Commercial Compliance Hub

6 permits · verified 2026-08-25

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Brown County?

In short

A fitness studio in Brown County, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 3 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Texas Secretary of State charges $300 one-time filing for the certificate of formation. 2 of the 6 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Brown County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Fire InspectionBrownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal$75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor areanot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Health Spa Certificate of RegistrationTexas Secretary of State$100 per location, per yearannual2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Brown County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
False Alarm Feeonly if it applies to youBrownwood and Brown County Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the Brown County pageper occurrence2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Brown County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 6 records listed for a fitness studio in Brown County, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 3 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 6 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Commercial Building Fire Inspection: $75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor area

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Brown County permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Brown County?

Permits for a fitness studio in Brown County, TX come from 3 separate offices: Brownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Brown County that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Brown County: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.

Health Spa Certificate of Registration

Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.

Shared with other businesses in Brown County

  • Commercial Building Fire Inspection — Brownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal, $75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor area, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, contractors and trades and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 1 local permit in the tables apply to every type of business in Brown County, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Brown County permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Brown County?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A auto repair shop needs nothing here that a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Brown County, TX, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops1110
Contractors and trades2111
Salons and barbers2111
Retail stores3112
Restaurants4113
Childcare centres2022
Coffee shops2022
Food trucks2022
Veterinary clinics1021

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brown County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.