Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Louisville Jefferson County?

In short

A childcare centre in Louisville Jefferson County, KY has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review charges $75 flat, administrative — only when issued without an associated building permit for the certificate of use and occupancy. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

The permits at a glance

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Confirmation / Zoning Certification Letteronly if it applies to youLouisville Metro Office of Planning$50–$200 a basic Zoning Confirmation, Home Occupation review, or Temporary Activity Permit (TAP) review is $50; a full Zoning Certification Letter (used for certificates of land use restriction and similar formal determinations) is $200one-time, per request2026-09-09
Occupational License Tax RegistrationLouisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission1.25% (Metro Government) + 0.20% (Transit Authority of River City) + 0.75% (Jefferson County/Anchorage school boards) = 2.20% total, applied to both (a) wages and compensation paid to employees for work performed in Louisville Metro and (b) the net profit of a business entity or resident individual conducting business there. A non-resident individual (a non-resident sole proprietor or employee) pays only the Metro and TARC components — 1.45% — because non-resident individuals are exempt from the school board component by statute. There is no minimum tax, and applying for the account number itself carries no separate fee.annual — the net profit return (Form OL-3) is due the 15th day of the 4th month after the fiscal year ends (April 15 for calendar-year filers); employers withhold and remit the wage portion quarterly2026-09-09
Commercial Building PermitLouisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction ReviewCalculated per square foot by Kentucky Building Code occupancy type: Assembly and High Hazard $0.16/sq ft; Business, Institutional, Mercantile, and Residential (other than 1-2 family) $0.15/sq ft; Educational and Factory $0.14/sq ft (Storage is also $0.14/sq ft); Utility/Miscellaneous $0.13/sq ft; Residential 1-2 Family $0.105/sq ft. Square footage is measured on every floor to the outside of the exterior walls. A plan review fee (for review without an issued permit) is the greater of $30 or one-third of the calculated permit fee. No building permit fee is ever less than $75. A foundation-only permit is $75 (single-family) or $125 (all other uses). Work whose cost cannot be calculated by square footage is billed at $50 plus $2.50 per $1,000 of the applicant's estimated cost.one-time, per project2026-09-09
Certificate of Use and OccupancyLouisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review$75 flat, administrative — only when issued without an associated building permitone-time, per issuance2026-09-09
Conditional Use Permit — Child & Adult Care Centeronly if it applies to youLouisville Metro Office of Planning$550 for a Conditional Use Permit for a Child & Adult Care Center (the same fee tier as an accessory dwelling unit, home occupation, duplex, bed-and-breakfast inn, or owner-occupied short-term rental). A Conditional Use Permit for a child care center serving 12 or fewer children is $0 — a named fee waiver, not merely a lower tier. The $250 pre-application review otherwise required before filing any Conditional Use Permit is also separately waived for child care centers specifically.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Fire Suppression/Detection System Installation Permitonly if it applies to youLouisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction ReviewSprinkler system, by number of heads: $150 (4-200), $175 (201-300), $210 (301-400), $250 (401-750), $250 plus $0.20 per head above 750. Automatic/manual fire detection system: $150 up to 20,000 sq ft, plus $20 for each additional 10,000 sq ft. Standpipe system: $150 (included at no extra charge when combined with a sprinkler permit). Carbon dioxide suppression: $150 for the first 200 lbs of agent plus $0.02/lb above that. Clean-agent suppression: $150 for the first 35 lbs plus $0.06/lb above that. Range hood suppression system: $150. Dry chemical suppression: $150 for the first 30 lbs plus $0.25/lb above that.one-time, per system installed2026-09-09
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$40 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Local Occupational Licence TaxKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationA percentage of payroll and net profits set by each city or county, capped at 1.25% for a county over 300,000 people — not a flat feeannual, filed in every taxing district a business has a presence in2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$50 for a minimum-share filing — $40 to the Secretary of State plus a $10 minimum organization taxperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporationannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June2026-09-03
Child-Care Centre LicenceKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Division of Regulated Child Care$50 to open; renewal is $25 a yearannual for a centre; a certified family child-care home renews every two years at $102026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Louisville Jefferson County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a childcare centre in Louisville Jefferson County, KY, 5 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $125.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:

Zoning Confirmation / Zoning Certification Letter: $50–$200 a basic Zoning Confirmation, Home Occupation review, or Temporary Activity Permit (TAP) review is $50; a full Zoning Certification Letter (used for certificates of land use restriction and similar formal determinations) is $200

Occupational License Tax Registration: 1.25% (Metro Government) + 0.20% (Transit Authority of River City) + 0.75% (Jefferson County/Anchorage school boards) = 2.20% total, applied to both (a) wages and compensation paid to employees for work performed in Louisville Metro and (b) the net profit of a business entity or resident individual conducting business there. A non-resident individual (a non-resident sole proprietor or employee) pays only the Metro and TARC components — 1.45% — because non-resident individuals are exempt from the school board component by statute. There is no minimum tax, and applying for the account number itself carries no separate fee.

Commercial Building Permit: Calculated per square foot by Kentucky Building Code occupancy type: Assembly and High Hazard $0.16/sq ft; Business, Institutional, Mercantile, and Residential (other than 1-2 family) $0.15/sq ft; Educational and Factory $0.14/sq ft (Storage is also $0.14/sq ft); Utility/Miscellaneous $0.13/sq ft; Residential 1-2 Family $0.105/sq ft. Square footage is measured on every floor to the outside of the exterior walls. A plan review fee (for review without an issued permit) is the greater of $30 or one-third of the calculated permit fee. No building permit fee is ever less than $75. A foundation-only permit is $75 (single-family) or $125 (all other uses). Work whose cost cannot be calculated by square footage is billed at $50 plus $2.50 per $1,000 of the applicant's estimated cost.

Conditional Use Permit — Child & Adult Care Center: $550 for a Conditional Use Permit for a Child & Adult Care Center (the same fee tier as an accessory dwelling unit, home occupation, duplex, bed-and-breakfast inn, or owner-occupied short-term rental). A Conditional Use Permit for a child care center serving 12 or fewer children is $0 — a named fee waiver, not merely a lower tier. The $250 pre-application review otherwise required before filing any Conditional Use Permit is also separately waived for child care centers specifically.

Fire Suppression/Detection System Installation Permit: Sprinkler system, by number of heads: $150 (4-200), $175 (201-300), $210 (301-400), $250 (401-750), $250 plus $0.20 per head above 750. Automatic/manual fire detection system: $150 up to 20,000 sq ft, plus $20 for each additional 10,000 sq ft. Standpipe system: $150 (included at no extra charge when combined with a sprinkler permit). Carbon dioxide suppression: $150 for the first 200 lbs of agent plus $0.02/lb above that. Clean-agent suppression: $150 for the first 35 lbs plus $0.06/lb above that. Range hood suppression system: $150. Dry chemical suppression: $150 for the first 30 lbs plus $0.25/lb above that.

Local Occupational Licence Tax: A percentage of payroll and net profits set by each city or county, capped at 1.25% for a county over 300,000 people — not a flat fee

Which offices issue these permits in Louisville Jefferson County?

Permits for a childcare centre in Louisville Jefferson County, KY come from 6 separate offices: Louisville Metro Office of Planning, Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission, Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review, Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division, Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration, Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Division of Regulated Child Care. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

  • Louisville Metro Office of PlanningIssues 2 permits on this page: Zoning Confirmation / Zoning Certification Letter, Conditional Use Permit — Child & Adult Care Center444 S. 5th Street, Suite 300, Louisville, KY 40202 · (502) 574-6230louisvilleky.gov/government/office-planning
  • Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Occupational License Tax Registration617 W. Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202 · (502) 574-4860louisvilleky.gov/government/revenue-commission
  • Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction ReviewIssues 3 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Use and Occupancy, Fire Suppression/Detection System Installation Permit444 S. 5th Street, Louisville, KY 40202 · (502) 574-3321louisvilleky.gov/government/construction-review
  • Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report700 Capital Avenue, PO Box 718, Frankfort, KY 40602 · (502) 564-3490www.sos.ky.gov/bus/business-filings/Pages/Fees.aspx
  • Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationIssues 1 permit on this page: Local Occupational Licence Tax501 High Street, Station 20, Frankfort, KY 40601 · (502) 564-3306revenue.ky.gov/Business/Pages/Register-Business.aspx
  • Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Division of Regulated Child CareIssues 1 permit on this page: Child-Care Centre Licence275 East Main Street, Frankfort, KY 40621www.chfs.ky.gov/agencies/os/oig/drcc/Pages/default.aspx

Is anything about these requirements changing?

Whether this is a mandatory prerequisite for every business type or an optional due-diligence document was not stated on the fee schedule itself; several other requirements in this file (the Conditional Use Permit for child care, for example) separately depend on a zoning determination.

This is Kentucky's local occupational tax, not a flat business licence fee — it is levied on nearly every business, trade, profession, or activity for profit conducted in Louisville Metro (all of Jefferson County), regardless of the entity's legal residence. A $25 minimum PENALTY applies only for failing to file a return by the due date, regardless of whether tax is owed — that is not a registration fee and is not what is recorded above.

Electrical, HVAC/mechanical, and fire suppression/detection work are permitted and fee'd separately under the same chapter — see the standalone Fire Suppression/Detection Permit record for that portion.

Where a building permit is already being issued for the same project, the occupancy sign-off appears to be part of that permit's inspection process rather than separately billed at $75 — the fee document does not state this explicitly for the combined case.

Required only where the zoning district does not permit a child care center by right — check zoning first. This is on top of, not instead of, Kentucky's state child-care licence.

This is the Office of Construction Review's Metro-wide installation permit, not an ongoing fire-code inspection fee. Jefferson County's ongoing fire code enforcement and inspections are split across roughly a dozen independent fire protection districts plus the Louisville Division of Fire (which covers only the historic Urban Services District) — no single, Metro-wide recurring inspection fee could be confirmed, and none is asserted here.

Forty dollars flat, fixed directly in statute, and among the cheapest formation fees in the country. A non-profit LLC pays the same $40; a foreign LLC seeking authority to transact business pays $90.

Kentucky has no state business licence — its own portal says so outright — but this tax is what actually reaches nearly every business, and calling it a licence understates how it works. It is not a flat fee: it taxes the wages earned and services performed within a jurisdiction and the net profits apportioned to it, at a rate each city or county sets for itself, up to a statutory ceiling of 1.25% in a county of 300,000 or more. A 2025 legislative briefing put the scale in perspective: a hundred and seventy cities and eighty-seven counties tax gross earnings, eighty-nine cities and seventy counties tax net profits, and thirty-nine cities tax gross receipts, together supplying sixty per cent of city tax revenue and nearly forty-six per cent of county tax revenue — the largest local revenue source in the state. A business with a presence in several jurisdictions registers and files in each of them, using standardised forms the law requires every district to publish online, with a credit against the county tax where a city inside it also taxes the same activity.

Quoted alone, the Secretary of State's fee is $40 — the same as an LLC — and the $50 figure that circulates is really that $40 plus the $10 minimum organization tax under a separate statute, banded by the number of authorised shares: a cent a share up to twenty thousand shares, half a cent for the next hundred and eighty thousand, two-tenths of a cent above that, with $10 as the floor for a filing of a thousand shares or fewer. A non-profit corporation is cheaper still, at $8, because the organization tax does not apply to it.

Fifteen dollars, the same figure whatever the entity type, with a six-month window to file rather than a single deadline day. The consequence of missing it is not a late fee but administrative dissolution for a domestic entity, or revocation of the certificate of authority for a foreign one — either way the business falls out of good standing. Reinstatement costs a flat $100 penalty on top of every delinquent year's $15, plus letters of good standing from the revenue department and, for a profit company, the unemployment insurance division.

Fifty dollars to open a licensed child-care centre and $25 to renew, every year — modest fees, but the initial approval is deliberately provisional: a new licence issues first as a preliminary licence lasting up to six months before converting to a regular one-year licence. A certified family child-care home is a different and much cheaper category, at $10 to certify and $10 to renew every two years rather than annually. A corporate or LLC applicant must attach a current certificate of existence from the Secretary of State to either application.

Sources

Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Louisville Metro Land Development Code, Appendix 11B Fee Schedule, effective July 1, 2025Louisville Metro Office of Planning, adopted by the Louisville Metro Planning Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. Occupational License Tax Regulations of the Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission, adopted December 16, 2025, effective January 1, 2026Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. Form OL-3 (Occupational License Return) Instructions, Tax Year 2024Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Revenue Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  4. LMCO Chapter 150.096 Promulgated Fees & Regulations — Construction Permits and Inspection Fees (revised 2/6/2024)Louisville Metro Department of Codes & Regulations, Office of Construction Review · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  5. Kentucky Revised Statutes section 275.055 — LLC filing fees, $40 for articles of organizationKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  6. Kentucky Secretary of State — occupational licence tax forms for every taxing district, required by KRS 67.766Kentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  7. Kentucky Revised Statutes section 68.180 — county occupational licence tax, capped at 1.25% of wages and net profitsKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  8. Kentucky Secretary of State — business filing fee scheduleKentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  9. Kentucky Secretary of State — annual reports, the $15 fee, the 30 June deadline and administrative dissolutionKentucky Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  10. Kentucky Revised Statutes section 14A.6-010 — the annual report filing window and requirementKentucky Legislative Research Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  11. 922 KAR 2:090 — child-care centre licensing fees, effective 13 February 2025Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  12. 922 KAR 2:100 — certified family child-care home fees, effective 14 March 2024Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.