13 permits · verified 2026-09-05
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Jacksonville?
In short
A salon or barber in Jacksonville, FL has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Jacksonville Building Inspection Division charges $112 new certificate of use or relocation of business for the certificate of use. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-05 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Use | City of Jacksonville Building Inspection Division | $112 new certificate of use or relocation of business | not a renewable or expiring document under normal operation | 2026-09-05 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Jacksonville Building Inspection Division | Alterations to an existing commercial building: $3.00 per $1,000 of estimated project cost (BID permit fee). New ground-up construction below the fourth story: $6.38 per 100 sq ft (BID permit fee) plus $1.60 per 100 sq ft (resource management fee), subject to a $112.50 minimum for that fee subsection. Electrical, plumbing ($11 per fixture, $60 minimum) and mechanical permits are priced separately by fixture or capacity, not by floor area. | not applicable — one-time permit per project | 2026-09-05 |
| Local Business Tax Receipt — Professions & Retail Store | Duval County Tax Collector, Business Tax Division | $30 a year — $30 flat under either the professions classification or the retail-store classification, whichever applies | annual — every receipt expires 30 September, per Florida Statutes chapter 205 | 2026-09-05 |
| Sign Permit | City of Jacksonville Building Inspection Division | $8.25 per 20 sq ft of display face (or fraction) up to 100 sq ft, then $12.50 per additional 100 sq ft, subject to an $80.00 minimum BID permit fee. Plan review adds 31% of the permit cost or $35, whichever is greater. A $5,000 sign bond is required unless the applicant owns the property and the sign is unilluminated, no larger than 32 sq ft, and no taller than 8 feet. | not applicable — one-time permit; the bond stays in effect while the sign exists | 2026-09-05 |
| Fire Safety Inspection | Jacksonville Fire and Rescue Department, Fire Prevention Division | Routine inspection: $0.009 per sq ft, up to a maximum of $5,000.00. First reinspection: no charge. Second reinspection: the same per-square-foot rate as the routine inspection. A separate Fire Safety Pre-inspection (property assessment) is $65.00. | recurring; exact cadence for ordinary commercial premises is not stated on the published schedule (only the food-truck inspection is explicitly labelled annual — see the separate food-truck record) | 2026-09-05 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations | $125 one-time filing | no expiry, but an annual report is due every year by 1 May | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations | $70 one-time filing | no expiry, but an annual report is due every year by 1 May | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual Report (LLC)only if it applies to you | Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations | $138.75 — a $50 base fee plus the $88.75 annual supplemental corporate fee — rising to $538.75 if it is filed after 1 May, because a $400 late charge attaches to the supplemental fee | annual, due by 1 May | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual Report (Corporation)only if it applies to you | Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations | $150.00 — a $61.25 base fee plus the $88.75 annual supplemental corporate fee — rising to $550.00 if it is filed after 1 May | annual, due by 1 May | 2026-09-03 |
| Business Tax Application (Sales and Use Tax)only if it applies to you | Florida Department of Revenue | No fee — no fee to register | no fixed expiry | 2026-09-03 |
| Cosmetology or Specialty Salon Licence | Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Board of Cosmetology and Barbers' Board | $90 application and initial licence | 2 years | 2026-09-03 |
| Barbershop Licence | Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Board of Cosmetology and Barbers' Board | $125 application and original licence | 2 years | 2026-09-03 |
| Local Business Tax Receipt | Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations | No fee | annual — every receipt expires on 30 September | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Jacksonville?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a salon or barber in Jacksonville, FL, 8 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $357.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Commercial Building Permit: Alterations to an existing commercial building: $3.00 per $1,000 of estimated project cost (BID permit fee). New ground-up construction below the fourth story: $6.38 per 100 sq ft (BID permit fee) plus $1.60 per 100 sq ft (resource management fee), subject to a $112.50 minimum for that fee subsection. Electrical, plumbing ($11 per fixture, $60 minimum) and mechanical permits are priced separately by fixture or capacity, not by floor area.
Sign Permit: $8.25 per 20 sq ft of display face (or fraction) up to 100 sq ft, then $12.50 per additional 100 sq ft, subject to an $80.00 minimum BID permit fee. Plan review adds 31% of the permit cost or $35, whichever is greater. A $5,000 sign bond is required unless the applicant owns the property and the sign is unilluminated, no larger than 32 sq ft, and no taller than 8 feet.
Fire Safety Inspection: Routine inspection: $0.009 per sq ft, up to a maximum of $5,000.00. First reinspection: no charge. Second reinspection: the same per-square-foot rate as the routine inspection. A separate Fire Safety Pre-inspection (property assessment) is $65.00.
Annual Report (LLC): $138.75 — a $50 base fee plus the $88.75 annual supplemental corporate fee — rising to $538.75 if it is filed after 1 May, because a $400 late charge attaches to the supplemental fee
Annual Report (Corporation): $150.00 — a $61.25 base fee plus the $88.75 annual supplemental corporate fee — rising to $550.00 if it is filed after 1 May
Which offices issue these permits in Jacksonville?
Permits for a salon or barber in Jacksonville, FL come from 6 separate offices: City of Jacksonville Building Inspection Division, Duval County Tax Collector, Business Tax Division, Jacksonville Fire and Rescue Department, Fire Prevention Division, Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations, Florida Department of Revenue, Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Board of Cosmetology and Barbers' Board. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Jacksonville Building Inspection DivisionIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Use, Commercial Building Permit, Sign PermitEd Ball Building, 214 N. Hogan St., Jacksonville, FL 32202 · (904) 255-8500www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division
- Duval County Tax Collector, Business Tax DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Local Business Tax Receipt — Professions & Retail Store231 E. Forsyth St., Room 130, Jacksonville, FL 32202 · (904) 255-5700taxcollector.jacksonville.gov/taxes/local-business-tax
- Jacksonville Fire and Rescue Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Safety Inspection(904) 255-8320www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/fire-and-rescue-plan-review-procedures
- Florida Department of State, Division of CorporationsIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report (LLC)efile.sunbiz.org
- Florida Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Business Tax Application (Sales and Use Tax)floridarevenue.com/taxes/eservices/Pages/registration.aspx
- Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Board of Cosmetology and Barbers' BoardIssues 2 permits on this page: Cosmetology or Specialty Salon Licence, Barbershop Licencewww.myfloridalicense.com
Is anything about these requirements changing?
$112 for a new Certificate of Use or a business relocation, confirmed directly on the city's own published fee schedule. A temporary or partial certificate of occupancy runs $100 for residential or $150 for commercial, and a failed-inspection reinspection is $45. Review runs through three separate offices — Zoning, Building Inspections, and the Fire Marshal's Office — before the certificate issues. No separate line-item fee was found for a final, permanent Certificate of Occupancy; it appears to be folded into the building permit fee rather than charged on its own.
The ordinance itself does not embed these dollar figures in its codified text — section 320.409 states they are published electronically on the city's fee-schedule webpage instead, which is exactly where these were confirmed directly. Most commercial tenants doing a buildout inside existing space fall under the per-$1,000-of-cost alteration rate rather than the new-construction rate.
Confirmed directly against the ordinance text. Section 770.322 taxes 'every person engaged in the practice of a profession who offers his service... to the public for a consideration' at $30 a year, whether or not that profession is otherwise regulated by law; section 770.324 taxes each retail store location at the same $30 a year. Retail store explicitly excludes restaurants, cafes, cafeterias, hotels and liquor stores, which are taxed separately below. A salon, fitness studio, child care provider or auto repair shop is assumed to fall under the general professions classification here, since no dedicated classification section for any of them was located in this research — if Duval County has in fact classified one of these trades under its own separate section elsewhere in chapter 770's roughly thirty sections, a different figure would apply instead. A $6 fee applies to transfer the receipt between locations or owners, and a receipt not renewed by 30 September draws a 10% delinquency penalty for October plus a further 5% each subsequent month, up to 25%.
Both the per-square-foot fee schedule and the bond exemption were confirmed directly on the city's own published pages.
This is a per-square-foot fee with a $5,000 cap, not a flat charge — confirmed directly on the city's own fee schedule. The schedule does not state how often a routine inspection recurs for a general commercial occupancy, so no fixed term is claimed here beyond "recurring."
$125 is the required minimum — $100 for the articles and a further $25 to designate a registered agent, which is not optional. Sunbiz displays a total of $160 on its fee page, and that figure adds two things you do not have to buy: a certified copy at $30 and a certificate of status at $5. Budget $125 unless you specifically need either. The recurring cost matters more than the formation cost here: Florida's annual report is $138.75 for an LLC and jumps to $538.75 if it arrives after 1 May.
$70 all in — $35 for the articles and $35 to designate a registered agent. Incorporating is cheaper than forming an LLC in Florida, which reverses the usual pattern: $70 against $125. Sunbiz shows $87.50 because it includes an optional certified copy and certificate of status at $8.75 each. The corporation pays slightly more each year afterwards, though: its annual report is $150 against the LLC's $138.75.
The single most expensive routine filing an ordinary Florida business faces, and the deadline is unforgiving: miss 1 May and the fee quadruples from $138.75 to $538.75. The $400 is a late charge on the supplemental corporate fee, not a penalty that can be argued down, and the only relief in the statute is for an entity that was administratively dissolved, applied for reinstatement and paid the reinstatement fee. The odd-looking $138.75 is two statutory fees stacked — a $50 base and an $88.75 supplemental corporate fee — which is worth knowing because only one of them ever moves when the Legislature amends the law. A non-profit files under a section the supplemental fee does not reach and pays $61.25 with no late charge.
$150 a year, and $550 if it lands after 1 May. Like the LLC's, this is a composite: $61.25 under the corporations fee schedule plus the $88.75 supplemental corporate fee that applies to every entity required to file an annual report. So while incorporating costs half what forming an LLC costs in Florida, the corporation is $11.25 a year dearer to keep — the difference reverses after the first year.
Free, and it is worth saying so because the internet still charges you $5 for it. Florida did levy a $5 registration fee — the 2012 statute required the application to be "accompanied by a registration fee of $5" — and that clause has since been removed. The current Form DR-1, revision 01/26, prints no registration fee anywhere. The only $5-shaped figure left in the area is unrelated. There is a $100 fee in the statute, but it is a penalty for trading without registering, and the Department may waive it where the failure was for reasonable cause rather than wilful neglect. Some trade-specific registrations still ride along on the same form and carry their own fees.
$90 to open — a $50 non-refundable application fee plus a $40 salon licence fee — then $40 every two years to renew. Renewing late within twenty-four months adds a $25 delinquency fee on top of the renewal. Do not assume a barbershop costs the same: Florida licenses barbershops through a different board at $125 initially and $105 biennially, so a shop offering both may need to think about which licence it holds. A mobile cosmetology salon may not be charged more than a fixed location.
$125 to open — $75 application plus $50 for the original licence — and $105 every two years to renew. That renewal is more than two and a half times what a cosmetology salon pays, which is the sharpest difference between Florida's two personal-care regimes and the reason the distinction is worth getting right before you apply. Moving a barbershop to a new location carries a $125 transfer fee set by statute. Renewing late adds $25.
Florida has no statewide general business licence. What stands in its place is the Local Business Tax Receipt, and the thing to understand is that a county and a municipality may each levy one — so a business inside city limits can need two, because a county levy reaches incorporated areas as well. No amount is shown here because the state sets none; each authority fixes its own by ordinance, and levying is permissive, so some jurisdictions charge nothing at all. Every receipt expires on 30 September regardless of when it was issued. It is a tax rather than a licence, and the statute is explicit that it never substitutes for a regulatory licence from a board or agency. If you are reading anything written before 2007 it will call this an occupational licence. Selling the business or moving it within the same jurisdiction costs a transfer fee of up to 10 per cent of the annual tax, never less than $3 nor more than $25.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Jacksonville — consolidated city fee schedule (Certificate of Use, building, sign and fire safety inspection fees)City of Jacksonville Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- City of Jacksonville / Duval County Code of Ordinances chapter 770, part 3, sections 770.306 (cafes, restaurants and other eating establishments), 770.307 (contracting), 770.322 (professions, businesses, occupations) and 770.324 (retail store) — verbatim ordinance text, supplied directly by the requester after Municode returned 403 to every automated attemptMunicode (Jacksonville, Florida Code of Ordinances) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Duval County Tax Collector — Local Business Tax Receipt page (renewal term, transfer fee, delinquency penalties); content supplied directly by the requester after this page returned a connection refusal to every automated attemptDuval County Tax Collector · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Florida Statutes section 605.0213 — Division of Corporations fees for limited liability companiesThe Florida Senate · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Florida Statutes section 607.0122 — Division of Corporations fees for corporationsThe Florida Senate · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Florida Statutes section 607.193 — annual supplemental corporate fee of $88.75 and the $400 late charge after 1 MayThe Florida Senate · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Florida Statutes section 212.18 — registration for sales and use tax; the former $5 registration fee no longer appearsThe Florida Senate · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Florida Business Tax Application, Form DR-1 (R. 01/26)Florida Department of Revenue · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Florida Administrative Code rules 61G5-24.005 and 61G5-24.009 — cosmetology salon licence and biennial renewal feesFlorida Department of State, Administrative Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Florida Administrative Code rules 61G3-20.003, 61G3-20.0035 and 61G3-20.010 — barbershop application, original licence and biennial renewal feesFlorida Department of State, Administrative Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Florida Statutes chapter 205, Local Business Taxes — county and municipal authority to levy a business tax receiptThe Florida Senate · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
- All permits in Jacksonville
- Salons and barbers — national overview
- Salons and barbers in Fort Worth, TX
- Salons and barbers in Grand Prairie, TX
- Salons and barbers in Arlington, TX
- Salons and barbers in San Antonio, TX
- Salons and barbers in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Jacksonville
- Childcare centres in Jacksonville
- Coffee shops in Jacksonville
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
