16 permits · verified 2026-09-09
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Louisville Jefferson County?
In short
A coffee shop in Louisville Jefferson County, KY has 10 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review charges $75 flat, administrative — only when issued without an associated building permit for the certificate of use and occupancy. 10 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Confirmation / Zoning Certification Letteronly if it applies to you | Louisville Metro Office of Planning | $50–$200 a basic Zoning Confirmation, Home Occupation review, or Temporary Activity Permit (TAP) review is $50; a full Zoning Certification Letter (used for certificates of land use restriction and similar formal determinations) is $200 | one-time, per request | 2026-09-09 |
| Occupational License Tax Registration | Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission | 1.25% (Metro Government) + 0.20% (Transit Authority of River City) + 0.75% (Jefferson County/Anchorage school boards) = 2.20% total, applied to both (a) wages and compensation paid to employees for work performed in Louisville Metro and (b) the net profit of a business entity or resident individual conducting business there. A non-resident individual (a non-resident sole proprietor or employee) pays only the Metro and TARC components — 1.45% — because non-resident individuals are exempt from the school board component by statute. There is no minimum tax, and applying for the account number itself carries no separate fee. | annual — the net profit return (Form OL-3) is due the 15th day of the 4th month after the fiscal year ends (April 15 for calendar-year filers); employers withhold and remit the wage portion quarterly | 2026-09-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit | Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review | Calculated per square foot by Kentucky Building Code occupancy type: Assembly and High Hazard $0.16/sq ft; Business, Institutional, Mercantile, and Residential (other than 1-2 family) $0.15/sq ft; Educational and Factory $0.14/sq ft (Storage is also $0.14/sq ft); Utility/Miscellaneous $0.13/sq ft; Residential 1-2 Family $0.105/sq ft. Square footage is measured on every floor to the outside of the exterior walls. A plan review fee (for review without an issued permit) is the greater of $30 or one-third of the calculated permit fee. No building permit fee is ever less than $75. A foundation-only permit is $75 (single-family) or $125 (all other uses). Work whose cost cannot be calculated by square footage is billed at $50 plus $2.50 per $1,000 of the applicant's estimated cost. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
| Certificate of Use and Occupancy | Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review | $75 flat, administrative — only when issued without an associated building permit | one-time, per issuance | 2026-09-09 |
| Sign Permit (structural) | Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review | $75 for a sign face up to 50 square feet; $75 plus $1 per square foot for any area over 50 square feet. | one-time, per sign | 2026-09-09 |
| Sign Permit (zoning/Land Development Code review) | Louisville Metro Office of Planning | $200 for a single attached sign or a single freestanding sign; $350 where two or more attached signs, or two or more freestanding signs, are proposed together. | one-time, per sign application | 2026-09-09 |
| Fire Suppression/Detection System Installation Permitonly if it applies to you | Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review | Sprinkler system, by number of heads: $150 (4-200), $175 (201-300), $210 (301-400), $250 (401-750), $250 plus $0.20 per head above 750. Automatic/manual fire detection system: $150 up to 20,000 sq ft, plus $20 for each additional 10,000 sq ft. Standpipe system: $150 (included at no extra charge when combined with a sprinkler permit). Carbon dioxide suppression: $150 for the first 200 lbs of agent plus $0.02/lb above that. Clean-agent suppression: $150 for the first 35 lbs plus $0.06/lb above that. Range hood suppression system: $150. Dry chemical suppression: $150 for the first 30 lbs plus $0.25/lb above that. | one-time, per system installed | 2026-09-09 |
| Food Establishment Permit — Louisville Metro local component | Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness | Louisville Metro's LOCAL add-on, billed in addition to the Kentucky state base fee recorded at the state layer (currently $125 plus a seating-band charge for a Food Service Establishment, or $200 for a Statewide Mobile Unit). The Metro local component: Food Service Establishment, or Combination Retail Food Market & Food Service Establishment, $80; Retail Food Market $50; Temporary Food Service Establishment $80; Limited/Seasonal Food Concessions $25. | annual | 2026-09-09 |
| Certified Food Manager Credential | Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness | $35 for the Food Safety and Sanitation Course for Food Service Managers (a home-study module plus a 2-hour class and a 1-hour exam), or $35 to transfer an equivalent ServSafe Manager, Certified Professional Food Manager, or National Registry for Food Safety Professionals credential to a Louisville Metro certificate. A duplicate certificate is $10. | 3 years | 2026-09-09 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $40 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-03 |
| Local Occupational Licence Tax | Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration | A percentage of payroll and net profits set by each city or county, capped at 1.25% for a county over 300,000 people — not a flat fee | annual, filed in every taxing district a business has a presence in | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $50 for a minimum-share filing — $40 to the Secretary of State plus a $10 minimum organization tax | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division | $15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporation | annual — filed between 1 January and 30 June | 2026-09-03 |
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration | No fee | no expiry — open-ended and location-specific | 2026-09-03 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit | Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch | $125–$340 a year, being a $125 state base fee plus a state seating or service band, before any local add-on | annual | 2026-09-03 |
| Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local, not state)only if it applies to you | Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch | No fee | set locally where a local requirement exists | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Louisville Jefferson County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a coffee shop in Louisville Jefferson County, KY, 10 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 10 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $75.00. That is a floor, not a total. 10 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Zoning Confirmation / Zoning Certification Letter: $50–$200 a basic Zoning Confirmation, Home Occupation review, or Temporary Activity Permit (TAP) review is $50; a full Zoning Certification Letter (used for certificates of land use restriction and similar formal determinations) is $200
Occupational License Tax Registration: 1.25% (Metro Government) + 0.20% (Transit Authority of River City) + 0.75% (Jefferson County/Anchorage school boards) = 2.20% total, applied to both (a) wages and compensation paid to employees for work performed in Louisville Metro and (b) the net profit of a business entity or resident individual conducting business there. A non-resident individual (a non-resident sole proprietor or employee) pays only the Metro and TARC components — 1.45% — because non-resident individuals are exempt from the school board component by statute. There is no minimum tax, and applying for the account number itself carries no separate fee.
Commercial Building Permit: Calculated per square foot by Kentucky Building Code occupancy type: Assembly and High Hazard $0.16/sq ft; Business, Institutional, Mercantile, and Residential (other than 1-2 family) $0.15/sq ft; Educational and Factory $0.14/sq ft (Storage is also $0.14/sq ft); Utility/Miscellaneous $0.13/sq ft; Residential 1-2 Family $0.105/sq ft. Square footage is measured on every floor to the outside of the exterior walls. A plan review fee (for review without an issued permit) is the greater of $30 or one-third of the calculated permit fee. No building permit fee is ever less than $75. A foundation-only permit is $75 (single-family) or $125 (all other uses). Work whose cost cannot be calculated by square footage is billed at $50 plus $2.50 per $1,000 of the applicant's estimated cost.
Sign Permit (structural): $75 for a sign face up to 50 square feet; $75 plus $1 per square foot for any area over 50 square feet.
Sign Permit (zoning/Land Development Code review): $200 for a single attached sign or a single freestanding sign; $350 where two or more attached signs, or two or more freestanding signs, are proposed together.
Fire Suppression/Detection System Installation Permit: Sprinkler system, by number of heads: $150 (4-200), $175 (201-300), $210 (301-400), $250 (401-750), $250 plus $0.20 per head above 750. Automatic/manual fire detection system: $150 up to 20,000 sq ft, plus $20 for each additional 10,000 sq ft. Standpipe system: $150 (included at no extra charge when combined with a sprinkler permit). Carbon dioxide suppression: $150 for the first 200 lbs of agent plus $0.02/lb above that. Clean-agent suppression: $150 for the first 35 lbs plus $0.06/lb above that. Range hood suppression system: $150. Dry chemical suppression: $150 for the first 30 lbs plus $0.25/lb above that.
Food Establishment Permit — Louisville Metro local component: Louisville Metro's LOCAL add-on, billed in addition to the Kentucky state base fee recorded at the state layer (currently $125 plus a seating-band charge for a Food Service Establishment, or $200 for a Statewide Mobile Unit). The Metro local component: Food Service Establishment, or Combination Retail Food Market & Food Service Establishment, $80; Retail Food Market $50; Temporary Food Service Establishment $80; Limited/Seasonal Food Concessions $25.
Certified Food Manager Credential: $35 for the Food Safety and Sanitation Course for Food Service Managers (a home-study module plus a 2-hour class and a 1-hour exam), or $35 to transfer an equivalent ServSafe Manager, Certified Professional Food Manager, or National Registry for Food Safety Professionals credential to a Louisville Metro certificate. A duplicate certificate is $10.
Local Occupational Licence Tax: A percentage of payroll and net profits set by each city or county, capped at 1.25% for a county over 300,000 people — not a flat fee
Food Service Establishment Permit: $125–$340 a year, being a $125 state base fee plus a state seating or service band, before any local add-on
Which offices issue these permits in Louisville Jefferson County?
Permits for a coffee shop in Louisville Jefferson County, KY come from 7 separate offices: Louisville Metro Office of Planning, Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission, Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review, Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness, Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division, Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration, Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Louisville Metro Office of PlanningIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Confirmation / Zoning Certification Letter, Sign Permit (zoning/Land Development Code review)444 S. 5th Street, Suite 300, Louisville, KY 40202 · (502) 574-6230louisvilleky.gov/government/office-planning
- Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Occupational License Tax Registration617 W. Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 · (502) 574-4860louisvilleky.gov/government/revenue-commission
- Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction ReviewIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Use and Occupancy, Sign Permit (structural), Fire Suppression/Detection System Installation Permit444 S. 5th Street, Louisville, KY 40202 · (502) 574-3321louisvilleky.gov/government/construction-review
- Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and WellnessIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit — Louisville Metro local component, Certified Food Manager Credential400 E. Gray Street, Louisville, KY 40202 · (502) 574-6650louisvilleky.gov/government/health-wellness
- Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report700 Capital Avenue, PO Box 718, Frankfort, KY 40602 · (502) 564-3490www.sos.ky.gov/bus/business-filings/Pages/Fees.aspx
- Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationIssues 2 permits on this page: Local Occupational Licence Tax, Sales and Use Tax Permit501 High Street, Station 20, Frankfort, KY 40601 · (502) 564-3306revenue.ky.gov/Business/Pages/Register-Business.aspx
- Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety BranchIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Service Establishment Permit, Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local, not state)275 East Main Street, Frankfort, KY 40621www.chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/dphps/fsb/Pages/retailfoodprogram.aspx
Is anything about these requirements changing?
Whether this is a mandatory prerequisite for every business type or an optional due-diligence document was not stated on the fee schedule itself; several other requirements in this file (the Conditional Use Permit for child care, for example) separately depend on a zoning determination.
This is Kentucky's local occupational tax, not a flat business licence fee — it is levied on nearly every business, trade, profession, or activity for profit conducted in Louisville Metro (all of Jefferson County), regardless of the entity's legal residence. A $25 minimum PENALTY applies only for failing to file a return by the due date, regardless of whether tax is owed — that is not a registration fee and is not what is recorded above.
Electrical, HVAC/mechanical, and fire suppression/detection work are permitted and fee'd separately under the same chapter — see the standalone Fire Suppression/Detection Permit record for that portion.
Where a building permit is already being issued for the same project, the occupancy sign-off appears to be part of that permit's inspection process rather than separately billed at $75 — the fee document does not state this explicitly for the combined case.
This is the Office of Construction Review's structural/building permit for erecting the sign. A separate Land Development Code zoning-compliance fee, charged by the Office of Planning, also applies to the same sign — see the Sign Zoning Review record.
This is the Office of Planning's own Land Development Code compliance review, independent of and in addition to the Office of Construction Review's structural sign permit fee recorded separately above.
This is the Office of Construction Review's Metro-wide installation permit, not an ongoing fire-code inspection fee. Jefferson County's ongoing fire code enforcement and inspections are split across roughly a dozen independent fire protection districts plus the Louisville Division of Fire (which covers only the historic Urban Services District) — no single, Metro-wide recurring inspection fee could be confirmed, and none is asserted here.
A mobile food unit (food truck) is billed under the same local Food Service Establishment line ($80) as a fixed restaurant, on top of the state's own Statewide Mobile Unit fee. This local figure is the piece the state-layer file for Kentucky explicitly flags as something 'Louisville Metro...publishes...separately' — this record is that publication.
A city-specific requirement beyond anything at the Kentucky state layer: local ordinance requires a certified food manager on duty at all times a food establishment is operating, and the certificate must be readily available on-site for review. Failure to comply may result in a fine.
Forty dollars flat, fixed directly in statute, and among the cheapest formation fees in the country. A non-profit LLC pays the same $40; a foreign LLC seeking authority to transact business pays $90.
Kentucky has no state business licence — its own portal says so outright — but this tax is what actually reaches nearly every business, and calling it a licence understates how it works. It is not a flat fee: it taxes the wages earned and services performed within a jurisdiction and the net profits apportioned to it, at a rate each city or county sets for itself, up to a statutory ceiling of 1.25% in a county of 300,000 or more. A 2025 legislative briefing put the scale in perspective: a hundred and seventy cities and eighty-seven counties tax gross earnings, eighty-nine cities and seventy counties tax net profits, and thirty-nine cities tax gross receipts, together supplying sixty per cent of city tax revenue and nearly forty-six per cent of county tax revenue — the largest local revenue source in the state. A business with a presence in several jurisdictions registers and files in each of them, using standardised forms the law requires every district to publish online, with a credit against the county tax where a city inside it also taxes the same activity.
Quoted alone, the Secretary of State's fee is $40 — the same as an LLC — and the $50 figure that circulates is really that $40 plus the $10 minimum organization tax under a separate statute, banded by the number of authorised shares: a cent a share up to twenty thousand shares, half a cent for the next hundred and eighty thousand, two-tenths of a cent above that, with $10 as the floor for a filing of a thousand shares or fewer. A non-profit corporation is cheaper still, at $8, because the organization tax does not apply to it.
Fifteen dollars, the same figure whatever the entity type, with a six-month window to file rather than a single deadline day. The consequence of missing it is not a late fee but administrative dissolution for a domestic entity, or revocation of the certificate of authority for a foreign one — either way the business falls out of good standing. Reinstatement costs a flat $100 penalty on top of every delinquent year's $15, plus letters of good standing from the revenue department and, for a profit company, the unemployment insurance division.
No fee — neither the authorising statute nor the official application form charges anything to register. A separate permit is required for each place of business, is not assignable, and must be conspicuously displayed at the location it names. There is no renewal cycle: the permit remains valid until the business changes hands or closes. Registration runs through MyTaxes.ky.gov or the paper Form 10A100.
The state sets the fee schedule by regulation but the money is paid to, and collected by, the local health department having jurisdiction — and most local departments add their own component on top, so the figure an operator actually owes is a state amount plus a local one. The state base is $125 a year, plus $75 to $215 by seating band, $155 for a drive-through window and $135 for a catering operation; a retail food store pays instead by square footage, from $90 up to $375; a statewide mobile food unit is $200 a year; a temporary establishment runs $60 to $125 depending on the length of the event, from a single day up to two weeks. Louisville Metro and Lexington-Fayette County both publish their local add-ons separately, and the two verified examples confirm the state components match the regulation exactly, so treat the state figures here as the floor and check the local health department for what is added.
No state fee, because there is no statewide food handler card or mandatory food manager certification at all — a distinction easy to get wrong. The federal food code gives three separate ways for the person in charge to demonstrate knowledge, and Kentucky's regulation rewrites only one of them, the certification path; it does not turn certification into a standalone statewide mandate. Where a card or certificate is required, a local board of health made it so — Fayette County was the first, requiring certified food safety training since 1987, and today charges $23 for its food handler test and $85 for food manager certification, while Louisville Metro requires a certified food manager on duty at all times under its own ordinance, at $35 for a certificate valid three years. Check the local health department rather than assuming a state requirement.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Louisville Metro Land Development Code, Appendix 11B Fee Schedule, effective July 1, 2025Louisville Metro Office of Planning, adopted by the Louisville Metro Planning Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Occupational License Tax Regulations of the Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission, adopted December 16, 2025, effective January 1, 2026Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Form OL-3 (Occupational License Return) Instructions, Tax Year 2024Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- LMCO Chapter 150.096 Promulgated Fees & Regulations — Construction Permits and Inspection Fees (revised 2/6/2024)Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Public Health Protection and Food Safety Fee Schedule (local and state components)Louisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Food Safety and Sanitation Course for Food Service Managers — application form and fee informationLouisville Metro Department of Public Health and Wellness, Division of Environmental Health and Emergency Preparedness · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
- Kentucky Revised Statutes section 275.055 — LLC filing fees, $40 for articles of organizationKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Secretary of State — occupational licence tax forms for every taxing district, required by KRS 67.766Kentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Revised Statutes section 68.180 — county occupational licence tax, capped at 1.25% of wages and net profitsKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Secretary of State — business filing fee scheduleKentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Secretary of State — annual reports, the $15 fee, the 30 June deadline and administrative dissolutionKentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Revised Statutes section 14A.6-010 — the annual report filing window and requirementKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Kentucky Revised Statutes section 139.250 — a separate sales tax permit for each place of business, with no fee imposedKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- 902 KAR 45:110 — the statewide retail food establishment fee schedule, payable to the local health departmentKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- 902 KAR 45:005 — Kentucky's adoption of the 2013 FDA Food Code, rewriting only the certification limb of the demonstration-of-knowledge ruleKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Lexington-Fayette County Health Department — food handler certification, required locally since 1987Lexington-Fayette County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
- All permits in Louisville Jefferson County
- Coffee shops — national overview
- Coffee shops in Fort Worth, TX
- Coffee shops in Grand Prairie, TX
- Coffee shops in Arlington, TX
- Coffee shops in San Antonio, TX
- Coffee shops in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Louisville Jefferson County
- Childcare centres in Louisville Jefferson County
- Contractors and trades in Louisville Jefferson County
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
