Commercial Compliance Hub

11 published records

Business licenses and permits in Jacksonville, Florida

Consolidated city-county government — Duval County and the City of Jacksonville share one Code of Ordinances and one set of agencies. Restaurants and grocery stores are not locally permitted at all; DOH-Duval's local food-hygiene permit reaches only a narrow list of institutional facility types. The Local Business Tax Receipt's per-classification dollar figures are confirmed directly against ordinance sections 770.306, 770.307, 770.322 and 770.324, supplied by the requester once Municode was confirmed durably blocked to automated access.

What are you opening in Jacksonville?

Permits that apply to every type of business in Jacksonville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Safety InspectionJacksonville Fire and Rescue Department, Fire Prevention DivisionRoutine inspection: $0.009 per sq ft, up to a maximum of $5,000.00. First reinspection: no charge. Second reinspection: the same per-square-foot rate as the routine inspection. A separate Fire Safety Pre-inspection (property assessment) is $65.00.recurring; exact cadence for ordinary commercial premises is not stated on the published schedule (only the food-truck inspection is explicitly labelled annual — see the separate food-truck record)2026-09-05
Commercial Building PermitCity of Jacksonville Building Inspection DivisionAlterations to an existing commercial building: $3.00 per $1,000 of estimated project cost (BID permit fee). New ground-up construction below the fourth story: $6.38 per 100 sq ft (BID permit fee) plus $1.60 per 100 sq ft (resource management fee), subject to a $112.50 minimum for that fee subsection. Electrical, plumbing ($11 per fixture, $60 minimum) and mechanical permits are priced separately by fixture or capacity, not by floor area.not applicable — one-time permit per project2026-09-05
Sign PermitCity of Jacksonville Building Inspection Division$8.25 per 20 sq ft of display face (or fraction) up to 100 sq ft, then $12.50 per additional 100 sq ft, subject to an $80.00 minimum BID permit fee. Plan review adds 31% of the permit cost or $35, whichever is greater. A $5,000 sign bond is required unless the applicant owns the property and the sign is unilluminated, no larger than 32 sq ft, and no taller than 8 feet.not applicable — one-time permit; the bond stays in effect while the sign exists2026-09-05
Certificate of UseCity of Jacksonville Building Inspection Division$112 new certificate of use or relocation of businessnot a renewable or expiring document under normal operation2026-09-05

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

What do these permits involve in Jacksonville?

Fire Safety Inspection

This is a per-square-foot fee with a $5,000 cap, not a flat charge — confirmed directly on the city's own fee schedule. The schedule does not state how often a routine inspection recurs for a general commercial occupancy, so no fixed term is claimed here beyond "recurring."

Commercial Building Permit

The ordinance itself does not embed these dollar figures in its codified text — section 320.409 states they are published electronically on the city's fee-schedule webpage instead, which is exactly where these were confirmed directly. Most commercial tenants doing a buildout inside existing space fall under the per-$1,000-of-cost alteration rate rather than the new-construction rate.

Sign Permit

The City Fees schedule (Sign erections, Section 320.409) lists a BID permit fee of $8.25 for each 20 square feet of display face (or fraction) up to 100 square feet, $12.50 for each additional 100 square feet, an $80.00 minimum, and a plan review fee of 31% of the BID permit or $35.00, whichever is greater. The Building Inspection Division's sign-laws page states that, except where the applicant is the owner and the sign is not illuminated and does not exceed 32 square feet in area or eight feet in height, the applicant files a $5,000 bond before the permit is issued.

Certificate of Use

$112 for a new Certificate of Use or a business relocation, confirmed directly on the city's own published fee schedule. A temporary or partial certificate of occupancy runs $100 for residential or $150 for commercial, and a failed-inspection reinspection is $45. Review runs through three separate offices — Zoning, Building Inspections, and the Fire Marshal's Office — before the certificate issues. The fee schedule lists no separate line item for a final, permanent Certificate of Occupancy; it appears to be folded into the building permit fee rather than charged on its own.

Sources

Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. City of Jacksonville — consolidated city fee schedule (Certificate of Use, building, sign and fire safety inspection fees)City of Jacksonville Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Who issues business permits in Jacksonville?

Permitting in Jacksonville is split across 6 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.

Jacksonville issuing agencies

Other Florida jurisdictions we cover

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.