Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Stamford?

In short

A childcare centre in Stamford, CT has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Stamford, Office of the Town Clerk charges $20 one-time filing; a later renewal, amendment or cancellation filing is priced identically at $20 under the same statute for the trade name (dba) certificate. 2 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Stamford

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Child Care Facility Zoning Permit / Special PermitCity of Stamford Land Use Bureau / Zoning BoardNo feeone-time, per facility (renewal conditions for a Special Permit use, if any, are set by the Zoning Board and were not confirmed)2026-09-09
Child Care Facility Health Department Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Stamford, Department of HealthNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Child Care Facility Fire Marshal ReviewCity of Stamford Fire Marshal's OfficeNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Child Care LicenseConnecticut Office of Early Childhood, Division of LicensingFee not published — the Office of Early Childhood's application and fee pages could not be reached, so no dollar amount is recorded here rather than guessedrenewed through the state's elicense.ct.gov portal2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Stamford

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Trade Name (DBA) Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Stamford, Office of the Town Clerk$20 one-time filing; a later renewal, amendment or cancellation filing is priced identically at $20 under the same statutenot stated (Connecticut law does not set a fixed expiration for the certificate itself)2026-09-09
Certificate of Occupancy / Certificate of CompletionCity of Stamford Building Department (Land Use Bureau)No feeone-time, no expiration2026-09-09
Fire Alarm System / Fire Suppression System Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Stamford Fire Marshal's OfficeNo feeone-time, per system installed2026-09-09
General Business License — City of Stamford Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Stamford — Business InformationNo feenot applicable2026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Stamford Building Department (Land Use Bureau)No feeone-time, per project2026-09-09
Zoning Permit / Special PermitCity of Stamford Land Use Bureau / Zoning BoardNo feeone-time, per project2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

CT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division$250 one-time filing for a stock corporation authorising up to 20,000 shares; a nonstock corporation is $50perpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division$120 one-time filing, including appointment of the statutory agentperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the CT pageannual — an LLC files online between 1 January and 31 March2026-09-04
General Business License — Connecticut position (licensing by activity)only if it applies to youConnecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services DivisionNo feeset by the specific license a business actually needs2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Stamford?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a childcare centre in Stamford, CT, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

2 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 9 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Child Care License: Fee not published — the Office of Early Childhood's application and fee pages could not be reached, so no dollar amount is recorded here rather than guessed

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Stamford permits page and the CT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Stamford?

Permits for a childcare centre in Stamford, CT come from 8 separate offices: City of Stamford, Office of the Town Clerk, City of Stamford Land Use Bureau / Zoning Board, City of Stamford, Department of Health, City of Stamford Fire Marshal's Office, City of Stamford Building Department (Land Use Bureau), City of Stamford — Business Information, Connecticut Secretary of the State, Business Services Division, Connecticut Office of Early Childhood, Division of Licensing. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Stamford that other businesses do not?

4 of the 4 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Stamford: Child Care Facility Zoning Permit / Special Permit, Child Care Facility Health Department Review, Child Care Facility Fire Marshal Review and Child Care License.

Child Care Facility Zoning Permit / Special Permit

Per the Land Use Bureau's own Child Care Permitting Guide, an as-of-right project needs only a staff-level Zoning Permit, while other configurations need Zoning Board Special Permit review — read the guide's own zoning-regulations reference to determine which applies to a specific location and facility size before assuming the cheaper, faster path. The guide's fee is not published for either path. A pre-application meeting with Zoning, Building, the Fire Marshal, Transportation, WPCA and Health together can be requested before filing.

Child Care Facility Health Department Review

The guide states plainly that Health Department review is required 'only ... for Group Day Care Homes and Child Day Care Centers' — not for a Family Day Care Home serving up to six children out of a private residence. This is additional to, and separate from, the Connecticut Office of Early Childhood's state license recorded at the state layer and from the zoning and fire reviews recorded separately here. No fee figure is published for this review.

Child Care Facility Fire Marshal Review

The guide details egress, exit-signage and life-safety-system requirements the Fire Marshal reviews against the applicable fire code for a child care facility, on top of the zoning and (where applicable) health reviews recorded separately here. No fee figure is published for this review; confirm directly with the Fire Marshal's Office ((203) 977-4651).

Child Care License

Connecticut licenses child care centres, group child care homes and family child care homes through the Office of Early Childhood, and renewal runs through the state's elicense.ct.gov portal — that much is confirmed directly from the agency's own site structure. The fee schedule itself is not recorded here: repeated attempts to reach the licensing division's application and fee pages were blocked, and rather than estimate a number this record states plainly that none could be verified. Confirm the current fee directly with the Office of Early Childhood before budgeting for it.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Stamford, CT; what each one involves is set out on the Stamford permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CT and are covered on the CT state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Stamford?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Child Care Facility Zoning Permit / Special Permit, Child Care Facility Health Department Review, Child Care Facility Fire Marshal Review and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Sign Permit, Auto Repair Zoning Review — City of Stamford Position and Repairer's License, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Stamford, CT, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3043
Coffee shops4044
Contractors and trades5045
Fitness studios1041
Food trucks3043
Restaurants4044
Retail stores1041
Salons and barbers4044
Veterinary clinics3043

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Stamford permits page and the CT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Stamford Child Care Permitting Guide (2025) — interdepartmental review process for Family/Group Day Care Homes and Day Care CentersCity of Stamford, Land Use Bureau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. Connecticut Office of Early Childhood — licensing structure and the elicense.ct.gov renewal portalConnecticut Office of Early Childhood · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.