Commercial Compliance Hub

18 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Salem?

In short

A restaurant in Salem, OR has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division charges $200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancy for the fire operational use permit. 5 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Salem

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Operational Use Permitonly if it applies to youSalem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division$200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancynot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Restaurant / Food Service Establishment License (Marion County)Marion County Health & Human Services, Environmental Health ServicesMarion County EHS fee schedule (as of January 1, 2026), by seating capacity: 0-15 seats $595; 16-50 seats $673; 51-150 seats $766; 151+ seats $853. Limited-service restaurant $341; Bed & breakfast $255; Benevolent restaurant $150. New-restaurant plan review is a separate one-time fee of $714 ($447 for a remodel). A reinspection or on-site consultation is billed at $179/hour. A $100 reinstatement fee is added if the license is unpaid after January 1, plus another $100 for each additional month it remains unpaid.annual — license year aligns with the calendar year; a reinstatement fee applies for late renewal after January 12026-09-09
Restaurant / Food Service Establishment License (Polk County, West Salem)only if it applies to youPolk County Community Development Department, Environmental Health DivisionNo feeannual — Polk County licenses food establishments annually with two semi-annual inspections2026-09-09
Sign PermitCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application CenterFY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225.one-time per permanent sign permit; temporary sign permits (banner/balloon/pennant/bundle) are valid for one month2026-09-09
Food Service Facility LicenseOregon Health Authority, Foodborne Illness Prevention Program$602–$1,545 a year, banded by seating in statewide brackets but priced by each countyone calendar year — renew by 1 January2026-09-03
Food Handler CardOregon Health Authority, Foodborne Illness Prevention Program$10 for three years; $5 to replace a lost card3 years2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Salem

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Occupancy / Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center$150 Temporary Certificate of Occupancy (TCO) only — per building, per phase, for a 30-day periodone-time per issuance; a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is valid for 30 days and can be extended in writing before it expires2026-09-09
Land Use Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center$379 flat — 'Land Use Verification, All Others' (FY2027 adopted rate); a government-agency requester other than the Department of Education pays $380, and a Department of Education requester pays $222one-time, per request2026-09-09
Commercial Building PermitCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application CenterVaries — formula on the Salem pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Fire Life Safety Plan ReviewSalem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction DivisionVaries — formula on the Salem pageone-time, per project (tied to the building permit)2026-09-09
General Business License — City of Salem Positiononly if it applies to youCity of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application CenterNo feenot applicable2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

OR registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business Identification Number (payroll)only if it applies to youOregon Department of RevenueNo feeone-time registration, with quarterly reporting after that2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youOregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Corporate Activity Tax Registrationonly if it applies to youOregon Department of RevenueNo feeone-time registration, with annual returns after that2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youOregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division$100 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youOregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division$100 a year for a domestic entity; $275 for a foreign oneannual — due on the anniversary of the original filing date2026-09-03
Seller's Permit — Oregon positiononly if it applies to youOregon Department of RevenueNo feenot applicable2026-09-03
General Business License — Oregon position (local, not state)only if it applies to youOregon Secretary of State, Corporation DivisionNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Salem?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a restaurant in Salem, OR, 6 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $10.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Restaurant / Food Service Establishment License (Marion County): Marion County EHS fee schedule (as of January 1, 2026), by seating capacity: 0-15 seats $595; 16-50 seats $673; 51-150 seats $766; 151+ seats $853. Limited-service restaurant $341; Bed & breakfast $255; Benevolent restaurant $150. New-restaurant plan review is a separate one-time fee of $714 ($447 for a remodel). A reinspection or on-site consultation is billed at $179/hour. A $100 reinstatement fee is added if the license is unpaid after January 1, plus another $100 for each additional month it remains unpaid.

Sign Permit: FY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225.

Food Service Facility License: $602–$1,545 a year, banded by seating in statewide brackets but priced by each county

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Salem permits page and the OR state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Salem?

Permits for a restaurant in Salem, OR come from 7 separate offices: Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center, Marion County Health & Human Services, Environmental Health Services, Polk County Community Development Department, Environmental Health Division, Oregon Department of Revenue, Oregon Health Authority, Foodborne Illness Prevention Program, Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Salem that other businesses do not?

Food Handler Card

Ten dollars for three years, and unlike most states this is a genuine legal duty on the worker rather than something an employer may choose to require: every food service worker must obtain one within thirty days of starting work. Two details matter for anyone hiring. A card issued by any Oregon county is valid across the whole state, so a worker moving between counties need not re-test. But a card from another state carries no reciprocity at all — an experienced food worker arriving from Washington or California must sit the Oregon test like anyone else. Testing runs through the county environmental health office or an approved provider, and a replacement card costs $5.

Shared with other businesses in Salem

  • Fire Operational Use Permit — Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, $200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancy, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Restaurant / Food Service Establishment License (Marion County) — Marion County Health & Human Services, Environmental Health Services, Marion County EHS fee schedule (as of January 1, 2026), by seating capacity: 0-15 seats $595; 16-50 seats $673; 51-150 seats $766; 151+ seats $853. Limited-service restaurant $341; Bed & breakfast $255; Benevolent restaurant $150. New-restaurant plan review is a separate one-time fee of $714 ($447 for a remodel). A reinspection or on-site consultation is billed at $179/hour. A $100 reinstatement fee is added if the license is unpaid after January 1, plus another $100 for each additional month it remains unpaid., annual — license year aligns with the calendar year; a reinstatement fee applies for late renewal after January 1. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Restaurant / Food Service Establishment License (Polk County, West Salem) — Polk County Community Development Department, Environmental Health Division, No fee, annual — Polk County licenses food establishments annually with two semi-annual inspections. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center, FY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225., one-time per permanent sign permit; temporary sign permits (banner/balloon/pennant/bundle) are valid for one month. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Service Facility License — Oregon Health Authority, Foodborne Illness Prevention Program, $602–$1,545 a year, banded by seating in statewide brackets but priced by each county, one calendar year — renew by 1 January. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Salem, OR; what each one involves is set out on the Salem permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OR and are covered on the OR state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Salem?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Salem, OR need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Salem, OR, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops6600
Fitness studios2240
Retail stores2240
Auto repair shops3241
Salons and barbers3241
Veterinary clinics3241
Food trucks4242
Childcare centres3063
Contractors and trades2062

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Salem permits page and the OR state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Oregon Health Authority — food handler card, $10 for three years and required within thirty days of starting workOregon Health Authority · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.