15 permits · verified 2026-09-09
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Salem?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Salem, OR has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division charges $200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancy for the fire operational use permit. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Salem
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Operational Use Permitonly if it applies to you | Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division | $200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancy | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Sign Permit | City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center | FY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225. | one-time per permanent sign permit; temporary sign permits (banner/balloon/pennant/bundle) are valid for one month | 2026-09-09 |
| Veterinary Facility Registration | Oregon Veterinary Medical Examining Board | $225 to register, and $225 to renew | periodic renewal set by board rule | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Salem
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy / Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center | $150 Temporary Certificate of Occupancy (TCO) only — per building, per phase, for a 30-day period | one-time per issuance; a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is valid for 30 days and can be extended in writing before it expires | 2026-09-09 |
| Land Use Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center | $379 flat — 'Land Use Verification, All Others' (FY2027 adopted rate); a government-agency requester other than the Department of Education pays $380, and a Department of Education requester pays $222 | one-time, per request | 2026-09-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center | Varies — formula on the Salem page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-09 |
| Fire Life Safety Plan Review | Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division | Varies — formula on the Salem page | one-time, per project (tied to the building permit) | 2026-09-09 |
| General Business License — City of Salem Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
OR registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Identification Number (payroll)only if it applies to you | Oregon Department of Revenue | No fee | one-time registration, with quarterly reporting after that | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-03 |
| Corporate Activity Tax Registrationonly if it applies to you | Oregon Department of Revenue | No fee | one-time registration, with annual returns after that | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division | $100 a year for a domestic entity; $275 for a foreign one | annual — due on the anniversary of the original filing date | 2026-09-03 |
| Seller's Permit — Oregon positiononly if it applies to you | Oregon Department of Revenue | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-03 |
| General Business License — Oregon position (local, not state)only if it applies to you | Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division | No fee | set by the city or county | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Salem?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Salem, OR, 4 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $225.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: FY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Salem permits page and the OR state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Salem?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Salem, OR come from 5 separate offices: Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center, Oregon Department of Revenue, Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division, Oregon Veterinary Medical Examining Board. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Operational Use Permit, Fire Life Safety Plan Review370 Trade St SE, Salem, OR 97301 · (503) 588-6245www.cityofsalem.net/community/safety/fire/community-risk-reduction
- City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application CenterIssues 5 permits on this page, including Certificate of Occupancy / Temporary Certificate of Occupancy, Land Use Verification Letter, Commercial Building Permit440 Church St SE, 5th Floor, Salem, OR 97301 (mailing: PO Box 14300, Salem, OR 97309-3986) · (503) 588-6256www.cityofsalem.net/business/building-in-salem
- Oregon Department of RevenueIssues 3 permits on this page: Business Identification Number (payroll), Corporate Activity Tax Registration, Seller's Permit — Oregon position955 Center Street NE, Salem, OR 97301 · (503) 945-8005www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/businesses/Pages/corporate-activity-tax.aspx
- Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Annual Report, General Business License — Oregon position (local, not state)255 Capitol Street NE, Suite 151, Salem, OR 97310 · (503) 986-2200sos.oregon.gov/business
- Oregon Veterinary Medical Examining BoardIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Registration800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 407, Portland, OR 97232 · (971) 673-0224www.oregon.gov/ovmeb/pages/applications.aspx
What does a veterinary clinic need in Salem that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Salem: Veterinary Facility Registration.
Veterinary Facility Registration
Oregon does register veterinary facilities, at $225 to register and the same $225 to renew — the same figure the board charges a veterinarian for an individual license. The detail that catches practices out is that a change of address or a change of ownership requires a new facility license rather than an amendment to the existing one, so a sale or a move is a fresh application. For context on the board's other fees, a certified veterinary technician pays $52.50 and a certified euthanasia technician $37.50, with the Oregon jurisprudence examination at $112.50. The renewal cycle and the precise set of facilities caught by the requirement are set by board rule rather than stated on the fee schedule, so confirm the renewal date with the board when you register.
Shared with other businesses in Salem
- Fire Operational Use Permit — Salem Fire Department, Community Risk Reduction Division, $200 per permit, one-hour minimum; $50 for each additional simultaneous permit at the same occupancy, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Sign Permit — City of Salem Community Planning and Development Department, Permit Application Center, FY2027 adopted rates. New lower tier for small non-illuminated signs: 0-24 sq ft $175, 24.01-32 sq ft $262. General/illuminated permanent sign: 0-32 sq ft $480 (plus $5.00/sq ft for each new electronic sign), 32.01 to under 50 sq ft $747, 50 to under 100 sq ft $1,336, 100 to under 200 sq ft $1,856, 200 to under 300 sq ft $2,191, 300 sq ft and greater $3,089. Sign Inspection Fee $282 each. Right-of-Way Sidewalk Sign $145 (no inspection requirement). Temporary signs (valid 1 month each): Banner $143, Balloon $143, Pennant $50, or a Temporary Sign Bundle (one banner + one pennant + one balloon) for $225., one-time per permanent sign permit; temporary sign permits (banner/balloon/pennant/bundle) are valid for one month. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Salem, OR; what each one involves is set out on the Salem permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OR and are covered on the OR state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Salem?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Salem permits page and the OR state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Oregon Veterinary Medical Examining Board — fee schedule, with facility registration at $225 initial and renewalOregon Veterinary Medical Examining Board · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
