10 permits · verified 2026-08-22
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Houston?
In short
A fitness studio in Houston, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Houston Public Works charges $94 one-time for the temporary certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-22 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Houston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Permit — Places of Assemblyonly if it applies to you | Houston Fire Department | $268.56–$537.12 by occupant load | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Fire Marshall Approvalonly if it applies to you | Houston Fire Department | $268.56–$1,074.24 one-time, by floor area | one-time | 2026-08-22 |
| Structural Building Permitonly if it applies to you | Houston Public Works | $47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000 | one-time | 2026-08-22 |
| Health Spa Certificate of Registration | Texas Secretary of State | $100 per location, per year | annual | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Houston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | Houston Public Works | Varies — formula on the Houston page | one-time | 2026-08-22 |
| Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to you | Houston Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Houston page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-22 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | Houston Public Works | $94 one-time | maximum of 30 calendar days | 2026-08-22 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Houston?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a fitness studio in Houston, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Permit — Places of Assembly: $268.56–$537.12 by occupant load
Fire Marshall Approval: $268.56–$1,074.24 one-time, by floor area
Structural Building Permit: $47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Houston permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Houston?
Permits for a fitness studio in Houston, TX come from 4 separate offices: Houston Fire Department, Houston Public Works, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Houston Fire DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Permit — Places of Assembly, Fire Marshall Approval, Fire Alarm Permit500 Jefferson Street, Suite 1700, Houston, TX 77002 · (832) 394-6700www.houstontx.gov/fire
- Houston Public WorksIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Occupancy, Structural Building Permit, Temporary Certificate of Occupancy(832) 395-2500www.houstonpermittingcenter.org
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA), Health Spa Certificate of Registrationwww.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a fitness studio need in Houston that other businesses do not?
1 of the 4 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Houston: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.
Fire Permit — Places of Assembly
$268.56 for 50-100 occupants, $402.84 for 101-299, $537.12 for 300 or more. Each includes part of the cost of the life safety inspection. A dining room seating 50 or more crosses this threshold, so most sit-down restaurants need it and most takeaway counters do not.
Health Spa Certificate of Registration
Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.
Shared with other businesses in Houston
- Fire Marshall Approval — Houston Fire Department, $268.56–$1,074.24 one-time, by floor area, one-time. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Structural Building Permit — Houston Public Works, $47.00 up to $7,000 valuation, then a base charge per band plus a per-$1,000 increment: $5.36 to $150,000; $5.03 to $200,000; $4.70 to $300,000; $4.36 to $500,000; $4.02 to $1,000,000; $3.68 to $5,000,000, one-time. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Houston, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Houston permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Houston?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Fire Permit — Places of Assembly and Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A retail store needs Street Vendor Permit, Common Market License, Certified Farmers Market License and 3 more, which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 8 | 2 | 2 | 6 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 16 | 3 | 1 | 13 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 1 | 3 | 6 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 7 | 0 | 4 | 7 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Houston permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City-Wide Fee ScheduleCity of Houston, Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
- Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
