Commercial Compliance Hub

San Bernardino County

San Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety Division

In short

San Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety Division issues 3 permits we publish for San Bernardino County, last verified 2026-09-27. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permit — Building & Safety Construction Feeonly if it applies to youSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety DivisionIlluminated and non-illuminated sign — Monument/pole 30 feet in height or less, $296.00; Monument/pole over 30 feet in height, $335.00; All wall signs, $296.00.one-time, per sign2026-09-27
Commercial Building Permit (Valuation-Based Fee)San Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety DivisionPlan check and inspection fees combined, by IBC occupancy class, construction type and project size (base cost at a threshold size, plus a per-additional-100-sq-ft rate beyond it), Construction Types IA/IB shown first, IIA-IV and VA/VB priced lower: A-2 Assembly-Food & Drink/Restaurant, Night Club, Bar — $14,851/$12,376/$9,901 base @1,000 sf. M Mercantile-Retail or wholesale store — $21,753/$18,128/$14,502 base @4,000 sf. B Business-Animal Hospital — $10,062/$8,385/$6,708 base @1,000 sf. B Business-Barber Shop/Beauty Shop — $7,977/$6,647/$5,318 base @200 sf. E Educational-Day Care — $7,605/$6,338/$5,070 base @500 sf. I-4 Institutional-6+ persons, day care — $14,622/$12,185/$9,748 base @500 sf. S-1 Storage-Moderate Hazard, Repair Garage — $6,844/$5,703/$4,563 base @500 sf. Each band then adds a per-100-sf increment as the project grows past its threshold.one-time, per project2026-09-27
Day Care Home-Family Inspection FeeSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety Division$385 flat, per inspectionnot stated in the Building & Safety fee schedule whether this recurs on a set cycle or is charged once per state licensing action2026-09-27

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Sign Permit — Building & Safety Construction Fee

This is the physical construction/inspection permit for a sign, charged by Building & Safety in addition to — not instead of — the separate Planning Division sign land-use review fee recorded separately for the County. A wall sign or a monument/pole sign of 30 feet or less costs $296.00; a monument or pole sign taller than 30 feet costs $335.00, per the County Fee Ordinance's Building & Safety fees effective July 1, 2026. A business installing a new sign in the unincorporated area needs both this fee and the Planning sign-permit fee before the sign may go up; a reface of an existing sign is priced separately under the Planning fee ($223.00), and the Building & Safety sign lines cover only new monument/pole and wall signs.

Commercial Building Permit (Valuation-Based Fee)

Applies to any of the ten industries constructing, remodeling or changing the occupancy of a physical space in the unincorporated area. Every figure above is from the County's FY 2026/27 Construction Fee Schedule: a restaurant is IBC Class A-2, a retail store is Class M, an animal hospital is a specific Class B use, a barber or beauty shop (salon) is a different specific Class B use, a stand-alone day care is either Class E or Class I-4 depending on whether it serves ambulatory-only or assisted clients, and a repair garage (auto-repair) is Class S-1. Fitness studios and contractors' own offices/yards fall under whichever occupancy class their actual use matches, not separately tabulated here. Fees fall as construction type moves from IA/IB (most fire-resistive, highest fee) toward VA/VB (least fire-resistive, lowest fee), and rise with project square footage past each occupancy's base threshold. This is a plan-check-and-inspection fee combined into one figure, not a construction-permit fee layered on top of a separate plan-review charge. Incorporated cities run their own building departments and fee schedules.

Day Care Home-Family Inspection Fee

A $385.00 flat fee that LUS Building & Safety charges for a 'Day care home-family inspection,' per the County Fee Ordinance's Building & Safety fees effective July 1, 2026. This is layered on top of, not a substitute for, the state Community Care Licensing family day care home license recorded at the state layer, and on top of SBCoFD's separate $425 Day Care Facility Group E Occupancy fire-inspection fee recorded separately for the County. The fee schedule does not state whether this Building & Safety inspection is a one-time event tied to initial state licensing or something the County repeats on its own cycle; confirm with LUS Building & Safety before assuming either.

Contact

Jurisdiction
San Bernardino County
Phone
Not verified — use the website

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Construction Fee Schedule, County Code §16.0204(a)(1), FY 2026/27 User Fee (Cost of Services) Study — the valuation-based plan check and inspection fee table by IBC occupancy class, construction type and project sizeSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  2. County Fee Ordinance FY 2026-27 (effective July 1, 2026), County Code §16.0204 Building & Safety fees — sign construction fees and the Day Care Home-Family Inspection feeSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08

Other offices serving San Bernardino County

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

California jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.