Commercial Compliance Hub

6 permits · verified 2026-08-25

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Brown County?

In short

A salon or barber in Brown County, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 3 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation charges $78 per license period for the barbering and cosmetology establishment license. 2 of the 6 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Brown County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building Fire InspectionBrownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal$75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor areanot stated in the published schedule2026-08-25
Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment LicenseTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation$78 per license periodtwo years2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Brown County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
False Alarm Feeonly if it applies to youBrownwood and Brown County Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the Brown County pageper occurrence2026-08-25

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Brown County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 6 records listed for a salon or barber in Brown County, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 3 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $78.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 6 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Commercial Building Fire Inspection: $75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor area

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Brown County permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Brown County?

Permits for a salon or barber in Brown County, TX come from 4 separate offices: Brownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Brown County that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Brown County: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License.

Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License

Establishment licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue, so the $78 is a two-year cost rather than an annual one — worth halving before you compare it with a yearly permit elsewhere. The fee applies to standard and specialty establishments; a mini-establishment license is $70. It covers full-service, mobile and specialty establishments, and applies to licenses expiring on or after 1 September 2023. Individual practitioners are licensed separately from the establishment, so a salon needs both its own license and a license for each operator working in it.

Shared with other businesses in Brown County

  • Commercial Building Fire Inspection — Brownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal, $75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor area, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, contractors and trades and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 1 local permit in the tables apply to every type of business in Brown County, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Brown County permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Brown County?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License. A auto repair shop needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Brown County, TX, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops1110
Contractors and trades2111
Fitness studios2111
Retail stores3112
Restaurants4113
Childcare centres2022
Coffee shops2022
Food trucks2022
Veterinary clinics1021

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brown County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Barbering and Cosmetology Fee Changes — TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.