Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a food truck in Lexington Fayette?

In short

A food truck in Lexington Fayette, KY has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division charges $15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporation for the annual report. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a food truck in Lexington Fayette

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local)Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental HealthFood Handler card: $23 (in-person or online), a $2 copy fee for a replacement. Food Manager Certification: $85; a duplicate Food Manager certificate is $5; a $20 Food Manager Registry fee also applies.the Board of Health's Food Service Regulation requires the underlying food-safety exam to be retaken at least every three years; the Food Manager certification's own renewal cycle is not stated in the local regulation2026-09-09
Mobile Food Unit Local RegistrationLexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental Health$100 annual Mobile Unit Registration, or $25 per individual event/location for occasional operation.annual, or per event/location2026-09-09
Temporary Food Service Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youLexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental Health$60 for 1-3 days of operation; $90 for 4-7 days; $125 for 8-14 days. Waived for a nonprofit organization with documented 501(c)(3) status.one-time, per event, up to a maximum of 14 consecutive days at a single location under the Board of Health's Food Service Regulation2026-09-09
Food Service Establishment PermitKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch$125–$340 a year, being a $125 state base fee plus a state seating or service band, before any local add-onannual2026-09-03
Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local, not state)only if it applies to youKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety BranchNo feeset locally where a local requirement exists2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lexington Fayette

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Occupational License Fee RegistrationLexington-Fayette Urban County Government Division of RevenueVaries — formula on the Lexington Fayette pageannual — net profit returns follow the taxpayer's fiscal year; employers withhold and remit the wage portion quarterly (monthly if quarterly withholding exceeds $300)2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

KY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporationannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June2026-09-03
Sales and Use Tax PermitKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationNo feeno expiry — open-ended and location-specific2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$40 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$50 for a minimum-share filing — $40 to the Secretary of State plus a $10 minimum organization taxperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Local Occupational License TaxKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationVaries — formula on the KY pageannual, filed in every taxing district a business has a presence in2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Lexington Fayette?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a food truck in Lexington Fayette, KY, 6 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

6 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local): Food Handler card: $23 (in-person or online), a $2 copy fee for a replacement. Food Manager Certification: $85; a duplicate Food Manager certificate is $5; a $20 Food Manager Registry fee also applies.

Mobile Food Unit Local Registration: $100 annual Mobile Unit Registration, or $25 per individual event/location for occasional operation.

Temporary Food Service Establishment Permit: $60 for 1-3 days of operation; $90 for 4-7 days; $125 for 8-14 days. Waived for a nonprofit organization with documented 501(c)(3) status.

Food Service Establishment Permit: $125–$340 a year, being a $125 state base fee plus a state seating or service band, before any local add-on

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lexington Fayette permits page and the KY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Lexington Fayette?

Permits for a food truck in Lexington Fayette, KY come from 5 separate offices: Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental Health, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government Division of Revenue, Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division, Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration, Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a food truck need in Lexington Fayette that other businesses do not?

1 of the 5 permits particular to a food truck here applies to no other business type we cover in Lexington Fayette: Mobile Food Unit Local Registration.

Mobile Food Unit Local Registration

This is the LOCAL registration only, on top of the Kentucky statewide Mobile Food Unit permit recorded at the state layer. Operators must register their operating location with LFCHD at least 48 hours before setting up at any location within Fayette County; the Department may void a registration and order the unit removed from a location at its discretion.

Food Service Establishment Permit

The state sets the fee schedule by regulation but the money is paid to, and collected by, the local health department having jurisdiction — and most local departments add their own component on top, so the figure an operator actually owes is a state amount plus a local one. The state base is $125 a year, plus $75 to $215 by seating band, $155 for a drive-through window and $135 for a catering operation; a retail food store pays instead by square footage, from $90 up to $375; a statewide mobile food unit is $200 a year; a temporary establishment runs $60 to $125 depending on the length of the event, from a single day up to two weeks. Louisville Metro and Lexington-Fayette County both publish their local add-ons separately, and the two verified examples confirm the state components match the regulation exactly, so treat the state figures here as the floor and check the local health department for what is added.

Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local, not state)

No state fee, because there is no statewide food handler card or mandatory food manager certification at all — a distinction easy to get wrong. The federal food code gives three separate ways for the person in charge to demonstrate knowledge, and Kentucky's regulation rewrites only one of them, the certification path; it does not turn certification into a standalone statewide mandate. Where a card or certificate is required, a local board of health made it so — Fayette County was the first, requiring certified food safety training since 1987, and today charges $23 for its food handler test and $85 for food manager certification, while Louisville Metro requires a certified food manager on duty at all times under its own ordinance, at $35 for a certificate valid three years. Check the local health department rather than assuming a state requirement.

Shared with other businesses in Lexington Fayette

  • Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local) — Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental Health, Food Handler card: $23 (in-person or online), a $2 copy fee for a replacement. Food Manager Certification: $85; a duplicate Food Manager certificate is $5; a $20 Food Manager Registry fee also applies., the Board of Health's Food Service Regulation requires the underlying food-safety exam to be retaken at least every three years; the Food Manager certification's own renewal cycle is not stated in the local regulation. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Temporary Food Service Establishment Permit — Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental Health, $60 for 1-3 days of operation; $90 for 4-7 days; $125 for 8-14 days. Waived for a nonprofit organization with documented 501(c)(3) status., one-time, per event, up to a maximum of 14 consecutive days at a single location under the Board of Health's Food Service Regulation. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 1 local permit in the tables apply to every type of business in Lexington Fayette, KY; what each one involves is set out on the Lexington Fayette permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across KY and are covered on the KY state page.

How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Lexington Fayette?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food Unit Local Registration. A coffee shop needs Sign Permit and Food Service Establishment Plan Review (local component), which a food truck does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Lexington Fayette, KY, compared with a food truck
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a food truckOnly a food truck needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops6412
Restaurants6412
Auto repair shops3053
Childcare centres2052
Contractors and trades5055
Fitness studios1051
Retail stores1051
Salons and barbers4054
Veterinary clinics2052

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lexington Fayette permits page and the KY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Environmental Health Local Fee Schedule (encounter/receipt form listing all current program fees), revised July 2019 — linked as "Local Fee Schedule" from LFCHD's own Get a Permit pageLexington-Fayette County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. Lexington-Fayette Urban County Board of Health Food Service Regulation, adopted September 15, 2021Lexington-Fayette Urban County Board of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. 902 KAR 45:110 — the statewide retail food establishment fee schedule, payable to the local health departmentKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  4. 902 KAR 45:005 — Kentucky's adoption of the 2013 FDA Food Code, rewriting only the certification limb of the demonstration-of-knowledge ruleKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  5. Lexington-Fayette County Health Department — food handler certification, required locally since 1987Lexington-Fayette County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.