Converse
City of Converse Building Operations
In short
City of Converse Building Operations issues 8 permits we publish for Converse, last verified 2026-08-26. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Converse Building Operations | $100 base fee at $1,000 of valuation or less. Above that the adopted code reads as a percentage of valuation plus the base fee — 75% to $50,000, then 70%, 65% and 60% through bands ending at $100,000, $500,000 and above — which taken literally would put a $50,000 fit-out at $37,600. Confirm the worked figure with Building Operations before budgeting; the percentage is quoted here exactly as the adopted code states it | 365 days for a commercial permit | 2026-08-26 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Converse Building Operations | $250 per certificate, non-refundable | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-26 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Converse Building Operations | $75–$100 initial, then annual renewal | 1 year | 2026-08-26 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Converse Building Operations | $50–$200 per sign | per permit | 2026-08-26 |
| Fuel Tank and Pump Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Converse Building Operations | $25–$100 per tank or per pump | per permit | 2026-08-26 |
| Commercial Trade Permit | City of Converse Building Operations | $150–$400 per permit, by trade and scope | per permit | 2026-08-26 |
| Site Development Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Converse Building Operations | $2,000 per permit | per permit | 2026-08-26 |
| Grease Trap, Interceptor or Separator Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Converse Building Operations | $100 each | per permit | 2026-08-26 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Commercial Building Permit
The base fee of $100 up to $1,000 of valuation is unambiguous. Above that the adopted code sets the fee as a percentage of valuation — 75 per cent to $50,000, then 70, 65 and 60 per cent — plus the base fee, exactly as codified. Taken literally a $50,000 fit-out would cost $37,600 to permit, which is not a rate any Texas city charges and not what the descending percentages across rising bands suggest was meant. This has been re-read against the current code, amended by Ordinance No. 620-08-2026 on 3 February 2026 and stamped by Municode as in force on 19 August 2026: the wording is unchanged, so the anomaly sits in the adopted text itself, not in an out-of-date copy of it. This record states the percentage exactly as the code prints it and directs a reader to Building Operations for the worked figure, rather than substituting a multiplier the ordinance does not state. What is firm and worth planning around: plan review is 50 per cent of the building permit fee on top, a third or later review submittal adds a further 25 per cent of the plan review fee, an expedited review is 150 per cent, an administrative surcharge of $25 or 5 per cent whichever is greater applies to every fee in the chapter, starting work without a permit costs $250 plus double the calculated fee, occupying without a certificate of occupancy is $500 for every day, and a commercial permit expires 365 days after issue.
Certificate of Occupancy
$250 and expressly non-refundable, with the certificate of occupancy inspection charged separately at $100. The penalty is the number to note: failing to obtain a certificate costs $500 for every day the unit is occupied, which is the steepest daily occupancy penalty in this dataset and turns a few weeks of trading without one into five figures. Reinspection runs $100 for the first failure, $150 for the second and $500 for each one after.
Contractor Registration
$100 to register and $75 to renew, covering residential, commercial, home improvement, sign, fence, swimming pool and house or building mover contractors alike. Every state-licensed trade registers free — master electrician, plumber, HVAC, irrigator and backflow tester all at $0 — so the fee falls on the trades Texas does not license. A home improvement or general contractor must also file a $5,000 surety bond with the building department, and a commercial building or sign contractor must show general liability cover of $500,000 per occurrence and $1m in aggregate.
Sign Permit
$200 per sign, and $50 for a portable or temporary one. At $200 a sign this is the dearest per-sign rate recorded here — twice Allen's illuminated rate and eighteen times Wichita Falls' small on-premises sign — and it is charged per sign rather than per frontage, so a unit with a wall sign and a monument sign pays $400. A sign contractor must hold the city's contractor registration as well.
Fuel Tank and Pump Permit
$100 per fuel tank and $25 for each fuel pump, listed among the plumbing permits. A forecourt with two tanks and six dispensers therefore pays $350 before anything else. Medical gas, which a veterinary practice may need, is $200 on the same table.
Commercial Trade Permit
Commercial repair, replacement or system expansion is $150 per building for plumbing, electrical and mechanical alike. New commercial work is priced per building type: $400 for a shell, $300 for a tenant space, and $200 plus $100 per unit for a hotel or motel. New commercial or multifamily mechanical is $200 per HVAC unit, so a restaurant with three roof units pays $600 on that line alone. The first inspection is included in the permit fee; after-hours inspection is $200 per trade, and failing to schedule an inspection costs $200 per trade for every day it is outstanding.
Site Development Permit
$2,000, with the review cost structured to reward getting it right first time: the first plan review is free, the second $500 and the third and each one beyond $750. Project meetings work the same way — the first is free and every one after $350. A commercial zoning verification letter is $500, which is dear but is the cheapest way to confirm a use is permitted before spending the $2,000. An administrative surcharge of $25 or five per cent, whichever is greater, is added to every fee in the chapter.
Grease Trap, Interceptor or Separator Permit
$100 for each trap, interceptor or separator, charged under the plumbing permit table rather than as a health fee — which is where most operators fail to look for it. The wording covers a grease trap in a kitchen and an oil or sand separator in a repair shop equally. A septic tank or drain field permit verification is $25 each.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Converse
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Converse Code of Ordinances Chapter 8, Buildings and Building Regulations, section 8-103 fee schedule (re-enacted by Ord. No. 620-08-2025, adopted 6 May 2025; amended by Ord. No. 620-08-2026, adopted 3 February 2026; Municode version in force 19 August 2026)City of Converse · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
Other offices serving Converse
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
