Commercial Compliance Hub

8 permits · verified 2026-10-05

What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Orange County Ny?

In short

A contractor or trade in Orange County Ny, NY has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code charges $125 one-time filing for the certificate of incorporation. 2 of the 8 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-05 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Orange County Ny

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Electrical License (Local Law No. 11 of 2013)Orange County Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & MeasuresThe fee is set under Local Law No. 11 of 2013. No dollar amount is stated for this license in this entry; contact the Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & Measures for the current fee.set under Local Law No. 11 of 2013; contact the Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & Measures for the current term2026-10-05
Individual Sewage System Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youOrange County Department of Health, Division of Environmental Health$450–$650 per system: $450 for a system under 1,000 gallons per day; $650 for a system at or above 1,000 gallons per daynot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-05
Contractor Licensing — Local Home Improvement Licenses, No State License (New York)New York State Department of LaborNo feeset by the licensing county or city2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNew York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code$125 one-time filingno expiry, but a biennial statement is due every two years2026-09-03
Sales Tax Certificate of Authorityonly if it applies to youNew York State Department of Taxation and FinanceNo fee — no fee — issued without charge by statutea specified term of not less than three years, renewable at the Department's discretion2026-09-03
Biennial Statementonly if it applies to youNew York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code$9 per filing, every two yearsbiennial2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNew York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code$200 one-time filingno expiry, but a biennial statement is due every two years2026-09-03
Certificate of Publication (LLC)New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code$50 state filing fee onlyone-time, due within 120 days of formation2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Orange County Ny?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 8 records listed for a contractor or trade in Orange County Ny, NY, 3 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 8 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Electrical License (Local Law No. 11 of 2013): The fee is set under Local Law No. 11 of 2013. No dollar amount is stated for this license in this entry; contact the Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & Measures for the current fee.

Individual Sewage System Plan Review: $450–$650 per system: $450 for a system under 1,000 gallons per day; $650 for a system at or above 1,000 gallons per day

Which offices issue these permits in Orange County Ny?

Permits for a contractor or trade in Orange County Ny, NY come from 5 separate offices: Orange County Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & Measures, Orange County Department of Health, Division of Environmental Health, New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records and Uniform Commercial Code, New York State Department of Taxation and Finance, New York State Department of Labor. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a contractor or trade need in Orange County Ny that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Orange County Ny: Electrical License (Local Law No. 11 of 2013) and Contractor Licensing — Local Home Improvement Licenses, No State License (New York).

Electrical License (Local Law No. 11 of 2013)

The Orange County Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & Measures' license requirements letter, which is undated, states: 'An Electrical License is required to do electrical work in Orange County, NY.' The license is established by Local Law No. 11 of 2013, which appears in the county's 2013 Local Laws compilation. This entry does not state a dollar amount for the license or its renewal term, so the current fee and term should be confirmed directly with the Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & Measures before budgeting for the license.

Individual Sewage System Plan Review

Where a business's premises are served by an individual sewage system, the system's plan review is handled by the Orange County Department of Health, Division of Environmental Health. The published Plan Review Fee Schedule (effective January 1, 2023) sets the fee per system at $450 for a system under 1,000 gallons per day and $650 for a system at or above 1,000 gallons per day. These figures are part of the county's Permit Application Fee Schedule and Plan Review Fee Schedule (updated January 2023). The applications page labels that schedule 'Fee Schedule - EFFECTIVE January 1st, 2023 - For Permits and Other Applications'. No adopting local law, Sanitary Code article or Board of Health action is cited for the schedule in this entry.

Contractor Licensing — Local Home Improvement Licenses, No State License (New York)

The Department of State's catalogue of licensed occupations lists thirty-six license types and no general or home improvement contractor license, so there is no state contractor license fee. Home improvement licensing is instead a local matter: the Attorney General's home improvement fact sheet states that 'Home improvement contractors must be licensed in New York City, Suffolk, Nassau, Westchester, Putnam, and Rockland counties.' Outside those places, check with the county or city for any local requirement. One state-level credential does exist but is narrower than it looks — the Department of Labor's Contractor and Subcontractor Registry, mandatory since 30 December 2024 for public work and certain covered private projects, at $200 for two years or $100 for a certified minority or woman-owned business. It is a registration for bidding on public work, not permission to trade.

The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NY and are covered on the NY state page.

How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Orange County Ny?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Electrical License (Local Law No. 11 of 2013) and Contractor Licensing — Local Home Improvement Licenses, No State License (New York). A coffee shop needs Food Service Establishment Permit to Operate, Catering and Commissary Permit — Operations Without a Hall, Temporary Food Service Permit and 6 more, which a contractor or trade does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Orange County Ny, NY, compared with a contractor or trade
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a contractor or tradeOnly a contractor or trade needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops10129
Restaurants10129
Fitness studios3033
Food trucks7037
Retail stores2032
Salons and barbers3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Orange County Ny permits page and the NY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Orange County Local Laws 1 through 15 of 2013 (compilation; includes Local Law No. 11 of 2013, electrical licensing)Orange County, NY · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
  2. Orange County License Requirements (letter from the Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & Measures; undated)Orange County Department of Consumer Affairs and Weights & Measures · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
  3. Permit Application Fee Schedule and Plan Review Fee Schedule, Orange County Department of Health (updated January 2023)Orange County Department of Health, Division of Environmental Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
  4. Applications, Forms, Permits and Documents (lists the fee schedule as 'EFFECTIVE January 1st, 2023')Orange County, NY · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-05
  5. New York Attorney General — home improvement contractors must be licensed in New York City, Suffolk, Nassau, Westchester, Putnam and Rockland countiesOffice of the New York State Attorney General · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  6. New York Department of State — the complete catalogue of licensed occupations, which contains no general or home improvement contractor licenseNew York State Department of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.