Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-10-14

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Scott County Ia?

In short

A coffee shop in Scott County Ia, IA has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Scott County Planning & Development charges $30 application fee per application, as published on the Planning & Development Floodplain Development page for the floodplain development permit (unincorporated scott county). 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Scott County Ia

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment License and Inspection (Scott County Health Department, countywide)Scott County Health DepartmentLicense fees are set statewide by Iowa Code §137F.6 (see the Iowa state record) and are paid to the Scott County Health Department as the licensing authority for Scott County.as set by Iowa Code chapter 137F (see the Iowa state record)2026-10-14
Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (outside city limits, Scott County)only if it applies to youScott County Auditor's Office and Board of SupervisorsThe license fee is set by Iowa law (Iowa Code chapter 123); under Iowa Code §123.32(2) the local authority forwards the application with the necessary fee and bond to the state department. No separate county fee is published on the Auditor's Liquor Licenses page.the term of the state retail alcohol license issued under Iowa Code chapter 1232026-10-14
Food Establishment LicenseIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing$150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climbannual2026-09-04
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and LicensingNo feenot stated in Iowa's own rule text2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Scott County Ia

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permit (unincorporated Scott County)only if it applies to youScott County Planning & DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Scott County Ia pageper sign installation2026-10-14
Floodplain Development Permit (unincorporated Scott County)only if it applies to youScott County Planning & Development$30 application fee per application, as published on the Planning & Development Floodplain Development pageper project; applications may be submitted at any time2026-10-14
Building Permit (unincorporated Scott County and the eight 28E cities)only if it applies to youScott County Planning & DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Scott County Ia pageper the permit provisions of the building codes adopted under County Code chapter 52026-10-14
Private Sewage Disposal System (Septic) Permits (Scott County, including cities)only if it applies to youScott County Health DepartmentVaries — formula on the Scott County Ia pageconstruction and reconstruction permits expire 12 months from the date the permit fees are received and are not transferable; abandonment permits are valid 60 days; the annual operational permit is renewed each calendar year (County Code §23-5)2026-10-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

IA registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitIowa Department of RevenueNo feeno expiration — stays effective until cancelled or revoked2026-09-04
General Business License — Iowa positiononly if it applies to youIowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information CenterNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the IA pagean LLC files between 1 January and 1 April of every odd year; a corporation files in the same window of every even year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Scott County Ia?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a coffee shop in Scott County Ia, IA, 3 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment License and Inspection (Scott County Health Department, countywide): License fees are set statewide by Iowa Code §137F.6 (see the Iowa state record) and are paid to the Scott County Health Department as the licensing authority for Scott County.

Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (outside city limits, Scott County): The license fee is set by Iowa law (Iowa Code chapter 123); under Iowa Code §123.32(2) the local authority forwards the application with the necessary fee and bond to the state department. No separate county fee is published on the Auditor's Liquor Licenses page.

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Scott County Ia permits page and the IA state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Scott County Ia?

Permits for a coffee shop in Scott County Ia, IA come from 7 separate offices: Scott County Health Department, Scott County Planning & Development, Scott County Auditor's Office and Board of Supervisors, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Iowa Department of Revenue, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information Center. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Scott County Ia that other businesses do not?

Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (outside city limits, Scott County)

Iowa Code §123.32(1)(a) requires a completed application for a retail alcohol license (other than a class "D" license) to be filed with the city council if the premises are inside a city's corporate limits, "or with the board of supervisors if the premises for which the license is sought are located outside the corporate limits of a city." Under §123.32(2) the local authority approves or disapproves the license, endorses that decision on the application and forwards it with the necessary fee and bond to the state department. The Scott County Auditor's Liquor Licenses page states that businesses outside corporate city limits in Scott County apply through the state's GovConnect system, which presents the application to local authorities (Health Department, Planning and Development, Sheriff's Office, Attorney's Office and Board of Supervisors) for review and approval before it is forwarded to the State of Iowa Alcohol, Tobacco, Lottery Licensing Department, and that establishments inside city limits contact the respective city hall. The license fee is set by state law; no separate county fee is published on the Liquor Licenses page. Board of Supervisors: 563-326-8749.

Food Establishment License

Iowa bands this fee by gross food and beverage sales rather than by seating capacity, which is the opposite of what many states do: under $100,000 a year in sales costs $150, $100,000 to under $500,000 costs $300, and $500,000 or more costs $400. A brand-new establishment with no prior-year figures to report is charged the top band by default until it has a full year on file. A mobile food unit is a flat $250 regardless of sales; a single temporary event is $50, and a license covering multiple non-concurrent events statewide in one year is $200; vending machines are $50 for the first and $10 for each additional one. Ten local health departments, covering roughly a third of Iowa's counties between Black Hawk, Cerro Gordo, Dubuque, Johnson, Lee, Linn, Scott, Siouxland and Washington County, run their own delegated inspection programmes and keep the fees they collect rather than remitting them to the state — but the fee schedule itself is set statewide by statute, so the amount does not change by moving between a state-run and a delegated county.

Shared with other businesses in Scott County Ia

  • Food Establishment License and Inspection (Scott County Health Department, countywide) — Scott County Health Department, License fees are set statewide by Iowa Code §137F.6 (see the Iowa state record) and are paid to the Scott County Health Department as the licensing authority for Scott County., as set by Iowa Code chapter 137F (see the Iowa state record). Also required for restaurants, food trucks and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, No fee, not stated in Iowa's own rule text. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Scott County Ia, IA; what each one involves is set out on the Scott County Ia permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across IA and are covered on the IA state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Scott County Ia?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Scott County Ia, IA need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Scott County Ia, IA, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants4400
Food trucks3310
Retail stores4222
Auto repair shops2042
Childcare centres1041
Contractors and trades4044
Fitness studios0040
Salons and barbers3043
Veterinary clinics1041

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Scott County Ia permits page and the IA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Iowa Code §123.32, Action by local authoritiesIowa Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-14
  2. Liquor Licenses pageScott County, Iowa, Auditor's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-14
  3. Iowa Code section 137F.6 — the food establishment license fee schedule, banded by gross salesIowa Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  4. Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing — the ten local health departments with delegated food inspection authorityIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.