Commercial Compliance Hub

18 permits · verified 2026-09-27

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in San Bernardino County?

In short

A childcare centre in San Bernardino County, CA has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. San Bernardino County Department of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health Services charges $1,020 flat, one-time, per referral for the environmental health services referral fee (component of a cup/mup/tentative tract application). 8 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in San Bernardino County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Environmental Health Services Referral Fee (component of a CUP/MUP/Tentative Tract application)only if it applies to youSan Bernardino County Department of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health Services$1,020 flat, one-time, per referralone-time, per application referral2026-09-27
Child Care License — State Community Care Licensing; County Fire/Building Inspection Fees Apply (San Bernardino County)San Bernardino County Clerk of the Board of SupervisorsNo feenot applicable at the county level — the license itself is issued and renewed by the state2026-09-27
Conditional Use Permit / Minor Use Permit (Planning Division Entitlement)only if it applies to youSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Planning DivisionConditional Use Permit — Initial Deposit $16,468.00 (actual-cost basis: the deposit is drawn down against staff review time, additional deposits may be billed for further work, and any unused balance is refunded). Minor Use Permit — Initial Deposit $8,420.00, same actual-cost basis. Both are County Code §16.0215A fees, effective July 1, 2026, and are separate from — and far larger than — the $1,020 Environmental Health Services 'Tentative Tract Review/CUP/MUP/TUP' referral fee charged within the same application (recorded as its own line item for the County).one-time per application; the permit itself then runs subject to the conditions the Planning Commission or Planning Director imposes2026-09-27
Day Care Home-Family Inspection FeeSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety Division$385 flat, per inspectionnot stated in the Building & Safety fee schedule whether this recurs on a set cycle or is charged once per state licensing action2026-09-27
Child Care Centre LicenseCalifornia Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division$484–$2,420 original application, banded by licensed capacityno expiry; an annual fee falls due on each anniversary of the license2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in San Bernardino County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permit — Building & Safety Construction Feeonly if it applies to youSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the San Bernardino County pageone-time, per sign2026-09-27
Sign Permit — Planning Division Land-Use Reviewonly if it applies to youSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Planning DivisionVaries — formula on the San Bernardino County pageone-time per sign or sign location plan2026-09-27
Commercial Building Permit (Valuation-Based Fee)San Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the San Bernardino County pageone-time, per project2026-09-27
On-Site Wastewater (Septic) and Well Construction Permitsonly if it applies to youSan Bernardino County Department of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health ServicesVaries — formula on the San Bernardino County pagevaries — most fees are one-time per project; the DMA Individual Septic System Permit is biennial2026-09-27
Annual Fire Code Inspection / Operational PermitSan Bernardino County Fire Protection DistrictVaries — formula on the San Bernardino County pageannual2026-09-27
General Business License — San Bernardino County positiononly if it applies to youSan Bernardino County Clerk of the Board of SupervisorsNo feenot applicable — per the Clerk of the Board, the County does not issue a business license covering the entire County2026-09-27

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

CA registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Statement of Information (LLC)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$20 per filing, biennialbiennial2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$70 one-time filingno expiry, but a Statement of Information is due biennially2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$100 one-time filingno expiry, but a Statement of Information is due annually2026-09-03
Statement of Information (Corporation)only if it applies to youCalifornia Secretary of State, Business Programs Division$25 per filing, annualannual2026-09-03
Seller's Permitonly if it applies to youCalifornia Department of Tax and Fee AdministrationNo fee — no fee to applyno expiry while actively engaged in business as a seller2026-09-03
Annual LLC Tax and Minimum Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youCalifornia Franchise Tax BoardVaries — formula on the CA pageannual, until the entity is cancelled2026-09-03
General Business License — California position (city or county, not state)California Secretary of State, Business Programs DivisionNo feeset by the issuing city or county2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in San Bernardino County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a childcare centre in San Bernardino County, CA, 6 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $385.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Conditional Use Permit / Minor Use Permit (Planning Division Entitlement): Conditional Use Permit — Initial Deposit $16,468.00 (actual-cost basis: the deposit is drawn down against staff review time, additional deposits may be billed for further work, and any unused balance is refunded). Minor Use Permit — Initial Deposit $8,420.00, same actual-cost basis. Both are County Code §16.0215A fees, effective July 1, 2026, and are separate from — and far larger than — the $1,020 Environmental Health Services 'Tentative Tract Review/CUP/MUP/TUP' referral fee charged within the same application (recorded as its own line item for the County).

Child Care Centre License: $484–$2,420 original application, banded by licensed capacity

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the San Bernardino County permits page and the CA state page.

Which offices issue these permits in San Bernardino County?

Permits for a childcare centre in San Bernardino County, CA come from 9 separate offices: San Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety Division, San Bernardino County Department of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health Services, San Bernardino County Clerk of the Board of Supervisors, San Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Planning Division, San Bernardino County Fire Protection District, California Secretary of State, Business Programs Division, California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, California Franchise Tax Board, California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in San Bernardino County that other businesses do not?

3 of the 5 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in San Bernardino County: Child Care License — State Community Care Licensing; County Fire/Building Inspection Fees Apply (San Bernardino County), Day Care Home-Family Inspection Fee and Child Care Centre License.

Environmental Health Services Referral Fee (component of a CUP/MUP/Tentative Tract application)

This $1,020.00 fee is EHS's own referral-review charge for its participation in someone else's Planning Division application — it is billed under the line item 'Tentative Tract Review/CUP/MUP/TUP' and covers EHS's health/environmental review of that application, not the application itself. IT IS NOT THE COST OF A CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT OR MINOR USE PERMIT: the actual Planning Division entitlement deposit is $16,468.00 (CUP) or $8,420.00 (MUP) under the County Fee Ordinance effective July 1, 2026, recorded as its own requirement for the County, and this EHS charge is a smaller component fee within that larger process, paid in addition to it, not instead of it. Related EHS Land Use fees on the same fee-schedule section include a Planned Development referral at $866.00, a 'CUP: Revision to an Approved Action' at $638.00, a Minor Subdivision/Tentative Parcel Map referral at $333.00, and a Temporary Special Event Application referral at $295.00 initial or $257.00 renewal — all from the current EHS Fee Schedule (Data Date 6/30/2026).

Child Care License — State Community Care Licensing; County Fire/Building Inspection Fees Apply (San Bernardino County)

The County's own Business Information document lists 'Family Care (Adult and Child) — Community Care Licensing, 951-782-4200,' a California Department of Social Services function, and names no parallel county childcare license, so there is no county childcare license fee. Childcare is not fee-free at the county level, though: SBCoFD charges a 'Day Care Facility — Group E Occupancy' mandated fire inspection fee of $425 (fee schedule effective July 1, 2026, recorded separately for the County), and LUS Building & Safety separately charges a $385 'Day care home-family inspection' fee (County Fee Ordinance effective July 1, 2026) — both county fees layered on top of the state license, not licenses in themselves. Under California's Family Day Care Homes preemption statutes (Health & Safety Code §1597.40 et seq.), a small family day care home (up to eight children) is a use permitted by right in any residential zone and cannot be made subject to a discretionary county zoning permit or CUP; a large family day care home (nine to fourteen children) is a permitted use subject only to limited, specified local standards; the County's fee documents add no San Bernardino County-specific implementation detail to that state framework.

Day Care Home-Family Inspection Fee

A $385.00 flat fee that LUS Building & Safety charges for a 'Day care home-family inspection,' per the County Fee Ordinance's Building & Safety fees effective July 1, 2026. This is layered on top of, not a substitute for, the state Community Care Licensing family day care home license recorded at the state layer, and on top of SBCoFD's separate $425 Day Care Facility Group E Occupancy fire-inspection fee recorded separately for the County. The fee schedule does not state whether this Building & Safety inspection is a one-time event tied to initial state licensing or something the County repeats on its own cycle; confirm with LUS Building & Safety before assuming either.

Child Care Centre License

Banded by licensed capacity, and the annual fee is always half the application fee. 1 to 30 children costs $484 to apply and $242 a year; 31 to 60 is $968 and $484; 61 to 75 is $1,210 and $605; 76 to 90 is $1,452 and $726; 91 to 120 is $1,936 and $968; 121 or more is $2,420 and $1,210. A family child care home in a residence is the separate, much cheaper track: $73 for 1 to 8 children and $140 for 9 to 14, with the annual fee equal to the application fee. Watch the add-ons, which are where budgets slip: changing licensed capacity costs $25, relocating costs half the application fee again, a department orientation is $50 a person, a late annual fee adds 50 per cent, and failing to implement a plan of correction by its stated date costs $200. Non-payment is itself grounds to deny or forfeit the license.

Shared with other businesses in San Bernardino County

  • Conditional Use Permit / Minor Use Permit (Planning Division Entitlement) — San Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Planning Division, Conditional Use Permit — Initial Deposit $16,468.00 (actual-cost basis: the deposit is drawn down against staff review time, additional deposits may be billed for further work, and any unused balance is refunded). Minor Use Permit — Initial Deposit $8,420.00, same actual-cost basis. Both are County Code §16.0215A fees, effective July 1, 2026, and are separate from — and far larger than — the $1,020 Environmental Health Services 'Tentative Tract Review/CUP/MUP/TUP' referral fee charged within the same application (recorded as its own line item for the County)., one-time per application; the permit itself then runs subject to the conditions the Planning Commission or Planning Director imposes. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in San Bernardino County, CA; what each one involves is set out on the San Bernardino County permits page. The 7 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across CA and are covered on the CA state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in San Bernardino County?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Child Care License — State Community Care Licensing; County Fire/Building Inspection Fees Apply (San Bernardino County), Day Care Home-Family Inspection Fee and Child Care Centre License. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in San Bernardino County, CA, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2230
Auto repair shops3231
Veterinary clinics5233
Restaurants8236
Coffee shops10238
Contractors and trades1051
Food trucks5055
Retail stores6056
Salons and barbers1051

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the San Bernardino County permits page and the CA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Environmental Health Services Fee Schedule (Data Date 6/30/2026) — food, mobile food, temporary food, medical waste, land-use referral and OWTS/well feesSan Bernardino County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  2. County Fee Ordinance FY 2026-27 (effective July 1, 2026), County Code §16.0215A Planning fees — Conditional Use Permit ($16,468) and Minor Use Permit ($8,420) initial deposits, sign permit fees, and the ABC Letter of Convenience or Necessity and Record Review feesSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Planning Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  3. County Business Information (revised 02/05/2026) — states that the Clerk of the Board does not issue licenses for businesses in the unincorporated area and that the County does not issue a business license covering the entire County, and lists the state agencies for alcohol and family-care licensingSan Bernardino County Clerk of the Board of Supervisors · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  4. Fee Schedule, Fiscal Years 2026-27, 2027-28 and 2028-29, Attachment A (first year effective July 1, 2026) — Community Safety Division construction/operational/mandated-inspection fees (Sections A-F) and Hazardous Materials Division CUPA/hazmat/UST fees (Section G)San Bernardino County Fire Protection District · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  5. County Fee Ordinance FY 2026-27 (effective July 1, 2026), County Code §16.0204 Building & Safety fees — sign construction fees and the Day Care Home-Family Inspection feeSan Bernardino County Land Use Services Department, Building & Safety Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  6. California Health and Safety Code section 1596.803 — child day care facility application and annual fees by licensed capacityCalifornia Legislative Information · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.