22 permits · verified 2026-08-22
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Houston?
In short
A restaurant in Houston, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 16 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Houston Health Department charges $33.56 replacement certificate for the food service manager's certification. 13 of the 22 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-22 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Houston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Service Manager's Certification | Houston Health Department | $33.56 replacement certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Temporary Food Dealer Permitonly if it applies to you | Houston Health Department | $80.56–$805.68 per day, or for a 10+ day event | up to 21 consecutive days, tied to a single event | 2026-08-22 |
| Pre-Operational Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Houston Health Department | $114.13–$228.28 one-time | one-time | 2026-08-22 |
| Food Service Establishment Grease Interceptor Feeonly if it applies to you | Houston Health Department | $123.54 per establishment | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Biological Pretreatment Service Permit and Registrationonly if it applies to you | Houston Health Department | $335.70 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Industrial Waste Permitonly if it applies to you | Houston Public Works | $100.71 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Fire Permit — Places of Assemblyonly if it applies to you | Houston Fire Department | $268.56–$537.12 by occupant load | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Fire Marshall Approvalonly if it applies to you | Houston Fire Department | $268.56–$1,074.24 one-time, by floor area | one-time | 2026-08-22 |
| Common Market Licenseonly if it applies to you | City of Houston Administration and Regulatory Affairs | $100.71–$268.56 by vendor count | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Certified Farmers Market Licenseonly if it applies to you | Houston Health Department | $201.41–$335.69 by vendor count | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Food Dealer Permit | Houston Health Department | $201.41–$1,074.24 by employee count | one year from the date of issuance | 2026-08-22 |
| Food Handler Certification | Houston Health Department | $13.42 per person | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Structural Building Permitonly if it applies to you | Houston Public Works | $47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000 | one-time | 2026-08-22 |
| Food Vendor's Permit — Streets and Sidewalksonly if it applies to you | Houston Public Works | $40.27–$134.28 30 days, or full term | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | Houston Health Department | $33.56–$939.96 one-time, by project valuation | one-time | 2026-08-22 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Houston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | Houston Public Works | Varies — formula on the Houston page | one-time | 2026-08-22 |
| Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to you | Houston Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Houston page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | Houston Public Works | $94 one-time | maximum of 30 calendar days | 2026-08-22 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Houston?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 22 records listed for a restaurant in Houston, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 16 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $46.98. That is a floor, not a total. 13 of the 22 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary Food Dealer Permit: $80.56–$805.68 per day, or for a 10+ day event
Pre-Operational Inspection: $114.13–$228.28 one-time
Fire Permit — Places of Assembly: $268.56–$537.12 by occupant load
Fire Marshall Approval: $268.56–$1,074.24 one-time, by floor area
Common Market License: $100.71–$268.56 by vendor count
Certified Farmers Market License: $201.41–$335.69 by vendor count
Food Dealer Permit: $201.41–$1,074.24 by employee count
Structural Building Permit: $47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000
Food Vendor's Permit — Streets and Sidewalks: $40.27–$134.28 30 days, or full term
Food Establishment Plan Review: $33.56–$939.96 one-time, by project valuation
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Houston permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Houston?
Permits for a restaurant in Houston, TX come from 7 separate offices: Houston Health Department, Houston Public Works, Houston Fire Department, City of Houston Administration and Regulatory Affairs, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Houston Health DepartmentIssues 9 permits on this page, including Food Service Manager's Certification, Temporary Food Dealer Permit, Pre-Operational Inspection8000 North Stadium Drive, Houston, TX 77054 · (832) 393-5100www.houstontx.gov/health
- Houston Public WorksIssues 5 permits on this page, including Industrial Waste Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Structural Building Permit(832) 395-2500www.houstonpermittingcenter.org
- Houston Fire DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Permit — Places of Assembly, Fire Marshall Approval, Fire Alarm Permit500 Jefferson Street, Suite 1700, Houston, TX 77002 · (832) 394-6700www.houstontx.gov/fire
- City of Houston Administration and Regulatory AffairsIssues 1 permit on this page: Common Market LicenseHouston Permitting Center, 1002 Washington Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 · (832) 394-8803www.houstontx.gov/ara
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in Houston that other businesses do not?
2 of the 16 permits particular to a restaurant here apply to no other business type we cover in Houston: Biological Pretreatment Service Permit and Registration and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
Temporary Food Dealer Permit
$80.56 per day, or $805.68 for an event of 10 or more consecutive days. Sec. 20-18 defines a temporary food service establishment as one operating at a fixed location for not more than 21 consecutive days in conjunction with a single event or celebration — past that, it is not a temporary permit. An applicant may be exempted from the food service manager certification requirement if the health officer is satisfied (Sec. 20-53(c)).
Pre-Operational Inspection
$114.13 where the premises is unoccupied, $228.28 where it is occupied. The occupied rate is double, so scheduling this before you take occupancy is worth $114.15.
Biological Pretreatment Service Permit and Registration
$335.70 to permit and register a biological pretreatment service, with a $13.42 monthly report processing fee (Sec. 47-478(b)). This falls on the service provider dosing a grease interceptor, not on every restaurant — confirm who holds the permit before budgeting for it.
Common Market License
$100.71 for 10 vendors or fewer, $201.41 for 11-20, $268.56 for 21 or more. Licenses the market operator; food vendors inside it still need their own Health Department permits.
Food Handler Certification
$13.42 per person. Sec. 20-53(f) requires every food employee other than a certified food service manager to complete a food handler training course within 60 days of employment — so this is a recurring cost tied to staff turnover, not a one-off at opening.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Houston
- Food Service Manager's Certification — Houston Health Department, $33.56 replacement certificate, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Food Service Establishment Grease Interceptor Fee — Houston Health Department, $123.54 per establishment, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Industrial Waste Permit — Houston Public Works, $100.71 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Fire Permit — Places of Assembly — Houston Fire Department, $268.56–$537.12 by occupant load, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Fire Marshall Approval — Houston Fire Department, $268.56–$1,074.24 one-time, by floor area, one-time. Also required for retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Certified Farmers Market License — Houston Health Department, $201.41–$335.69 by vendor count, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Dealer Permit — Houston Health Department, $201.41–$1,074.24 by employee count, one year from the date of issuance. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Structural Building Permit — Houston Public Works, $47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000, one-time. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Food Vendor's Permit — Streets and Sidewalks — Houston Public Works, $40.27–$134.28 30 days, or full term, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Food Establishment Plan Review — Houston Health Department, $33.56–$939.96 one-time, by project valuation, one-time. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Houston, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Houston permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Houston?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 7 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Temporary Food Dealer Permit, Biological Pretreatment Service Permit and Registration, Industrial Waste Permit and 6 more. A coffee shop needs nothing here that a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 7 | 7 | 9 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 8 | 7 | 9 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 7 | 4 | 12 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 3 | 13 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 1 | 15 | 0 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 15 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 16 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 1 | 0 | 16 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 16 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page, coffee shops page, auto repair shops page, fitness studios page, retail stores page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Houston permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City-Wide Fee ScheduleCity of Houston, Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
- City of Houston SB 577 Ordinance Submission — Chapter 20 provisionsCity of Houston (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance and Fee Schedule Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
