Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Las Cruces?

In short

A childcare centre in Las Cruces, NM has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division charges $50 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 7 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

The permits at a glance

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business RegistrationCity of Las Cruces Community Development Department (One Stop Shop)$30–$40 annual, per location — the City's own FAQ states the fee 'may range from $30 to $40' depending on the type of business; special/temporary event, seasonal and other specialty registrations are priced separately and not statedannual — valid 12 months from issuance; a renewal notice is mailed about a month before expiration and renewal can be completed in person or by mail2026-09-11
Commercial Building PermitCity of Las Cruces Community Development Department (One Stop Shop)Banded by total project valuation (excluding land cost): $50 under $2,000; $50 plus $10 per additional $1,000 from $2,001-$25,000; $280 plus $8 per additional $1,000 from $25,001-$50,000; $480 plus $7 per additional $1,000 from $50,001-$100,000; $830 plus $6 per additional $1,000 from $101,001-$500,000; $3,330 plus $5 per additional $1,000 from $500,001-$1,000,000; $5,830 plus $4 per additional $1,000 above $1,000,000. Valuation is computed from the City's own Valuation Table (February 2020 ICC data) by occupancy/construction type, then adjusted by a scope-of-work percentage (100% for new construction or an addition, 50% for an alteration/TI/remodel or a repair, 75% for a shell) and an 88% local area modifier. A Plan Check Fee equal to 25% of the building permit fee is due, non-refundably, at the time of application. A Technology Fee of $100 or 5% of the permit fee, whichever is greater, applies to commercial new/alteration/addition permits. Expedited permitting is available for a flat $1,000 in addition to the permit and plan check fees. The permit fee is tripled for work started or completed without an approved permit.one-time, per project2026-09-11
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Las Cruces Community Development Department (One Stop Shop)$45–$150 a Change of Occupancy Fee (for a change of use/tenant without new construction) is $45 with no inspection required or $100 with an inspection; a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is the greater of $150 or 25% of the building permit fee; a Same-Day Certificate of Occupancy is a flat $150one-time, per issuance2026-09-11
Statement of Zoningonly if it applies to youCity of Las Cruces Community Development Department (One Stop Shop)$30 per hour of staff research and preparation time, with a $5 minimum charge if the work takes less than one hour.one-time, per request2026-09-11
Fire Prevention InspectionLas Cruces Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionNo feeannual — Business, Educational, Manufacturing, Mercantile, Places of Assembly, and Storage occupancies receive an annual fire safety inspection; a new business also receives a one-time inspection before its Business Registration is issued2026-09-11
Fire Systems Permit Fees (Sprinkler, Alarm, Hood, Fire Pump)only if it applies to youLas Cruces Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionWater/chemical fire sprinkler systems (including one hydraulic calculation): $160 for 1-15 heads, $320 for 16-75, $480 for 76-100, $640 for 101-200, plus $200 per each additional 100 heads. A tenant-improvement sprinkler system is priced at roughly three-quarters of that: $120/$240/$320/$480 across the same bands. An additional hydraulic calculation is $40, as is a chemical/dry/foam/pre-action system surcharge. A fire pump inspection is $160 (diesel) or $80 (electric). A commercial fire alarm is $160 for 1-5 devices, $320 for 6-20, plus $160 per each additional 20 devices. All hood suppression systems are a flat $80.one-time, per permit2026-09-11
General Business Licence (not required by New Mexico)only if it applies to youNew Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNew Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual — a New Mexico LLC files no recurring report of any kind2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNew Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 minimum for up to 100,000 authorised shares, rising by $1 for every further 1,000 shares, capped at $1,000perpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Corporate Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youNew Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division$25 every two years; filing late adds a $200 penaltybiennial — due on or before the 15th day of the third month after the close of the tax year2026-09-04
Child Care LicenceNew Mexico Early Childhood Education and Care Department, Child Care Services BureauBase application and renewal fee not published in the current rule text — only ancillary fees are stated: $20 to change a director or licensed capacity, $25 if renewal is filed less than 30 days before expiryannual — not to exceed one year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Las Cruces?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a childcare centre in Las Cruces, NM, 5 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

7 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:

Business Registration: $30–$40 annual, per location — the City's own FAQ states the fee 'may range from $30 to $40' depending on the type of business; special/temporary event, seasonal and other specialty registrations are priced separately and not stated

Commercial Building Permit: Banded by total project valuation (excluding land cost): $50 under $2,000; $50 plus $10 per additional $1,000 from $2,001-$25,000; $280 plus $8 per additional $1,000 from $25,001-$50,000; $480 plus $7 per additional $1,000 from $50,001-$100,000; $830 plus $6 per additional $1,000 from $101,001-$500,000; $3,330 plus $5 per additional $1,000 from $500,001-$1,000,000; $5,830 plus $4 per additional $1,000 above $1,000,000. Valuation is computed from the City's own Valuation Table (February 2020 ICC data) by occupancy/construction type, then adjusted by a scope-of-work percentage (100% for new construction or an addition, 50% for an alteration/TI/remodel or a repair, 75% for a shell) and an 88% local area modifier. A Plan Check Fee equal to 25% of the building permit fee is due, non-refundably, at the time of application. A Technology Fee of $100 or 5% of the permit fee, whichever is greater, applies to commercial new/alteration/addition permits. Expedited permitting is available for a flat $1,000 in addition to the permit and plan check fees. The permit fee is tripled for work started or completed without an approved permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: $45–$150 a Change of Occupancy Fee (for a change of use/tenant without new construction) is $45 with no inspection required or $100 with an inspection; a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is the greater of $150 or 25% of the building permit fee; a Same-Day Certificate of Occupancy is a flat $150

Statement of Zoning: $30 per hour of staff research and preparation time, with a $5 minimum charge if the work takes less than one hour.

Fire Systems Permit Fees (Sprinkler, Alarm, Hood, Fire Pump): Water/chemical fire sprinkler systems (including one hydraulic calculation): $160 for 1-15 heads, $320 for 16-75, $480 for 76-100, $640 for 101-200, plus $200 per each additional 100 heads. A tenant-improvement sprinkler system is priced at roughly three-quarters of that: $120/$240/$320/$480 across the same bands. An additional hydraulic calculation is $40, as is a chemical/dry/foam/pre-action system surcharge. A fire pump inspection is $160 (diesel) or $80 (electric). A commercial fire alarm is $160 for 1-5 devices, $320 for 6-20, plus $160 per each additional 20 devices. All hood suppression systems are a flat $80.

Articles of Incorporation: $100 minimum for up to 100,000 authorised shares, rising by $1 for every further 1,000 shares, capped at $1,000

Child Care Licence: Base application and renewal fee not published in the current rule text — only ancillary fees are stated: $20 to change a director or licensed capacity, $25 if renewal is filed less than 30 days before expiry

Which offices issue these permits in Las Cruces?

Permits for a childcare centre in Las Cruces, NM come from 4 separate offices: City of Las Cruces Community Development Department (One Stop Shop), Las Cruces Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division, New Mexico Early Childhood Education and Care Department, Child Care Services Bureau. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

  • City of Las Cruces Community Development Department (One Stop Shop)Issues 4 permits on this page: Business Registration, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Statement of Zoning700 N. Main St., Suite 1100, P.O. Box 20000, Las Cruces, NM 88001 · (575) 528-3222lascruces.gov/business/business-resources/business-support-services
  • Las Cruces Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Prevention Inspection, Fire Systems Permit Fees (Sprinkler, Alarm, Hood, Fire Pump)700 N. Main Street, Las Cruces, NM 88001 · (575) 528-3473lascruces.gov/safety/fire-department/fire-prevention
  • New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business Licence (not required by New Mexico), Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Corporate Biennial Report325 Don Gaspar, Suite 300, Santa Fe, NM 87501 · (505) 827-3600www.sos.nm.gov/business-services
  • New Mexico Early Childhood Education and Care Department, Child Care Services BureauIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licence1122 Paseo de Peralta, Room 112, Santa Fe, NM 87501 · (505) 827-7499www.nmececd.org/child-care-licensing-and-registered-homes

Is anything about these requirements changing?

Any business operating inside city limits — home-based or commercial, for-profit or not, including churches and temporary special events — must hold this registration before conducting business, per the City's own FAQ. A business must first register with the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department and obtain a CRS tax-ID certificate (free at the state layer) before the City will issue this registration, and that certificate's physical address must be presented at application. The Chamber of Commerce's own page (flagged above for review, not a government source) describes four named categories — Commercial Business, Home Occupation, Special/Temporary, and Door-to-Door Solicitation — but only the City's own $30-$40 range is treated here as the confirmed current fee; older figures repeated across third-party licensing-aggregator sites ($35 flat, $20 for non-profits) could not be corroborated on the City's own current page and are disclosed here only as legacy background, not asserted as the current fee. The ordinance's own fee section, LCMC §16-127, is hosted at library.municode.com, which rendered no usable content to any retrieval attempt this project made, so its exact per-category breakdown beyond the FAQ's stated range could not be independently confirmed. A new business must also pass a Las Cruces Fire Department inspection before this registration is issued (see the Fire Prevention Inspection record below).

Plan review is routed through the same 'One Stop Shop' that combines Community Development with Fire, Public Works and Utilities review — the Commercial Construction Process handout states a review timeline of 3 business days for projects valued $0-$50,000, 5 business days for $50,001-$100,000, and 8 business days above $101,000. This 2023 fee schedule, despite its age, remains the operative document: a Wayback Machine capture from August 13, 2026 is byte-for-byte identical to the 2025 capture this file cites, and no newer fee schedule could be found published anywhere on the City's site. Electrical, plumbing, mechanical and roofing sub-permits are priced separately and not itemized here; a residential permit (not recorded here) is priced differently, at $0.20/sq ft with a $50 minimum.

The $45/$100 Change of Occupancy Fee may be credited toward the Building Permit Fee if a permit application is filed and issued within ninety days of the change-of-use analysis. A Same-Day Certificate of Occupancy is only available if all required inspections are completed and logged by 12 p.m., with the certificate issued by 5 p.m. the same day. Where a full building permit for new construction or a substantial remodel is already being issued, final occupancy is closed out as part of that same permit process rather than as a separate Change of Occupancy charge.

Billed hourly like several other Community Development research products (a Non-Conforming Uses Certificate is priced identically; Addressing/Change of Address research is $30/hour with no stated minimum). Whether obtaining this specific Statement is a mandatory prerequisite to a Business Registration, or an optional due-diligence product a business may request, is not stated on any City page this project could retrieve — the Business Registration FAQ speaks only generally of needing zoning approval before some registrations issue.

All new businesses within the City must pass a fire department inspection prior to the issuance of a Business Registration, and existing commercial occupancies of the types named above are inspected annually thereafter, per the Fire Department's own page. No fee for either the pre-registration or the annual inspection is published anywhere on that page or in the Community Development fee schedule this project could retrieve — the fee, if any, is not published, so it is recorded here as unpublished rather than guessed at.

These are the Fire Prevention Division's own plan-review and inspection fees for fire suppression, sprinkler and hood systems — priced using the same schedule as the Mechanical Permit Fee, per the fee document's own text. An after-hours fire inspection, where staff are available, is billed at $60/hour with a 2-hour minimum. This is separate from, and in addition to, the general Commercial Building Permit fee recorded above when the work accompanies new construction or a remodel.

No fee — a thorough check of the state's entity-formation statutes and tax-registration guidance turns up no general licence requirement anywhere. What a business actually needs at state level is entity registration if it incorporates, a free business tax identification number if it sells taxable goods or services, and whichever industry-specific licence applies. A city, most notably Albuquerque, may still impose its own local business registration on top.

Fifty dollars, and that is genuinely the last state filing fee a New Mexico LLC ever pays. The whole Limited Liability Company Act was read start to finish, and it contains no annual report, no biennial report and no periodic report provision of any kind — the only way an LLC loses good standing under the act is going thirty days without maintaining a registered agent. A corporation is priced and treated very differently; see the corporate registration and biennial report records.

Priced by the number of shares authorised rather than a flat figure: $100 covers the first hundred thousand shares, and the fee climbs a dollar for every thousand shares beyond that, up to a $1,000 ceiling. Unlike an LLC, a corporation does owe a recurring filing afterward — see the biennial report record.

Twenty-five dollars every two years, tied to the corporation's own tax year rather than a fixed calendar date, so a calendar-year filer reports by 15 March. A first report is due separately, within thirty days of incorporating or qualifying to do business in the state. The penalty for filing late is unusually steep relative to the fee itself — $200 on top of a $25 report, eight times the underlying charge.

Licensing moved from the children, youth and families department to the newly created Early Childhood Education and Care Department, though the underlying rule text has not been formally updated to rename the agency it names as the authority. The rule is precise about the categories: a family child care home cares for five to six children in a private dwelling, a group child care home for seven to twelve. What is not recorded here as confirmed fact is the base application or renewal fee itself — the current rule text requires a non-refundable application fee without stating the dollar amount, while pricing several related changes precisely, at $20 to change the director or the licensed capacity and $25 for a renewal filed less than thirty days before expiry. Confirm the base fee directly with the department before budgeting for it.

Sources

Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Business Support Services — FAQ stating the Business Registration fee 'ranges from $30 to $40' depending on business type, the 12-month term, renewal-notice timing, and the New Mexico CRS tax-ID prerequisiteCity of Las Cruces, Community Development Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Online Process for Business Registrations — the Accela Citizen Portal application steps, required CRS certificate upload, and Community Development office address/hoursCity of Las Cruces, Community Development Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. Business Registration — describes the four registration categories (Commercial Business, Home Occupation, Special/Temporary, and Door-to-Door Solicitation) and the Business Registrations Office contact informationGreater Las Cruces Chamber of Commerce (non-.gov business association, not the City government — flagged for review) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  4. 2023 Schedule of Fees (effective February 1, 2023) — Community Development Department's complete fee table: commercial building permit valuation bands, plan check and technology fees, sign permit fees by sign type, Change of Occupancy/Temporary/Same-Day Certificate of Occupancy fees, Fire Systems Permit Fees, and the Statement of Zoning and other Land Use/Administrative Review feesCity of Las Cruces, Community Development Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  5. Commercial Construction Process — permit fee mechanics (25% of permit fee due at plan submittal), Temporary Certificate of Occupancy fee, plan review timeline by valuation, and the list of review agencies including FireCity of Las Cruces, Community Development Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  6. Fire Prevention — Prevention Bureau services, the annual business inspection program by occupancy type (Business, Educational, Manufacturing, Mercantile, Places of Assembly, Storage), and the pre-registration fire inspection required before a Business Registration issues (no fee stated anywhere on the page)City of Las Cruces, Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  7. New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department — who must register a business, and the free tax IDNew Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  8. New Mexico Secretary of State — business services, LLC and corporation formationNew Mexico Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  9. New Mexico Administrative Code 12.3.2.12 — the $25 corporate biennial report and $200 late filing penaltyNew Mexico Public Regulation Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  10. New Mexico Administrative Code 8.16.2 — child care licensing, term and ancillary feesNew Mexico Early Childhood Education and Care Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.