Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-28

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Suffolk County?

In short

A salon or barber in Suffolk County, NY has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code charges $125 one-time filing for the certificate of incorporation. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-28 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Suffolk County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Salon / Cosmetology Licensing — State License Applies (Suffolk County)only if it applies to youSuffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs)No feenot applicable2026-09-28
Body Art Establishment Permit and Body-Artist Certificationonly if it applies to youSuffolk County Dept. of Health Services (SCDHS), Bureau of Public Health ProtectionSCDHS's Bureau of Public Health Protection operates a Body Art Establishment permit program, covering tattooing, piercing, and related body-art services, requiring both an establishment permit and body-artist certification. The program's fee and permit term are not stated on the Bureau's program page cited here.not stated on the Bureau program page; contact SCDHS Bureau of Public Health Protection2026-09-28
Appearance Enhancement Business LicenseNew York State Department of State, Division of Licensing Services$60 per four-year license4 years2026-09-03
Barber Shop Owner LicenseNew York State Department of State, Division of Licensing Services$60 per four-year license4 years2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Suffolk County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Suffolk County positiononly if it applies to youSuffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs)No feenot applicable — the county's Guide for Business lists no general county-wide business license2026-09-28
Certificate of Business Name (D/B/A) Filingonly if it applies to youSuffolk County ClerkVaries — formula on the Suffolk County pageone-time filing; the county Guide for Business sets out no renewal step2026-09-28

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNew York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code$125 one-time filingno expiry, but a biennial statement is due every two years2026-09-03
Sales Tax Certificate of Authorityonly if it applies to youNew York State Department of Taxation and FinanceNo fee — no fee — issued without charge by statutea specified term of not less than three years, renewable at the Department's discretion2026-09-03
Biennial Statementonly if it applies to youNew York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code$9 per filing, every two yearsbiennial2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNew York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code$200 one-time filingno expiry, but a biennial statement is due every two years2026-09-03
Certificate of Publication (LLC)New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code$50 state filing fee onlyone-time, due within 120 days of formation2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Suffolk County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a salon or barber in Suffolk County, NY, 3 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $170.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Body Art Establishment Permit and Body-Artist Certification: SCDHS's Bureau of Public Health Protection operates a Body Art Establishment permit program, covering tattooing, piercing, and related body-art services, requiring both an establishment permit and body-artist certification. The program's fee and permit term are not stated on the Bureau's program page cited here.

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Suffolk County permits page and the NY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Suffolk County?

Permits for a salon or barber in Suffolk County, NY come from 6 separate offices: Suffolk County Office/Division of Consumer Affairs (Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Consumer Affairs), Suffolk County Dept. of Health Services (SCDHS), Bureau of Public Health Protection, Suffolk County Clerk, New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code, New York State Department of Taxation and Finance, New York State Department of State, Division of Licensing Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Suffolk County that other businesses do not?

4 of the 4 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Suffolk County: Salon / Cosmetology Licensing — State License Applies (Suffolk County), Body Art Establishment Permit and Body-Artist Certification, Appearance Enhancement Business License and Barber Shop Owner License.

Salon / Cosmetology Licensing — State License Applies (Suffolk County)

No fee applies at the county level. The county's own 'Guide for Business' names 'beauty shops' as needing a New York State permit, in the same sentence that lists auto repair shops, food establishments, and day care centers as state-permitted, and its list of Suffolk County licensed occupations names no salon category; Chapter 563's 11-article licensed-occupations list likewise names no hair, nail, or skin salon. Cosmetology, barbering, nail specialty, and esthetics licensing is a New York State Dept. of State function. A salon offering tattooing, piercing, or other body art needs a separate, conditional SCDHS Body Art Establishment permit, listed as its own requirement — that permit is not a substitute for or equivalent to state cosmetology licensing, and applies only to the body-art side of a business, not to ordinary hair, nail, or skin services.

Body Art Establishment Permit and Body-Artist Certification

A salon or standalone shop offering tattooing, piercing, or other body art services in Suffolk County needs this permit from SCDHS, in addition to any body-artist certification the individual performing the work must hold — a program run separately from both the standard Food Establishment Permit and from state cosmetology licensing. The program operates under the Suffolk County Sanitary Code and is administered by the Bureau of Public Health Protection; its dollar fee amount and permit term are not published on the Bureau's program page. A business planning to offer body-art services should contact SCDHS Bureau of Public Health Protection directly, 631-852-5999, for the current fee and term before applying, rather than assuming it matches the Food Establishment Permit's fee structure.

Appearance Enhancement Business License

$60 for four years — among the cheapest salon licenses in the country on an annual basis, and the same $60 to renew. It covers cosmetology, esthetics, nail specialty, natural hair styling and waxing premises. The fee is not the constraint; the bonding is. A nail specialty business must carry accidental and professional liability cover of at least $25,000 per occurrence and $75,000 in aggregate, plus a surety bond scaled to headcount: $25,000 for two to five full-time-equivalent nail workers, $40,000 for six to ten, $75,000 for eleven to twenty-five and $125,000 for twenty-six or more. A barber shop is licensed separately under a different article at the same $60.

Barber Shop Owner License

$60 for four years, needed by anyone who owns, controls or operates a barber shop — as sole proprietor, partner, shareholder or officer. Separate from the individual barber license, which is $40 plus a $15 practical examination fee. The rule that catches shops out: a licensed operator working in the shop who is not employed by the owner counts as an independent contractor and needs their own Area Renter license, so a chair-rental model means several licenses rather than one.

The other 2 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Suffolk County, NY; what each one involves is set out on the Suffolk County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NY and are covered on the NY state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Suffolk County?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon / Cosmetology Licensing — State License Applies (Suffolk County), Body Art Establishment Permit and Body-Artist Certification, Appearance Enhancement Business License and Barber Shop Owner License. A auto repair shop needs Auto Repair Licensing — State DMV Registration Applies (Suffolk County), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Suffolk County, NY, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops1041
Childcare centres3043
Coffee shops5045
Contractors and trades7047
Fitness studios2042
Food trucks5045
Restaurants5045
Retail stores5045
Veterinary clinics2042

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Suffolk County permits page and the NY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Suffolk County Code Chapter 563, 'Licensed Occupations' — full article listing (Art. I-XI, exact section ranges)General Code Publishing Corp. (ecode360.com) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  2. 'Guide for Business, Suffolk County' (Suffolk County Dept. of Economic Development & Planning), mirrored on a Suffolk town's own site — states town/village licensing is separate from the county, names auto repair shops, beauty shops, food establishments, and day care centers as NYS-permitted, and lists appliance repair shops, auctioneers, contractors, electricians, plumbers, precious metal dealers, and secondhand dealers as the county-licensed occupationsSuffolk County Dept. of Economic Development & Planning (via Town of Babylon) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  3. Bureau of Public Health Protection — parent bureau page for the Food Protection Unit, Tobacco Control, Body Art, and Children's Camp programsSuffolk County Dept. of Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  4. New York Department of State — Appearance Enhancement Business licenseNew York State Department of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  5. New York General Business Law section 409 — appearance enhancement business license fee of sixty dollars for a four-year periodNew York State Senate · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  6. New York Department of State — Barber Shop Owner and Area Renter licenseNew York State Department of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.