Commercial Compliance Hub

17 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Missoula?

In short

A salon or barber in Missoula, MT has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building Division charges $154 one-time for the temporary (conditional) certificate of occupancy. 7 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Missoula

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division$116.40–$225.60 one-time, per sign, by sign type: $116.40 Banner, $156.00 Sidewalk, $176.40 Window, $196.80 Awning/Canopy/Hanging or Dynamic Display/Pump Top Unit, $154.80 Other, up to $225.60 Wall/Projecting/Ground/Mural/Heritageone-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License)only if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Permit & Business Licensing CoordinatorsNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Salon or Shop LicenseMontana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists$275 to open, being a $125 license and a $150 one-time inspection fee; renewal is $125 a yearannual — the renewal window runs 3 May to 1 July2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Missoula

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building DivisionNo feeone-time — issued after all required building and (for commercial properties) fire inspections pass2026-09-12
Temporary (Conditional) Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building Division$154 one-timetemporary — until outstanding conditions for a standard Certificate of Occupancy are met2026-09-12
Zoning Variance (Board of Adjustment)only if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Board of AdjustmentVaries — formula on the Missoula pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Plan Review and Inspection (Commercial Construction)Missoula Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauVaries — formula on the Missoula pageone-time, per project2026-09-12
City of Missoula General Business LicenseCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Permit & Business Licensing CoordinatorsVaries — formula on the Missoula pageannual — expires May 31st each year regardless of the issue date2026-09-12
Commercial Building PermitCity of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building DivisionVaries — formula on the Missoula pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Compliance Permit/Review (ZCP/ZCR)City of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use DivisionVaries — formula on the Missoula pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Conditional Use Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division$4,993 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application2026-09-12
Zoning Map Amendment (Rezoning)only if it applies to youCity of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division$8,654.40 one-time, per application (base fee, plus $854.40 per additional resultant zoning district)one-time, per application2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services Division$35 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the MT pageannual — due between 1 January and 15 April2026-09-04
Sales Tax Registration — Montana Department of Revenue Positiononly if it applies to youMontana Department of Revenue, Business Tax UnitNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
General Business License — Montana Secretary of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youMontana Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Missoula?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a salon or barber in Missoula, MT, 6 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $275.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $116.40–$225.60 one-time, per sign, by sign type: $116.40 Banner, $156.00 Sidewalk, $176.40 Window, $196.80 Awning/Canopy/Hanging or Dynamic Display/Pump Top Unit, $154.80 Other, up to $225.60 Wall/Projecting/Ground/Mural/Heritage

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Missoula permits page and the MT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Missoula?

Permits for a salon or barber in Missoula, MT come from 8 separate offices: City of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Building Division, City of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division, City of Missoula, Board of Adjustment, City of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Permit & Business Licensing Coordinators, Missoula Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Montana Department of Revenue, Business Tax Unit, Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Missoula that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Missoula: Salon or Shop License.

Salon or Shop License

A hundred and twenty-five dollars for the license itself, plus a separate $150 on-site inspection fee charged once at opening, for $275 to get started; renewal afterward is $125 a year, with no further inspection fee unless something changes. Relocating the salon or changing more than half its ownership requires a brand-new license rather than a simple renewal or transfer. All fees are stated as non-refundable.

Shared with other businesses in Missoula

  • Sign Permit — City of Missoula, Current Planning and Land Use Division, $116.40–$225.60 one-time, per sign, by sign type: $116.40 Banner, $156.00 Sidewalk, $176.40 Window, $196.80 Awning/Canopy/Hanging or Dynamic Display/Pump Top Unit, $154.80 Other, up to $225.60 Wall/Projecting/Ground/Mural/Heritage, one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Industry-Specific Municipal License (not found beyond the general Business License) — City of Missoula, Community Planning, Development & Innovation — Permit & Business Licensing Coordinators, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.

The other 9 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Missoula, MT; what each one involves is set out on the Missoula permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MT and are covered on the MT state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Missoula?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon or Shop License. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Missoula, MT, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2210
Retail stores2210
Auto repair shops3211
Veterinary clinics3211
Coffee shops6125
Restaurants7126
Childcare centres5035
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks7037

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Missoula permits page and the MT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists — salon and shop license feesMontana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.