Commercial Compliance Hub

Stamford

City of Stamford, Department of Health

In short

City of Stamford, Department of Health issues 6 permits we publish for Stamford, last verified 2026-09-09. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Child Care Facility Health Department Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Stamford, Department of HealthNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Massage Establishment LicenseCity of Stamford, Department of HealthNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Mobile Food Vendor / Food Truck LicenseCity of Stamford, Department of HealthNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Veterinary Clinic Licensing — City of Stamford Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Stamford, Department of HealthNo feenot applicable2026-09-09
Hairdresser / Cosmetology / Barber Shop LicenseCity of Stamford, Department of HealthNo feeannual — renews on or before July 1 each year2026-09-09
Food Establishment LicenseCity of Stamford, Department of HealthNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Child Care Facility Health Department Review

The guide states plainly that Health Department review is required 'only ... for Group Day Care Homes and Child Day Care Centers' — not for a Family Day Care Home serving up to six children out of a private residence. This is additional to, and separate from, the Connecticut Office of Early Childhood's state license recorded at the state layer and from the zoning and fire reviews recorded separately here. No fee figure is published for this review.

Massage Establishment License

A separate pathway from the station-banded Chapter 141 license above: the Department of Health lists a distinct Massage Plan Review Application and Massage License Application. Its fee, term length and ordinance citation are not published on the City's Massage Establishment Forms page; confirm directly with the Department of Health ((203) 977-5833) before opening.

Mobile Food Vendor / Food Truck License

A food truck operating in Stamford likely clears two separate City requirements: the Department of Health's food establishment licensing (which the City's own portal describes as covering 'food establishment and retail licenses' generally, without a separate food-truck category page found) and, for vending on City streets or property, a Street Vendor Permit from the Cashiering & Permitting Department ((203) 977-4979). The fee is not published by either office for either piece; confirm both directly before operating.

Veterinary Clinic Licensing — City of Stamford Position

The City's Business page and permitting portal list no veterinary-, animal-hospital-, kennel- or pet-specific license category, and Code of Ordinances Chapter 141 (personal-care establishments) and Chapter 123 (Fees) name no veterinary category, so the City charges no fee for a veterinary license; a clinic's local costs are the general building, zoning and (if applicable) sign requirements recorded above, on top of Connecticut's veterinary practice framework recorded at the state layer, which licenses only the individual practitioner. Confirm with the Department of Health ((203) 977-5833) for a clinic that also boards or grooms animals.

Hairdresser / Cosmetology / Barber Shop License

Covers barber, hairdressing/beauty (cosmetology) and, per the City's own service directory, nail salon establishments licensed by the Department of Health under Chapter 141, banded by number of stations rather than a single flat fee. The license renews annually by July 1 and its fee bundles in one scheduled inspection. Section 141-4(C)(1), read directly against the current code, gives the criteria as a bare table — 'Number of Stations: 1 to 5 / 6 to 10 / Over 10' — with no dollar figure beside any band, adding only that 'license fees shall be set by the Board of Representatives by resolution.' The per-band dollar amount set by that resolution is not published on the City's Business or Department of Health pages; confirm the current per-band amount with the Department of Health ((203) 977-5833) before budgeting. This is a real, distinct local license, structurally similar to Bridgeport's own personal-services scheme but priced differently.

Food Establishment License

Connecticut delegates food service licensing entirely to local health authorities (recorded at the state layer), and Stamford runs its own Department of Health rather than a regional district (see file header) — so this is the genuine local licensing authority. Unlike Bridgeport, whose Environmental Health Division publishes a class-and-floor-area fee table directly, Stamford's food establishment license fee is not published on the Department of Health's pages; confirm current pricing and license classes directly with the Department of Health ((203) 977-5833).

Contact

Jurisdiction
Stamford
Phone
(203) 977-5833

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Cashiering & Permitting Department — street vendor permits and other City property use permitsCity of Stamford · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. Code of Ordinances, Chapter 141, Hairdressers and Cosmeticians (version dated August 19, 2026, read directly via a rendered fetch after a plain request returned only a client-side shell) — section 141-4(C)(1)'s own station-count table (1 to 5, 6 to 10, over 10) carries no dollar figure, stating instead that license fees are set by the Board of Representatives by resolutionCity of Stamford · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
  3. Hairdresser/Cosmetology/Barber Shop License application — Code of Ordinances Chapter 141, station-count fee bands, July 1 annual renewal (dollar figures not shown)City of Stamford, Department of Health (hosted on ViewPoint Cloud, a third-party permitting platform) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  4. Information on a Barber / Beauty / Cosmetology Shop LicenseCity of Stamford · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  5. Massage Establishment Forms — Massage Plan Review Application and Massage License ApplicationCity of Stamford, Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  6. Permits & Licenses portal home page — confirms a Department of Health category for food establishment and retail licensesCity of Stamford (hosted on ViewPoint Cloud, a third-party permitting platform) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  7. Stamford Child Care Permitting Guide (2025) — interdepartmental review process for Family/Group Day Care Homes and Day Care CentersCity of Stamford, Land Use Bureau · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09

Other offices serving Stamford

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Connecticut jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.