Carrollton
City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division
In short
City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division issues 5 permits we publish for Carrollton, last verified 2026-08-24. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Food Establishment Permit for Change of Ownershiponly if it applies to you | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $75 per 14 days | 14 days | 2026-08-24 |
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $100–$150 per year, operator or vendor | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $45 per hour, two-hour minimum | per reinspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $250–$770 per year, by establishment type | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Certification | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $10 per certification | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Temporary Food Establishment Permit for Change of Ownership
$75 for fourteen days. This is the bridge permit that lets a business keep trading between contracts exchanging and the new owner's own permit issuing — a fortnight, not indefinitely. If a sale is going to take longer than two weeks to settle, ask the division what happens on day fifteen before you complete.
Farmers Market Permit
Two permits, not one: the market operator pays $150 a year and each concession vendor pays $100 a year. If you run the market you need the operator permit; if you have a stall at it you need the vendor permit; if you do both you need both. Special event food sales are charged separately at $50 per food vendor.
Food Establishment Reinspection Fee
Charged by the hour with a two-hour minimum, so the floor is $90 and there is no ceiling. Most cities in this dataset charge a flat reinspection fee — Garland $200, McKinney $200, Brazos County $100 — and a flat fee is predictable in a way an hourly one is not. Applies where an establishment fails to meet code standards at first inspection.
Food Establishment Permit
Priced by what the premises is, and the ranking is not the one most operators expect: a retail food store is $770 a year, heavy food preparation $450, light food preparation $370 and no food preparation $250. A grocery therefore pays roughly seventy per cent more than a full kitchen. Each additional food service, food store or vending operation inside a structure that already holds a heavy or light preparation permit is a further $320 a year, so a hotel with a restaurant and a lobby shop is paying twice. The establishment types are defined in the Carrollton Food Establishment Policy rather than in the fee schedule, so check which one your site falls into before budgeting. Chapter 31 took effect on 1 October 2025 but the schedule notes that these food permit fees were implemented on 1 January 2026.
Food Handler Certification
$10 for the state-accredited food handlers certification. The city also runs its own on-site food service worker class at $80 per class, which is the option worth considering when you are training a whole shift rather than one new hire. The schedule does not state how long a certification lasts; Texas food handler certificates generally run two years, but confirm with the division rather than relying on that.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Carrollton
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Carrollton Code of Ordinances Chapter 31, Comprehensive Fee Schedule, effective 1 October 2025 — Environmental Quality Division extract filed with Texas DSHS 27 October 2025City of Carrollton, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
