14 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Irving?
In short
A coffee shop in Irving, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Irving Inspections Department charges $65 per permit for the single trade permit. 10 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Irving
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Irving Health Inspections | Until 31 October 2026: $50 origination fee plus $5.00 per day per booth operating fee (section 18-2). From 1 November 2026: $52 per booth (Resolution RES-2026-242) | per event; from 1 November 2026, valid for up to two weeks per event | 2026-10-09 |
| Certified Food Protection Manager Registration | City of Irving Health Inspections | Section 18-2 as amended in 2024 and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees list no food manager registration fee; the Environmental Health division states any amount payable. | not stated in the ordinance | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Irving Health Inspections | Until 31 October 2026: $350 a year for up to ten employees, $500 above ten (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $258, $515 or $773 a year by risk level (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242). | 1 year (annual permit) | 2026-10-09 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | City of Irving Health Inspections | Until 31 October 2026: $125 per review (section 18-2(c) as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $225 per review (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242). | per review | 2026-10-09 |
| Food Establishment Re-inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Irving Health Inspections | Until 31 October 2026: $90 for a reinspection or requested second routine inspection and $60 for a follow-up inspection (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $30 to $200 per inspection (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242). | per inspection | 2026-10-09 |
| Seasonal Sales and Temporary Event Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Irving Inspections Department | $150–$780 per permit, by type | 6 months for a council-approved temporary use permit | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Irving
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Interior Finish, Repair and Remodel Permit | City of Irving Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Irving page | per permit | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Alarm, Sprinkler and Standpipe Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Irving Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Irving page | per permit | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Irving Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Irving page | per permit | 2026-10-09 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Irving Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Irving page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-10-09 |
| Single Trade Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Irving Inspections Department | $65 per permit | per permit | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Irving?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a coffee shop in Irving, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 10 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Until 31 October 2026: $50 origination fee plus $5.00 per day per booth operating fee (section 18-2). From 1 November 2026: $52 per booth (Resolution RES-2026-242)
Certified Food Protection Manager Registration: Section 18-2 as amended in 2024 and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees list no food manager registration fee; the Environmental Health division states any amount payable.
Food Establishment Permit: Until 31 October 2026: $350 a year for up to ten employees, $500 above ten (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $258, $515 or $773 a year by risk level (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).
Food Establishment Plan Review: Until 31 October 2026: $125 per review (section 18-2(c) as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $225 per review (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).
Food Establishment Re-inspection: Until 31 October 2026: $90 for a reinspection or requested second routine inspection and $60 for a follow-up inspection (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $30 to $200 per inspection (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242).
Seasonal Sales and Temporary Event Permit: $150–$780 per permit, by type
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Irving permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Irving?
Permits for a coffee shop in Irving, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Irving Inspections Department, City of Irving Health Inspections, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Irving Inspections DepartmentIssues 6 permits on this page, including Interior Finish, Repair and Remodel Permit, Fire Alarm, Sprinkler and Standpipe Permit, Commercial Building Permit825 W Irving Boulevard, Irving, TX 75060irvingtx.gov/permits-inspections
- City of Irving Health InspectionsIssues 5 permits on this page, including Temporary Food Establishment Permit, Certified Food Protection Manager Registration, Food Establishment Permit825 W Irving Boulevard, Irving, TX 75060irvingtx.gov/permits-inspections
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Irving that other businesses do not?
Food Establishment Plan Review
$225 from 1 November 2026 under the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees (Resolution RES-2026-242). Until 31 October 2026, section 18-2(c) as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885 charges $125 for the review of plans for each new or remodelled food establishment. Neither version distinguishes a new build from a remodel. A childcare facility plan review is also $225 under the same schedule.
Seasonal Sales and Temporary Event Permit
$150 for a Christmas tree, pumpkin or firewood sales lot, $150 for a carnival, circus, batch plant or similar temporary event not covered by another fee item, and $192 for a snow cone stand. Each requires separate permits for tents, signs and electrical work. A temporary use permit requiring city council approval is $780, non-refundable, and good for six months.
Shared with other businesses in Irving
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of Irving Health Inspections, Until 31 October 2026: $50 origination fee plus $5.00 per day per booth operating fee (section 18-2). From 1 November 2026: $52 per booth (Resolution RES-2026-242), per event; from 1 November 2026, valid for up to two weeks per event. Also required for food trucks, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Certified Food Protection Manager Registration — City of Irving Health Inspections, Section 18-2 as amended in 2024 and the City's FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees list no food manager registration fee; the Environmental Health division states any amount payable., not stated in the ordinance. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Establishment Permit — City of Irving Health Inspections, Until 31 October 2026: $350 a year for up to ten employees, $500 above ten (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $258, $515 or $773 a year by risk level (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242)., 1 year (annual permit). Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Establishment Re-inspection — City of Irving Health Inspections, Until 31 October 2026: $90 for a reinspection or requested second routine inspection and $60 for a follow-up inspection (section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885). From 1 November 2026: $30 to $200 per inspection (Consolidated Fee Schedule, Resolution RES-2026-242)., per inspection. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Irving, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Irving permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Irving?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant needs Contractor Registration, Pushcart Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 9 | 6 | 0 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 10 | 6 | 0 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 3 | 3 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 6 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page, retail stores page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Irving permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Irving Schedule of Fees, FY26-27 Amendments (Exhibit A) — Inspections section; Health Inspections fees adopted by RES-2026-242, effective 1 November 2026City of Irving · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Irving Code of Civil and Criminal Ordinances chapter 18, Food and Food Establishments (eCode360; section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2026-11312)City of Irving (published by eCode360) · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Irving Ordinance No. 2026-11312, amending chapters 11, 13 and 18 to move fees to the Consolidated Fee Schedule (passed 11 August 2026; effective 1 November 2026)City of Irving · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Irving Code chapter 18 (Food and Food Establishments), section 18-2 as amended by Ordinance 2024-10885 (21 March 2024) — filed with Texas DSHS 14 September 2026City of Irving, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Irving, Rates + Fees (Consolidated Fee Schedule web page)City of Irving · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Irving Schedule of Fees, February 2026 Amendments — Inspections section effective 13 February 2026City of Irving · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
