Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-10-14

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Polk County Ia?

In short

A coffee shop in Polk County Ia, IA has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing charges $150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climb for the food establishment license. 8 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Polk County Ia

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (premises outside city limits, Polk County)only if it applies to youPolk County Board of SupervisorsThe license fee is set by Iowa Code §123.36 and accompanies the application; under §123.32(2) the Board of Supervisors forwards the application "with the necessary fee and bond, if required, to the department."per application2026-10-14
Food Establishment LicenseIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing$150 a year for gross sales under $100,000, rising to $300 and then $400 as sales climbannual2026-09-04
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and LicensingNo feenot stated in Iowa's own rule text2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Polk County Ia

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Onsite Wastewater (Septic) System Permit — Commercial (Polk County outside Des Moines)only if it applies to youPolk County Public Works — Environmental Health ServicesVaries — formula on the Polk County Ia pageper permit2026-10-14
Commercial Building Permit (unincorporated Polk County)only if it applies to youPolk County Public Works — Planning & DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Polk County Ia pageper permit2026-10-14
Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical Permits (unincorporated Polk County)only if it applies to youPolk County Public Works — Planning & DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Polk County Ia pageper permit2026-10-14
Site Plan Review — Non-Residential (unincorporated Polk County)only if it applies to youPolk County Public Works — Planning & DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Polk County Ia pageper project2026-10-14
Certificate of Occupancy / Change of Use (unincorporated Polk County)only if it applies to youPolk County Public Works — Planning & DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Polk County Ia pageissued for the use approved; a temporary certificate of occupancy runs for no more than six months2026-10-14
Sign Permit (unincorporated Polk County)only if it applies to youPolk County Public Works — Planning & DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Polk County Ia pageper sign2026-10-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

IA registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every two years2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitIowa Department of RevenueNo feeno expiration — stays effective until cancelled or revoked2026-09-04
General Business License — Iowa positiononly if it applies to youIowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information CenterNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youIowa Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionVaries — formula on the IA pagean LLC files between 1 January and 1 April of every odd year; a corporation files in the same window of every even year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Polk County Ia?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a coffee shop in Polk County Ia, IA, 2 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $150.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (premises outside city limits, Polk County): The license fee is set by Iowa Code §123.36 and accompanies the application; under §123.32(2) the Board of Supervisors forwards the application "with the necessary fee and bond, if required, to the department."

The other 7 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Polk County Ia permits page and the IA state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Polk County Ia?

Permits for a coffee shop in Polk County Ia, IA come from 7 separate offices: Polk County Public Works — Environmental Health Services, Polk County Board of Supervisors, Polk County Public Works — Planning & Development, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, Iowa Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Iowa Department of Revenue, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Business License Information Center. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Polk County Ia that other businesses do not?

Food Establishment License

Iowa bands this fee by gross food and beverage sales rather than by seating capacity, which is the opposite of what many states do: under $100,000 a year in sales costs $150, $100,000 to under $500,000 costs $300, and $500,000 or more costs $400. A brand-new establishment with no prior-year figures to report is charged the top band by default until it has a full year on file. A mobile food unit is a flat $250 regardless of sales; a single temporary event is $50, and a license covering multiple non-concurrent events statewide in one year is $200; vending machines are $50 for the first and $10 for each additional one. Ten local health departments, covering roughly a third of Iowa's counties between Black Hawk, Cerro Gordo, Dubuque, Johnson, Lee, Linn, Scott, Siouxland and Washington County, run their own delegated inspection programmes and keep the fees they collect rather than remitting them to the state — but the fee schedule itself is set statewide by statute, so the amount does not change by moving between a state-run and a delegated county.

Shared with other businesses in Polk County Ia

  • Retail Alcohol License — Board of Supervisors Approval (premises outside city limits, Polk County) — Polk County Board of Supervisors, The license fee is set by Iowa Code §123.36 and accompanies the application; under §123.32(2) the Board of Supervisors forwards the application "with the necessary fee and bond, if required, to the department.", per application. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing, No fee, not stated in Iowa's own rule text. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Polk County Ia, IA; what each one involves is set out on the Polk County Ia permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across IA and are covered on the IA state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Polk County Ia?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Polk County Ia, IA need exactly the same 3 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Polk County Ia, IA, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants3300
Food trucks3211
Retail stores3122
Auto repair shops2032
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades5035
Fitness studios1031
Salons and barbers2032
Veterinary clinics1031

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Polk County Ia permits page and the IA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Iowa Code section 137F.6 — the food establishment license fee schedule, banded by gross salesIowa Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  2. Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing — the ten local health departments with delegated food inspection authorityIowa Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.