit A) — Inspections section; Health Inspections fees adopted by RES-2026-242, effective 1 November 2026City of Irving · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
  4. City of Irving Land Development Code chapter 8B, Building Codes (eCode360; as replaced by Ordinance 2026-11253, adopted 26 March 2026)City of Irving (published by eCode360) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
  5. City of Irving Ordinance No. 2026-11253, repealing and replacing Land Development Code sections 8B-1 to 8B-20 and 8B-23 to 8B-29 (adopted 26 March 2026)City of Irving · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.