Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-10

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Davenport?

In short

A coffee shop in Davenport, IA has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Davenport, Finance Department, Revenue Division charges $20 per tent for the tent permit. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Davenport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Tent Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Davenport, Finance Department, Revenue Division$20 per tentone-time, per event/installation2026-09-10
Food Establishment LicenseScott County Health DepartmentFood Service Establishment (restaurants, bars, take-out, catering, concession stands): $0 for schools; $150 for annual gross sales of $1-$100,000; $300 for $100,001-$500,000; $400 for $500,001 and up. Retail Food Establishment (grocery/convenience without prepared food): $150 for $1-$250,000; $300 for $250,001-$750,000; $400 for $750,001 and up. An establishment needing both license types pays its dominant category's fee plus a flat $150 secondary-license charge. A Mobile Food Unit is a flat $250, plus the Food Service fee if it also operates a commissary at the same physical address.annual2026-09-10
City Business License — Title 5 Categories and Exemptions (Davenport)only if it applies to youCity of Davenport, Finance Department, Revenue DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-10
Food Establishment LicenseIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing$150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climbannual2026-09-04
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and LicensingNo feenot stated in Iowa's own rule text2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Davenport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Davenport, Development and Neighborhood Services Department, Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Davenport pageone-time, per project2026-09-10
Zoning Determination / Administrative Exceptiononly if it applies to youCity of Davenport, Community Planning and Economic DevelopmentNo feeone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-10
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Davenport, Development and Neighborhood Services Department, Building DivisionNo feeone-time, no expiration2026-09-10
Sign PermitCity of Davenport, Development and Neighborhood Services Department, Building Division$50 one-time, per signone-time, per sign2026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

IA registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitIowa Department of RevenueNo feeno expiration — stays effective until cancelled or revoked2026-09-04
General Business License — Iowa positiononly if it applies to youIowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information CenterNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the IA pagean LLC files between 1 January and 1 April of every odd year; a corporation files in the same window of every even year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Davenport?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a coffee shop in Davenport, IA, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment License: Food Service Establishment (restaurants, bars, take-out, catering, concession stands): $0 for schools; $150 for annual gross sales of $1-$100,000; $300 for $100,001-$500,000; $400 for $500,001 and up. Retail Food Establishment (grocery/convenience without prepared food): $150 for $1-$250,000; $300 for $250,001-$750,000; $400 for $750,001 and up. An establishment needing both license types pays its dominant category's fee plus a flat $150 secondary-license charge. A Mobile Food Unit is a flat $250, plus the Food Service fee if it also operates a commissary at the same physical address.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Davenport permits page and the IA state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Davenport?

Permits for a coffee shop in Davenport, IA come from 8 separate offices: City of Davenport, Finance Department, Revenue Division, City of Davenport, Development and Neighborhood Services Department, Building Division, City of Davenport, Community Planning and Economic Development, Scott County Health Department, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Iowa Department of Revenue, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information Center. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Davenport that other businesses do not?

Food Establishment License

Scott County is one of the ten Iowa counties with a delegated local health department rather than falling under the state Food Safety Bureau's direct jurisdiction, confirmed both by Iowa DIAL's own Food Inspection Jurisdictions page and by the Scott County Health Department's own licensing program and fee-bearing application — a genuinely distinct local authority, of the same kind already found for Cedar Rapids' Linn County. Applications must be submitted at least 30 days before the anticipated opening date, with a menu, floor plan and equipment schedule required for new construction; plan review itself carries no separate fee, and a Certified Food Protection Manager certificate is due within 6 months of opening where not already held. The current application also states that a new establishment must pay the maximum fee in the fee box that applies to the license(s) applied for, while a change in ownership is priced on the previous owner's gross annual sales if that owner operated within the last 3 months and 12 months of sales records are supplied.

Food Establishment License

Iowa bands this fee by gross food and beverage sales rather than by seating capacity, which is the opposite of what many states do: under $100,000 a year in sales costs $150, $100,000 to under $500,000 costs $300, and $500,000 or more costs $400. A brand-new establishment with no prior-year figures to report is charged the top band by default until it has a full year on file. A mobile food unit is a flat $250 regardless of sales; a single temporary event is $50, and a license covering multiple non-concurrent events statewide in one year is $200; vending machines are $50 for the first and $10 for each additional one. Ten local health departments, covering roughly a third of Iowa's counties between Black Hawk, Cerro Gordo, Dubuque, Johnson, Lee, Linn, Scott, Siouxland and Washington County, run their own delegated inspection programmes and keep the fees they collect rather than remitting them to the state — but the fee schedule itself is set statewide by statute, so the amount does not change by moving between a state-run and a delegated county.

Shared with other businesses in Davenport

  • Tent Permit — City of Davenport, Finance Department, Revenue Division, $20 per tent, one-time, per event/installation. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • City Business License — Title 5 Categories and Exemptions (Davenport) — City of Davenport, Finance Department, Revenue Division, No fee, not applicable. Also required for restaurants, childcare centres, fitness studios, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, No fee, not stated in Iowa's own rule text. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Davenport, IA; what each one involves is set out on the Davenport permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across IA and are covered on the IA state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Davenport?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Davenport, IA need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Davenport, IA, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants5500
Food trucks5322
Fitness studios2230
Retail stores2141
Veterinary clinics2141
Childcare centres3142
Salons and barbers3142
Auto repair shops2052
Contractors and trades4054

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Davenport permits page and the IA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Food Establishment License Application (including Mobile Units) — complete fee schedule: Food Service Establishment banded by gross sales ($0 schools / $150 up to $100,000 / $300 up to $500,000 / $400 above), Retail Food Establishment banded differently at the same three figures ($150/$300/$400, thresholds at $250,000 and $750,000), a $150 secondary-licence add-on for a dual Food Service and Retail Food establishment, and a flat $250 Mobile Food Unit feeScott County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  2. Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing — the ten local health departments with delegated food inspection authorityIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. Food Service Establishments — confirming license fees are based on gross food and beverage sales and that there is no fee for plan reviewsScott County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  4. Iowa Code section 137F.6 — the food establishment license fee schedule, banded by gross salesIowa Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.