11 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Albuquerque?
In short
A retail store in Albuquerque, NM has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Business Licensing Section charges $36.75 annual, per location for the business license. 5 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business License | City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Business Licensing Section | $36.75 annual, per location | annual — renews each year; renewal must be filed no later than 10 days before the current license's expiration date (renewal may be initiated up to 90 days early) | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire & Life Safety Inspection Fee (Business License) | Albuquerque Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | $35–$400 annual, banded by the occupied square footage of the business premises — up to 1,500 sq ft $35; 1,501-6,000 sq ft $100; 6,001-12,000 sq ft $250; 12,001 sq ft or more $400 | annual, assessed alongside the Business License at initial application and each renewal | 2026-09-11 |
| Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy | City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Building Safety Division | The Building Safety Division's own published table prices a commercial/apartment/public permit starting at $23.50 for the first $800 of construction valuation, rising through a detailed banded table to $1,495.00 at $320,000-$321,000 of valuation. Beyond the published table, the Division computes the fee as $993.75 for the first $100,000 of valuation plus $5.60 for each additional $1,000, then applies a 0.67 commercial multiplier (0.50 for one- and two-family residential work). Plan review is billed separately, at 65% of the calculated permit fee — a figure the Division's current online fee-information page confirms is still the operative method, layered on top of the 2021 edition of the ICC Building Valuation Data for minimum per-square-foot construction values. A zoning review fee of $25 (buildings under 4,000 sq ft) or $45 (4,000 sq ft or more) and a flat $50 hydrology fee apply on top of the permit and plan-review fees. | one-time, per project | 2026-09-11 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Development Review Services / Code Enforcement | $10 posted-notice fee plus $0.70 per square foot of sign face, or $70, whichever is greater. An Electronic Sign Permit is priced the same way but recurs annually rather than as a one-time charge. A sign erected without first obtaining a permit is charged double: $10 plus $1.45 per square foot, or $145, whichever is greater. | one-time, per sign (an Electronic Sign Permit is annual) | 2026-09-11 |
| Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to you | City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Development Review Services / Code Enforcement | $200 flat, per request | one-time, per request | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire Inspection Fee — New Construction/Remodel | Albuquerque Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office | $10–$400 one-time, banded by occupied square footage under Table 8304.1 — $10 up to 500 sq ft, rising through seven further bands to $400 for 50,001 sq ft or more | one-time, per project | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business Licence (not required by New Mexico)only if it applies to you | New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual — a New Mexico LLC files no recurring report of any kind | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 minimum for up to 100,000 authorised shares, rising by $1 for every further 1,000 shares, capped at $1,000 | perpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporate Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $25 every two years; filing late adds a $200 penalty | biennial — due on or before the 15th day of the third month after the close of the tax year | 2026-09-04 |
| Gross Receipts Tax Registration | New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department | No fee | not stated as expiring | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Albuquerque?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a retail store in Albuquerque, NM, 5 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $36.75. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Fire & Life Safety Inspection Fee (Business License): $35–$400 annual, banded by the occupied square footage of the business premises — up to 1,500 sq ft $35; 1,501-6,000 sq ft $100; 6,001-12,000 sq ft $250; 12,001 sq ft or more $400
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy: The Building Safety Division's own published table prices a commercial/apartment/public permit starting at $23.50 for the first $800 of construction valuation, rising through a detailed banded table to $1,495.00 at $320,000-$321,000 of valuation. Beyond the published table, the Division computes the fee as $993.75 for the first $100,000 of valuation plus $5.60 for each additional $1,000, then applies a 0.67 commercial multiplier (0.50 for one- and two-family residential work). Plan review is billed separately, at 65% of the calculated permit fee — a figure the Division's current online fee-information page confirms is still the operative method, layered on top of the 2021 edition of the ICC Building Valuation Data for minimum per-square-foot construction values. A zoning review fee of $25 (buildings under 4,000 sq ft) or $45 (4,000 sq ft or more) and a flat $50 hydrology fee apply on top of the permit and plan-review fees.
Sign Permit: $10 posted-notice fee plus $0.70 per square foot of sign face, or $70, whichever is greater. An Electronic Sign Permit is priced the same way but recurs annually rather than as a one-time charge. A sign erected without first obtaining a permit is charged double: $10 plus $1.45 per square foot, or $145, whichever is greater.
Fire Inspection Fee — New Construction/Remodel: $10–$400 one-time, banded by occupied square footage under Table 8304.1 — $10 up to 500 sq ft, rising through seven further bands to $400 for 50,001 sq ft or more
Articles of Incorporation: $100 minimum for up to 100,000 authorised shares, rising by $1 for every further 1,000 shares, capped at $1,000
Which offices issue these permits in Albuquerque?
Permits for a retail store in Albuquerque, NM come from 6 separate offices: City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Business Licensing Section, Albuquerque Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Building Safety Division, City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Development Review Services / Code Enforcement, New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services Division, New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Business Licensing SectionIssues 1 permit on this page: Business License600 2nd Street NW (Plaza Del Sol Building), Albuquerque, NM 87102www.cabq.gov/planning/business-registration-information
- Albuquerque Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire & Life Safety Inspection Fee (Business License), Fire Inspection Fee — New Construction/Remodel724 Silver SW, Albuquerque, NM 87102 · (505) 764-6300www.cabq.gov/fire/our-department/fire-marshals-office
- City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Building Safety DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy(505) 924-3320www.cabq.gov/planning/building-safety-division
- City of Albuquerque Planning Department, Development Review Services / Code EnforcementIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Certificatewww.cabq.gov/planning
- New Mexico Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business Licence (not required by New Mexico), Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, Corporate Biennial Report325 Don Gaspar, Suite 300, Santa Fe, NM 87501 · (505) 827-3600www.sos.nm.gov/business-services
- New Mexico Taxation and Revenue DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Gross Receipts Tax Registration1100 South St. Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87504 · (505) 827-0700www.tax.newmexico.gov
Is anything about these requirements changing?
Effective July 1, 2025, this Business License replaced the City's former 'Business Registration' — Council Bill O-24-60 repealed the old ordinance specifically to add teeth: the prior registration's only penalty was a one-time $10 late fee (still the figure shown on the Planning Department's own General Fee Schedule PDF, last updated 1/17/2025 — a snapshot of the outgoing regime rather than the current one), while the License carries a $10-per-calendar-day delinquency fee and a $100/day civil fine for operating without one. The fee itself started at $35 when the ordinance took effect, but the ordinance allows the City to raise it up to 5% a year; the City's own FAQ page states the first such increase takes effect July 1, 2026, bringing the fee to $36.75 — the figure recorded here, since that date has already passed as of this file's retrieval date. A business operating more than one location needs a separate license and fee for each. Applicants must submit a current New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department registration certificate showing the physical business address, and zoning approval is required before a license issues. A separate, identically-named Business License requirement applies to childcare facilities but with the fee itself waived (recorded separately below), and a separate Fire & Life Safety Inspection Fee (also recorded separately below) applies on top of this license fee for most commercial applicants.
This fee, and its four size bands, are stated identically in two independently published City documents — the Planning Department's own Business License FAQ page and Albuquerque Fire Rescue's own Chapter 83 fee schedule — the strongest cross-confirmation this project found for any Albuquerque figure. It is separate from, and additional to, the Business License fee itself, and covers the Fire Marshal's initial and annual inspection of the business premises. Non-profit organizations are expressly subject to this fee as well. Whether a state-licensed childcare facility's exemption from the Business License fee (recorded separately below) also extends to this Fire & Life Safety Fee could not be confirmed from the FAQ page, which speaks only of exemption from 'the license fee.'
The published valuation table itself dates to April 2010, but the Building Safety Division's current fee-information page still describes plan review as 65% of the permit fee — the same figure this decade-old table states — so it is treated here as the operative fee methodology rather than a stale document, with its age disclosed. No separately published Certificate of Occupancy fee, distinct from this permitting and final-inspection process, could be found; the certificate is issued as the closing step of this same process rather than as a separately priced product.
An Alternative Signage Plan, for a sign scheme that departs from the standard zoning-district rules, is a separate $65 product ($10 posted-notice fee plus a $45 application fee plus a $10 pre-application fee). The IDO's specific sign-area and placement rules by zoning district were not independently retrieved beyond this fee table.
The City's own Business License FAQ page separately states that 'zoning approval' is required before a Business License is issued, but does not state whether that sign-off requires purchasing this specific $200 Zoning Certificate product or can instead be confirmed administratively during the license review itself — the same ambiguity this project's research on other cities' standalone zoning-letter products has found. Recorded here as a real, confirmed-fee product a business can obtain, rather than asserted as a mandatory universal prerequisite.
This is a distinct, one-time fee for new buildings, tenant improvements and remodels — separate from the recurring Fire & Life Safety Inspection Fee an existing business pays annually with its Business License, and separate from any fire-related plan-review component folded into the Commercial Building Permit. A re-inspection, required whenever a first re-inspection still finds incomplete work or uncorrected violations, is a flat $60 per Section 8305, charged for that and every further re-inspection needed.
No fee — a thorough check of the state's entity-formation statutes and tax-registration guidance turns up no general licence requirement anywhere. What a business actually needs at state level is entity registration if it incorporates, a free business tax identification number if it sells taxable goods or services, and whichever industry-specific licence applies. A city, most notably Albuquerque, may still impose its own local business registration on top.
Fifty dollars, and that is genuinely the last state filing fee a New Mexico LLC ever pays. The whole Limited Liability Company Act was read start to finish, and it contains no annual report, no biennial report and no periodic report provision of any kind — the only way an LLC loses good standing under the act is going thirty days without maintaining a registered agent. A corporation is priced and treated very differently; see the corporate registration and biennial report records.
Priced by the number of shares authorised rather than a flat figure: $100 covers the first hundred thousand shares, and the fee climbs a dollar for every thousand shares beyond that, up to a $1,000 ceiling. Unlike an LLC, a corporation does owe a recurring filing afterward — see the biennial report record.
Twenty-five dollars every two years, tied to the corporation's own tax year rather than a fixed calendar date, so a calendar-year filer reports by 15 March. A first report is due separately, within thirty days of incorporating or qualifying to do business in the state. The penalty for filing late is unusually steep relative to the fee itself — $200 on top of a $25 report, eight times the underlying charge.
No fee — the revenue department states plainly that there is no cost to register for a business tax identification number. This is a structurally different tax from a sales tax, worth understanding before assuming the mechanics translate directly: gross receipts tax is levied on the seller's own receipts rather than collected from the buyer as a separate line-item purchase tax, even though it behaves similarly at the register in practice.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Business License FAQs — states the $35 (rising to $36.75 as of July 1, 2026) annual fee, the banded Fire & Life Safety inspection fee table, the $10/calendar-day late fee, the state-licensed-daycare fee exemption, and renewal timingCity of Albuquerque, Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Business License Ordinance summary — Council Bill O-24-60, ROA 1994 §§13-1-1 to 13-1-18, effective July 1, 2025, the 5%/year fee-increase cap, and the $100/day civil fine for noncomplianceCity of Albuquerque, Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Business License Information — issuing section, application process, and required documentationCity of Albuquerque, Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Chapter 83, Required Inspections, Fees and Rates — Table 8302.4-A (Fire & Life Safety Fee by square footage), Table 8302.5-A (Specific Operational Permits, including a $50 Mobile Food Vending Units fee), Table 8304.1 (New Construction Inspection Fees), and the $60 re-inspection feeAlbuquerque Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- Plan Review and Building Permit Fees (Revised April 2010) — the valuation-banded commercial/apartment/public permit and plan-review fee table, zoning fee ($25/$45 by building size), $50 hydrology fee, and the formula for valuations above the published tableCity of Albuquerque, Planning Department, Building Safety Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- General Planning Fee Schedule (updated 1/17/2025) — Sign Permit ($0.70/sq ft or $70 minimum), Site Plan Administrative Zoning Review ($45/$65 by building size), Zoning Certificate ($200), and the outgoing Business Registration fee/late-fee lineCity of Albuquerque, Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
- New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department — who must register a business, and the free tax IDNew Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- New Mexico Secretary of State — business services, LLC and corporation formationNew Mexico Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- New Mexico Administrative Code 12.3.2.12 — the $25 corporate biennial report and $200 late filing penaltyNew Mexico Public Regulation Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
- All permits in Albuquerque
- Retail stores — national overview
- Retail stores in Fort Worth, TX
- Retail stores in Grand Prairie, TX
- Retail stores in Arlington, TX
- Retail stores in San Antonio, TX
- Retail stores in Pasadena, TX
- Auto repair shops in Albuquerque
- Childcare centres in Albuquerque
- Coffee shops in Albuquerque
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
