Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-08-22

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Houston?

In short

A retail store in Houston, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Houston Administration and Regulatory Affairs charges $181.28 per permit for the street vendor permit. 8 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-22 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Houston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Marshall Approvalonly if it applies to youHouston Fire Department$268.56–$1,074.24 one-time, by floor areaone-time2026-08-22
Street Vendor Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Houston Administration and Regulatory Affairs$181.28 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-22
Common Market Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Houston Administration and Regulatory Affairs$100.71–$268.56 by vendor countnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-22
Certified Farmers Market Licenseonly if it applies to youHouston Health Department$201.41–$335.69 by vendor countnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-22
Food Dealer PermitHouston Health Department$201.41–$1,074.24 by employee countone year from the date of issuance2026-08-22
Food Handler CertificationHouston Health Department$13.42 per personnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-22
Structural Building Permitonly if it applies to youHouston Public Works$47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000one-time2026-08-22
Food Establishment Plan ReviewHouston Health Department$33.56–$939.96 one-time, by project valuationone-time2026-08-22

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Houston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyHouston Public WorksVaries — formula on the Houston pageone-time2026-08-22
Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youHouston Fire DepartmentVaries — formula on the Houston pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-22
Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youHouston Public Works$94 one-timemaximum of 30 calendar days2026-08-22

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Houston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a retail store in Houston, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $13.42. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Marshall Approval: $268.56–$1,074.24 one-time, by floor area

Common Market License: $100.71–$268.56 by vendor count

Certified Farmers Market License: $201.41–$335.69 by vendor count

Food Dealer Permit: $201.41–$1,074.24 by employee count

Structural Building Permit: $47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000

Food Establishment Plan Review: $33.56–$939.96 one-time, by project valuation

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Houston permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Houston?

Permits for a retail store in Houston, TX come from 6 separate offices: Houston Fire Department, City of Houston Administration and Regulatory Affairs, Houston Health Department, Houston Public Works, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Houston that other businesses do not?

Fire Marshall Approval

$268.56 up to 50,000 sq ft; $402.84 from 50,000 to 100,000; $805.68 from 100,001 to 500,000; $1,074.24 above 500,001. A re-inspection for anything other than fire protection systems and underground fuel storage tanks is $402.84 — as much as the approval itself on a mid-size space, so failing once is expensive.

Certified Farmers Market License

$201.41 for 1-9 vendors, $335.69 for 10 or more. A replacement license is $33.56 (Sec. 20-193(b)). This licenses the market itself — individual vendors are permitted separately.

Food Dealer Permit

Banded by employee count: 1-9 employees $295.41; 10-25 $469.98; 26-50 $671.40; 51-100 $872.82; 101 or more $1,074.24. A non-profit food dealer pays $201.41. A technology and administrative fee of $13.42 is charged on top (Sec. 20-38(b)(1a)), and applying late for a renewal adds a special investigative fee of $67.13 (Sec. 20-38(b)(4)). Sec. 20-20(a) requires the health officer to inspect each food establishment at least once every 12 months, and low risk establishments at least once every 24 months. Sec. 20-38 requires the fee to be paid "for one complete year from the date of issuance", and the Health Department states that food dealer permits expire one year from the date of issue, with a renewal invoice posted 30-45 days before expiry.

Shared with other businesses in Houston

  • Street Vendor Permit — City of Houston Administration and Regulatory Affairs, $181.28 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Common Market License — City of Houston Administration and Regulatory Affairs, $100.71–$268.56 by vendor count, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Handler Certification — Houston Health Department, $13.42 per person, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Structural Building Permit — Houston Public Works, $47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000, one-time. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
  • Food Establishment Plan Review — Houston Health Department, $33.56–$939.96 one-time, by project valuation, one-time. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Houston, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Houston permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Houston?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 7 of these permits. A retail store also needs Street Vendor Permit. A restaurant needs Food Service Manager's Certification, Temporary Food Dealer Permit, Pre-Operational Inspection and 6 more, which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Houston, TX, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Restaurants16719
Coffee shops7443
Fitness studios4262
Food trucks7265
Salons and barbers2171
Auto repair shops1081
Childcare centres1081
Contractors and trades1081
Veterinary clinics1081

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page, restaurants page, salons and barbers page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Houston permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City-Wide Fee ScheduleCity of Houston, Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
  2. City of Houston SB 577 Ordinance Submission — Chapter 20 provisionsCity of Houston (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance and Fee Schedule Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
  3. Houston Code of Ordinances Sec. 20-38 — Fees; transfer of medallionCity of Houston (Code of Ordinances) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
  4. Frequently Asked Questions About Food PermitsHouston Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.