9 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Net Health?
In short
A restaurant in Net Health, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) charges $150 per inspection for the food establishment re-inspection fee. 4 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Net Health
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farmers Market Vendor Permitonly if it applies to you | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $25–$100 per year, by risk band | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $150 per inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-25 |
| Retail Food Establishment Permit | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $345–$773 per year, by risk band | 1 year, prorated on first issue | 2026-08-25 |
| Retail Food Establishment Plan Review | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $175–$600 per review, by floor area | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary Food Vendor Permitonly if it applies to you | Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) | $52 per vendor | per event | 2026-08-25 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Net Health?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a restaurant in Net Health, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Farmers Market Vendor Permit: $25–$100 per year, by risk band
Retail Food Establishment Permit: $345–$773 per year, by risk band
Retail Food Establishment Plan Review: $175–$600 per review, by floor area
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
Which offices issue these permits in Net Health?
Permits for a restaurant in Net Health, TX come from 4 separate offices: Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health), Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health)Issues 5 permits on this page, including Farmers Market Vendor Permit, Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee, Retail Food Establishment Permit815 N Broadway Avenue, Tyler, TX 75702www.netphd.org
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in Net Health that other businesses do not?
1 of the 6 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Net Health: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
Retail Food Establishment Permit
Five risk bands: very low $345, low $405, medium $505, high $665 and very high $773. That top figure is the ceiling Senate Bill 1008 permits, so NET Health prices right up to the statutory limit for its riskiest premises while starting well above most districts at the bottom. The initial permit is prorated across twelve months to align its expiry with any other permit the same establishment holds — the district's own example is a hotel with a commercial pool permit and a continental breakfast service, which ends up with one renewal date instead of two. Non-profit organisations as defined in the order are exempt, but the order is explicit that a civic or fraternal body, charity, lodge, association, proprietorship, corporation or church that does not meet the definition must obtain a permit and pay.
Retail Food Establishment Plan Review
Banded on floor area for new construction, conversion or a change of ownership with modifications: $175 up to 999 square feet, $200 to 4,999, $400 to 24,999 and $600 above 25,000. A remodel is $175 flat, and a change of ownership with no change to menu, concept or equipment layout is also $175. A food truck park is reviewed on how many vehicles it holds — $75 for two to four, $125 for five to ten, $175 above eleven — which is an unusual thing to price and useful if you are planning one.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Net Health
- Farmers Market Vendor Permit — Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health), $25–$100 per year, by risk band, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee — Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health), $150 per inspection, per inspection. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Temporary Food Vendor Permit — Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health), $52 per vendor, per event. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Net Health?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Farmers Market Vendor Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A coffee shop needs nothing here that a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 2 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 4 | 4 | 2 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 4 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Net Health permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- NET Health Retail Food Permit Fee Schedule, Exhibit A, dated 25 September 2025 and effective 1 September 2025 (filed with Texas DSHS 29 September 2025)Northeast Texas Public Health District, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- NET Health Board Approved District Order 2024-2Northeast Texas Public Health District, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
