14 permits · verified 2026-09-28
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Suffolk County?
In short
A contractor or trade in Suffolk County, NY has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs) charges $100 one-time, paid at initial license application and again at each renewal under Article II for the home improvement contractor restitution fund fee. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-28 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Suffolk County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Improvement Contractor License (Chapter 563, Article II) | Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs) | $200 application fee, plus a $200/year license fee on a 2-year (24-month) license cycle — $400 for the full term — reduced to $100/year ($200 for the full term) for a licensee with net income under $20,000. A salesman identification card costs $50/year. A temporary license costs $50. | 2 years (24-month cycle) | 2026-09-28 |
| Other Chapter 563 Licensed Trades (Home Appliance Repair, Painting, Sign Hangers) | Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs) | Suffolk County separately licenses Home Appliance Repair businesses (Art. III, §563-26-35), Commercial and Industrial Painting contractors (Art. VIII, §563-90-103), and Sign Hangers (Art. X, §563-119-124) under Chapter 563, each with its own license-fee schedule administered by Consumer Affairs. The Painting article's license-term section is codified at §563-95, but the specific fee amounts for these three articles are not stated in the Chapter 563 article listing cited here. | varies by trade article; contact Suffolk County Consumer Affairs for each article's term | 2026-09-28 |
| Home Improvement Contractor Restitution Fund Fee | Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs) | $100 one-time, paid at initial license application and again at each renewal under Article II | one-time payment, due at initial license application and again at each renewal | 2026-09-28 |
| Electricians and Plumbers License (Chapter 563, Article XI) | Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs) | Master's certificate: $200 initial, $400 biennial renewal. Restricted license: $100 initial, $200 biennial renewal. Electrical inspection agency: $200 initial, $400 biennial renewal. | 2 years | 2026-09-28 |
| Septic Industry Business License / 'Liquid Waste License' (Chapter 563, Article VII) | Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs) | License fee $200/year. Application fee $200, nonrefundable, waived for the first endorsement per 2-year license period. Endorsement fee $200 per endorsement. Duplicate license $25. Supplementary/additional-location license $50. Transfer/assignment $25. | 2 years, expiring at the end of the 24th month, renewable with 8-12 hours of continuing education depending on endorsement | 2026-09-28 |
| Swimming Pool Maintenance/Service Business Registration (Chapter 769) | Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs) | $100 a year | 2-year registration | 2026-09-28 |
| Contractor Licensing — Local Home Improvement Licenses, No State License (New York) | New York State Department of Labor | No fee | set by the licensing county or city | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Suffolk County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — Suffolk County positiononly if it applies to you | Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs) | No fee | not applicable — the county's Guide for Business lists no general county-wide business license | 2026-09-28 |
| Certificate of Business Name (D/B/A) Filingonly if it applies to you | Suffolk County Clerk | Varies — formula on the Suffolk County page | one-time filing; the county Guide for Business sets out no renewal step | 2026-09-28 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
NY registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code | $125 one-time filing | no expiry, but a biennial statement is due every two years | 2026-09-03 |
| Sales Tax Certificate of Authorityonly if it applies to you | New York State Department of Taxation and Finance | No fee — no fee — issued without charge by statute | a specified term of not less than three years, renewable at the Department's discretion | 2026-09-03 |
| Biennial Statementonly if it applies to you | New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code | $9 per filing, every two years | biennial | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code | $200 one-time filing | no expiry, but a biennial statement is due every two years | 2026-09-03 |
| Certificate of Publication (LLC) | New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code | $50 state filing fee only | one-time, due within 120 days of formation | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Suffolk County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a contractor or trade in Suffolk County, NY, 8 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $250.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Home Improvement Contractor License (Chapter 563, Article II): $200 application fee, plus a $200/year license fee on a 2-year (24-month) license cycle — $400 for the full term — reduced to $100/year ($200 for the full term) for a licensee with net income under $20,000. A salesman identification card costs $50/year. A temporary license costs $50.
Other Chapter 563 Licensed Trades (Home Appliance Repair, Painting, Sign Hangers): Suffolk County separately licenses Home Appliance Repair businesses (Art. III, §563-26-35), Commercial and Industrial Painting contractors (Art. VIII, §563-90-103), and Sign Hangers (Art. X, §563-119-124) under Chapter 563, each with its own license-fee schedule administered by Consumer Affairs. The Painting article's license-term section is codified at §563-95, but the specific fee amounts for these three articles are not stated in the Chapter 563 article listing cited here.
Electricians and Plumbers License (Chapter 563, Article XI): Master's certificate: $200 initial, $400 biennial renewal. Restricted license: $100 initial, $200 biennial renewal. Electrical inspection agency: $200 initial, $400 biennial renewal.
Septic Industry Business License / 'Liquid Waste License' (Chapter 563, Article VII): License fee $200/year. Application fee $200, nonrefundable, waived for the first endorsement per 2-year license period. Endorsement fee $200 per endorsement. Duplicate license $25. Supplementary/additional-location license $50. Transfer/assignment $25.
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Suffolk County permits page and the NY state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Suffolk County?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Suffolk County, NY come from 5 separate offices: Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs), Suffolk County Clerk, New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code, New York State Department of Taxation and Finance, New York State Department of Labor. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs)Issues 7 permits on this page, including Home Improvement Contractor License (Chapter 563, Article II), Other Chapter 563 Licensed Trades (Home Appliance Repair, Painting, Sign Hangers), General Business License — Suffolk County positionWilliam J. Lindsay County Complex, 725 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Smithtown, NY 11787 (also North County Complex, Bldg. 340, Hauppauge) · 631-853-4600www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/Consumer-Affairs
- Suffolk County ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: Certificate of Business Name (D/B/A) Filingwww.suffolkcountyny.gov
- New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial CodeIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Incorporation, Biennial Statement, Articles of Organization (LLC), Certificate of Publication (LLC)www.businessexpress.ny.gov
- New York State Department of Taxation and FinanceIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Certificate of Authoritywww.tax.ny.gov/bus/st/register.htm
- New York State Department of LaborIssues 1 permit on this page: Contractor Licensing — Local Home Improvement Licenses, No State License (New York)dol.ny.gov/how-register-contractor-and-subcontractor-registry
What does a contractor or trade need in Suffolk County that other businesses do not?
7 of the 7 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Suffolk County: Home Improvement Contractor License (Chapter 563, Article II), Other Chapter 563 Licensed Trades (Home Appliance Repair, Painting, Sign Hangers), Home Improvement Contractor Restitution Fund Fee and 4 more.
Home Improvement Contractor License (Chapter 563, Article II)
Anyone performing home improvement contracting on residential property in Suffolk County — repair, remodeling, alteration, conversion, modernization, home raising/elevating, and specifically including painting, carpentry, fencing, roofing, siding, pool construction/installation, landscaping, and arboriculture — must hold this Consumer Affairs license. Exemptions cover employees of licensed contractors (other than salesmen), licensed architects and professional engineers acting within their licensed scope, and retail/clerical/administrative employees. Scope is confirmed countywide, with no town/village exemption language found in Article II's text — a direct contrast with Article XI's Electricians and Plumbers municipal opt-out clause, listed separately. A separate, one-time $100 Home Improvement Contractor Restitution Fund fee also applies at licensure and renewal; it is codified in a different chapter (517, not 563) and is listed as its own requirement.
Other Chapter 563 Licensed Trades (Home Appliance Repair, Painting, Sign Hangers)
A general contracting business in Suffolk County may touch three further Chapter 563 trade licenses beyond Home Improvement Contractors (Art. II), Electricians and Plumbers (Art. XI), and Septic Industry Businesses (Art. VII), each listed as its own requirement: Home Appliance Repair (Art. III), Commercial and Industrial Painting (Art. VIII), and Sign Hangers (Art. X). Each article's section range within Chapter 563 is taken from the code's own full article listing, and the Painting article's license-term provision is codified at §563-95; the dollar fee amounts for these three trades are not stated in that article listing. A contractor practicing any of these three specific trades should contact Consumer Affairs directly, 631-853-4600, or review the relevant article on the county's code publisher, for the current license fee and term before applying.
Home Improvement Contractor Restitution Fund Fee
Every Home Improvement Contractor licensed or renewing under Chapter 563, Article II must also pay a one-time $100 Restitution Fund fee, on or after January 1, 1999. This fee is easy to mis-cite: it sits in Suffolk County Code §517-2B, inside Chapter 517 ('Home Improvement and Repair') — a wholly separate chapter from the Article II licensing provisions in Chapter 563 — not a subsection of Article II itself. The fund was created by Local Law No. 34-1987, with the $100 amount set later by Local Law No. 2-1999. This is a mandatory, fixed, one-time payment each time a Home Improvement Contractor license is issued or renewed, distinct from and in addition to the $200 application fee and the $200/year (or $100/year reduced-income) license fee listed under the Home Improvement Contractor License requirement.
Electricians and Plumbers License (Chapter 563, Article XI)
This license requires an applicant to show at least 7 years' experience within the past 10 years in the electrical or plumbing trade. Its reach is countywide EXCEPT within any town or village that had already enacted its own electrical/plumbing licensing law before the county law, or that enacts one afterward — Article XI's own text states this municipal-exemption clause directly, and several Suffolk towns are known to run their own electrical licensing boards under it. The county has not published a list of exactly which of the 10 towns or 30 villages currently maintain a competing local law, so a contractor should confirm directly with the specific town or village clerk where the work will be performed whether county or municipal electrical/plumbing licensing controls there, rather than assuming this county license alone is sufficient everywhere. This is a genuine structural contrast with the Septic Industry Businesses license (Article VII, listed separately), which carries no such municipal-exemption clause and applies countywide without exception.
Septic Industry Business License / 'Liquid Waste License' (Chapter 563, Article VII)
A business performing septic industry work in Suffolk County needs this 'Liquid Waste License,' priced at $200/year, plus a $200 nonrefundable application fee (waived for the first endorsement in a given 2-year period), $200 per additional endorsement, $25 for a duplicate license, $50 for a supplementary or additional-location license, and $25 to transfer or assign the license. The license runs for a 2-year term expiring at the end of the 24th month, with renewal requiring 8 to 12 hours of continuing education depending on the endorsement held. Its scope is confirmed COUNTYWIDE with NO municipal exemption clause: §563-78 exempts only government employees performing agency work, not any town or village generally — a confirmed structural contrast with Article XI's Electricians and Plumbers license, which does carry a municipal opt-out clause, listed separately.
Swimming Pool Maintenance/Service Business Registration (Chapter 769)
A business that services or maintains swimming pools — as distinct from a business that constructs or installs them, which falls instead under the Home Improvement Contractor license's pool-construction/installation coverage (Chapter 563, Article II, listed separately) — needs this separate Chapter 769 registration, codified outside Chapter 563 entirely but enforced by the same Consumer Affairs office. The registration costs $100 a year on a 2-year registration term and requires the business to hold a certificate such as an APSP Certified Maintenance Specialist credential or its equivalent. Operating a pool-maintenance/service business without this registration carries a penalty of up to $5,000 and up to one year's imprisonment. This requirement is drawn from a single-source retrieval (corroborated once, not yet independently re-confirmed a second time); the $100/year and 2-year figures should get a routine second check before being treated as permanently fixed, though the registration requirement itself is solidly established.
Contractor Licensing — Local Home Improvement Licenses, No State License (New York)
The Department of State's catalogue of licensed occupations lists thirty-six license types and no general or home improvement contractor license, so there is no state contractor license fee. Home improvement licensing is instead a local matter: the Attorney General's home improvement fact sheet states that 'Home improvement contractors must be licensed in New York City, Suffolk, Nassau, Westchester, Putnam, and Rockland counties.' Outside those places, check with the county or city for any local requirement. One state-level credential does exist but is narrower than it looks — the Department of Labor's Contractor and Subcontractor Registry, mandatory since 30 December 2024 for public work and certain covered private projects, at $200 for two years or $100 for a certified minority or woman-owned business. It is a registration for bidding on public work, not permission to trade.
The other 2 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Suffolk County, NY; what each one involves is set out on the Suffolk County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NY and are covered on the NY state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Suffolk County?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Home Improvement Contractor License (Chapter 563, Article II), Other Chapter 563 Licensed Trades (Home Appliance Repair, Painting, Sign Hangers), Home Improvement Contractor Restitution Fund Fee and 4 more. A auto repair shop needs Auto Repair Licensing — State DMV Registration Applies (Suffolk County), which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 7 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 0 | 7 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 0 | 7 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 0 | 7 | 5 |
| Retail stores | 5 | 0 | 7 | 5 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 0 | 7 | 4 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Suffolk County permits page and the NY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Suffolk County Code Chapter 563, Article II, 'Home Improvement Contractors' (§563-16-25) — §563-17 license requirement, §563-19 feesGeneral Code Publishing Corp. (ecode360.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Suffolk County Code Chapter 563, 'Licensed Occupations' — full article listing (Art. I-XI, exact section ranges)General Code Publishing Corp. (ecode360.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Suffolk County Code Chapter 563, Article I, 'Provisions Applicable to All Licenses' (§563-1-15.1)General Code Publishing Corp. (ecode360.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Unofficial third-party mirror of the Suffolk County Code, used only to corroborate §563-17, §563-19, and §563-95 (lower confidence than ecode360.com; corroboration only, never a sole citation)elaws.us · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Consumer Affairs Applications and Forms — hosts CA-L01a, the Home Improvement License Law application/guideSuffolk County Office of Consumer Affairs · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Suffolk County Code §517-2B (Chapter 517, 'Home Improvement and Repair') — Home Improvement Contractor Restitution Fund one-time $100 fee, fund created by L.L. No. 34-1987, fee set by L.L. No. 2-1999General Code Publishing Corp. (ecode360.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Suffolk County Code Chapter 563, Article XI, 'Electricians and Plumbers' (§563-125-140) — includes the municipal-exemption clauseGeneral Code Publishing Corp. (ecode360.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Suffolk County Code on ecode360.com — used here as the citation for Chapter 563, Article VII ('Septic Industry Businesses,' full text and fee schedule, corroborated across two independent fetches), and as the general code-library reference for Chapter 542 ('Item Pricing') and Chapter 700 ('Restaurants and Food Service Establishments'), whose individual chapter URLs were not separately captured; only Chapter 700's table of contents, not its full article text, was retrievedGeneral Code Publishing Corp. (ecode360.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Suffolk County Code Chapter 769, Swimming Pool Maintenance/Service Business RegistrationGeneral Code Publishing Corp. (ecode360.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- New York Attorney General — home improvement contractors must be licensed in New York City, Suffolk, Nassau, Westchester, Putnam and Rockland countiesOffice of the New York State Attorney General · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- New York Department of State — the complete catalogue of licensed occupations, which contains no general or home improvement contractor licenseNew York State Department of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
