Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Salem?

In short

A salon or barber in Salem, OR has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division charges $200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancy for the fire operational use permit. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Salem

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Operational Use Permitonly if it applies to youSalem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division$200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancynot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Sign PermitCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application CenterFY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225.one-time per permanent sign permit; temporary sign permits (banner/balloon/pennant/bundle) are valid for one month2026-09-09
Cosmetology Facility LicenseOregon Health Licensing Office, Board of Cosmetology$295 to open, being a $140 application and $155 for the first year; $155 a year after that1 year — the facility renews annually even though practitioners renew biennially2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Salem

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Occupancy / Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center$150 Temporary Certificate of Occupancy (TCO) only — per building, per phase, for a 30-day periodone-time per issuance; a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is valid for 30 days and can be extended in writing before it expires2026-09-09
Land Use Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center$379 flat — 'Land Use Verification, All Others' (FY2027 adopted rate); a government-agency requester other than the Department of Education pays $380, and a Department of Education requester pays $222one-time, per request2026-09-09
Commercial Building PermitCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application CenterVaries — formula on the Salem pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Fire Life Safety Plan ReviewSalem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction DivisionVaries — formula on the Salem pageone-time, per project (tied to the building permit)2026-09-09
General Business License — City of Salem Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application CenterNo feenot applicable2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

OR registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business Identification Number (payroll)only if it applies to youOregon Department of RevenueNo feeone-time registration, with quarterly reporting after that2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youOregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Corporate Activity Tax Registrationonly if it applies to youOregon Department of RevenueNo feeone-time registration, with annual returns after that2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youOregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youOregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division$100 a year for a domestic entity; $275 for a foreign oneannual — due on the anniversary of the original filing date2026-09-03
Seller's Permit — Oregon positiononly if it applies to youOregon Department of RevenueNo feenot applicable2026-09-03
General Business License — Oregon position (local, not state)only if it applies to youOregon Secretary of State, Corporation DivisionNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Salem?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a salon or barber in Salem, OR, 4 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $295.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: FY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Salem permits page and the OR state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Salem?

Permits for a salon or barber in Salem, OR come from 5 separate offices: Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center, Oregon Department of Revenue, Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division, Oregon Health Licensing Office, Board of Cosmetology. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Salem that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Salem: Cosmetology Facility License.

Cosmetology Facility License

Two traps here produce wrong answers. Oregon licenses facilities, not salons — the statutory term is facility, defined as an establishment operated on a regular or irregular basis to provide services in one or more fields of practice. And the figure the state's own license directory returns first for cosmetology, $45 for two years, is the practitioner's certificate, not the premises: the facility runs on a one-year cycle at $155, with a $140 application fee the first time, so $295 to open. The license holder must be a natural person aged eighteen or over, and where the applicant is a company that company must be properly formed under Oregon law — so the Secretary of State registration comes first. Each location needs its own license. Practitioners must work in a licensed facility unless they hold a freelance authorisation or an independent contractor registration, each $140 a year plus an application fee. A temporary facility permit covering up to thirty consecutive days is $70 plus $140.

Shared with other businesses in Salem

  • Fire Operational Use Permit — Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, $200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancy, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center, FY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225., one-time per permanent sign permit; temporary sign permits (banner/balloon/pennant/bundle) are valid for one month. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Salem, OR; what each one involves is set out on the Salem permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OR and are covered on the OR state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Salem?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Cosmetology Facility License. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Salem, OR, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2210
Retail stores2210
Auto repair shops3211
Veterinary clinics3211
Coffee shops6214
Restaurants6214
Childcare centres3033
Contractors and trades2032
Food trucks4034

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Salem permits page and the OR state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Oregon Administrative Rule 817-040-0003 — Board of Cosmetology fee schedule, effective 1 July 2024Oregon Health Licensing Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  2. Oregon Health Licensing Office — cosmetology facility license application, showing the $295 total to openOregon Health Licensing Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.