Commercial Compliance Hub

16 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Lexington Fayette?

In short

A restaurant in Lexington Fayette, KY has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. LFUCG Department of Environmental Quality and Public Works, Division of Building Inspection charges $25 flat, only when issued without an associated building permit; a Home Office Certificate of Occupancy is $10 for the certificate of occupancy. 9 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Lexington Fayette

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign PermitLFUCG Department of Environmental Quality and Public Works, Division of Building Inspection$0.50 per square foot of sign face (minimum $50).one-time, per sign2026-09-09
Food Service Establishment Plan Review (local component)only if it applies to youLexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental HealthFood Service Establishment: $200 new construction / $150 renovation. Retail Food Establishment: $200 / $150. Food and Retail Establishment combined: $300 / $225. Hotels/Motels under 50 units: $200 / $150 (add $100/$75 for food, $100/$75 for retail, $200/$150 for both); 50+ units: $300 / $200. Schools: $200 / $150; Schools with food service: $300 / $225. Youth Camps: $200 / $150. Tattoo/body piercing: $200 / $150.one-time, per new-construction or remodel project2026-09-09
Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local)Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental HealthFood Handler card: $23 (in-person or online), a $2 copy fee for a replacement. Food Manager Certification: $85; a duplicate Food Manager certificate is $5; a $20 Food Manager Registry fee also applies.the Board of Health's Food Service Regulation requires the underlying food-safety exam to be retaken at least every three years; the Food Manager certification's own renewal cycle is not stated in the local regulation2026-09-09
Temporary Food Service Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youLexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental Health$60 for 1-3 days of operation; $90 for 4-7 days; $125 for 8-14 days. Waived for a nonprofit organization with documented 501(c)(3) status.one-time, per event, up to a maximum of 14 consecutive days at a single location under the Board of Health's Food Service Regulation2026-09-09
Food Service Establishment PermitKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch$125–$340 a year, being a $125 state base fee plus a state seating or service band, before any local add-onannual2026-09-03
Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local, not state)only if it applies to youKentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety BranchNo feeset locally where a local requirement exists2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lexington Fayette

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitLFUCG Department of Environmental Quality and Public Works, Division of Building InspectionVaries — formula on the Lexington Fayette pageone-time, per project2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyLFUCG Department of Environmental Quality and Public Works, Division of Building Inspection$25 flat, only when issued without an associated building permit; a Home Office Certificate of Occupancy is $10one-time, per issuance2026-09-09
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youLFUCG Division of Planning$30 per property; multiple adjacent parcels requested together are charged only onceone-time, per request2026-09-09
Occupational License Fee RegistrationLexington-Fayette Urban County Government Division of RevenueVaries — formula on the Lexington Fayette pageannual — net profit returns follow the taxpayer's fiscal year; employers withhold and remit the wage portion quarterly (monthly if quarterly withholding exceeds $300)2026-09-09
Fire Suppression/Detection System Installation Permitonly if it applies to youLFUCG Department of Environmental Quality and Public Works, Division of Building InspectionVaries — formula on the Lexington Fayette pageone-time, per system installed2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

KY registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$15 a year, identical for an LLC and a corporationannual — filed between 1 January and 30 June2026-09-03
Sales and Use Tax PermitKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationNo feeno expiry — open-ended and location-specific2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$40 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youKentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division$50 for a minimum-share filing — $40 to the Secretary of State plus a $10 minimum organization taxperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-03
Local Occupational License TaxKentucky Department of Revenue, Division of RegistrationVaries — formula on the KY pageannual, filed in every taxing district a business has a presence in2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Lexington Fayette?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a restaurant in Lexington Fayette, KY, 8 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $25.00. That is a floor, not a total. 9 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $0.50 per square foot of sign face (minimum $50).

Food Service Establishment Plan Review (local component): Food Service Establishment: $200 new construction / $150 renovation. Retail Food Establishment: $200 / $150. Food and Retail Establishment combined: $300 / $225. Hotels/Motels under 50 units: $200 / $150 (add $100/$75 for food, $100/$75 for retail, $200/$150 for both); 50+ units: $300 / $200. Schools: $200 / $150; Schools with food service: $300 / $225. Youth Camps: $200 / $150. Tattoo/body piercing: $200 / $150.

Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local): Food Handler card: $23 (in-person or online), a $2 copy fee for a replacement. Food Manager Certification: $85; a duplicate Food Manager certificate is $5; a $20 Food Manager Registry fee also applies.

Temporary Food Service Establishment Permit: $60 for 1-3 days of operation; $90 for 4-7 days; $125 for 8-14 days. Waived for a nonprofit organization with documented 501(c)(3) status.

Food Service Establishment Permit: $125–$340 a year, being a $125 state base fee plus a state seating or service band, before any local add-on

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lexington Fayette permits page and the KY state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Lexington Fayette?

Permits for a restaurant in Lexington Fayette, KY come from 7 separate offices: LFUCG Department of Environmental Quality and Public Works, Division of Building Inspection, Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental Health, LFUCG Division of Planning, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government Division of Revenue, Kentucky Secretary of State, Business Filings Division, Kentucky Department of Revenue, Division of Registration, Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Lexington Fayette that other businesses do not?

Food Service Establishment Plan Review (local component)

This is the local add-on the Kentucky state-layer record references for Lexington-Fayette — but it is a one-time construction/remodel plan-review fee, billed in addition to the state's own annual permit fee (recorded at the state layer), not a recurring annual surcharge. The LFCHD documents cited here publish no separate ongoing ANNUAL local component beyond the state's fee band.

Temporary Food Service Establishment Permit

Applications must be submitted at least 48 hours before the event; LFCHD conducts no same-day inspections. A temporary establishment may not return to the same specific location for at least 30 days after its 14-day operating window ends.

Shared with other businesses in Lexington Fayette

  • Sign Permit — LFUCG Department of Environmental Quality and Public Works, Division of Building Inspection, $0.50 per square foot of sign face (minimum $50)., one-time, per sign. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
  • Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local) — Lexington-Fayette County Health Department, Environmental Health, Food Handler card: $23 (in-person or online), a $2 copy fee for a replacement. Food Manager Certification: $85; a duplicate Food Manager certificate is $5; a $20 Food Manager Registry fee also applies., the Board of Health's Food Service Regulation requires the underlying food-safety exam to be retaken at least every three years; the Food Manager certification's own renewal cycle is not stated in the local regulation. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Service Establishment Permit — Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch, $125–$340 a year, being a $125 state base fee plus a state seating or service band, before any local add-on, annual. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Food Handler Card / Food Manager Certification (local, not state) — Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Food Safety Branch, No fee, set locally where a local requirement exists. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lexington Fayette, KY; what each one involves is set out on the Lexington Fayette permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across KY and are covered on the KY state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Lexington Fayette?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Lexington Fayette, KY need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Lexington Fayette, KY, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops6600
Food trucks5421
Fitness studios1150
Retail stores1150
Veterinary clinics2151
Auto repair shops3152
Salons and barbers4153
Childcare centres2062
Contractors and trades5065

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page, coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lexington Fayette permits page and the KY state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Plumbing Plan Submission Requirements and Fee Schedule (Fayette County), dated July 2025Lexington-Fayette County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. Temporary and Mobile Food ServiceLexington-Fayette County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. Lexington-Fayette Urban County Board of Health Food Service Regulation, adopted September 15, 2021Lexington-Fayette Urban County Board of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.