Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in North Las Vegas?

In short

A veterinary clinic in North Las Vegas, NV has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of North Las Vegas Planning and Zoning Division charges $100 one-time, per request for the zoning verification letter. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in North Las Vegas

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Veterinary (billed as Professional Business)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionBilled under the 'Professional business' entry of NLVMC 5.02.250 (P—License Fees): $200.00 annually for the first professional at an in-city location plus $150.00 for each additional professional, or $200.00 per professional for an out-of-city business — plus the $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (5.02.035) due with the new application. The chapter's own Definitions section (5.02.001) defines 'professional' as anyone holding a license from a regulatory body under Nevada Revised Statutes Title 54 with a relevant bachelor's degree or higher, a definition broad enough to include a Nevada-licensed veterinarian since NRS Chapter 638 sits within Title 54 — but the retrieved Professional Business fee text does not name 'veterinarian' explicitly, so this assignment is a reasoned inference rather than a direct citation.annual2026-09-09
Sign Permit (fee not separately published)City of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services)No feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Veterinary Facility PermitNevada State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners$500 if the facility is owned by a licensed veterinarian, $700 if it is not, $150 for a mobile clinic, or $200 for a nonprofit facilitybiennial2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in North Las Vegas

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of North Las Vegas Planning and Zoning Division$100 one-time, per requestone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services)No feeone-time, no expiration2026-09-09
Fire Prevention Business License Inspection and Permit Feesonly if it applies to youNorth Las Vegas Fire Department, Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the North Las Vegas pageannual for Annual Permits; one-time for Temporary Permits and the business-license inspection itself2026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services)Varies — formula on the North Las Vegas pageone-time, per project2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Listonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageannual, filed alongside the state business license renewal2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax PermitNevada Department of Taxation$15 for each location, one timeno expiration — valid until suspended or revoked2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04
State Business LicenseNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$200 a year for most entity types; a corporation pays $500annual — due on the last day of the anniversary month the license was first filed2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$225 $75 to file plus a $150 initial list, filed togetherperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in North Las Vegas?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a veterinary clinic in North Las Vegas, NV, 7 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $215.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

General Business License — Veterinary (billed as Professional Business): Billed under the 'Professional business' entry of NLVMC 5.02.250 (P—License Fees): $200.00 annually for the first professional at an in-city location plus $150.00 for each additional professional, or $200.00 per professional for an out-of-city business — plus the $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (5.02.035) due with the new application. The chapter's own Definitions section (5.02.001) defines 'professional' as anyone holding a license from a regulatory body under Nevada Revised Statutes Title 54 with a relevant bachelor's degree or higher, a definition broad enough to include a Nevada-licensed veterinarian since NRS Chapter 638 sits within Title 54 — but the retrieved Professional Business fee text does not name 'veterinarian' explicitly, so this assignment is a reasoned inference rather than a direct citation.

Veterinary Facility Permit: $500 if the facility is owned by a licensed veterinarian, $700 if it is not, $150 for a mobile clinic, or $200 for a nonprofit facility

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the North Las Vegas permits page and the NV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in North Las Vegas?

Permits for a veterinary clinic in North Las Vegas, NV come from 7 separate offices: City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License Division, City of North Las Vegas Planning and Zoning Division, City of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services), North Las Vegas Fire Department, Fire Prevention, Nevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division, Nevada State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, Nevada Department of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a veterinary clinic need in North Las Vegas that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here apply to no other business type we cover in North Las Vegas: General Business License — Veterinary (billed as Professional Business) and Veterinary Facility Permit.

General Business License — Veterinary (billed as Professional Business)

Confirm this classification directly with the Business License Division (702-633-1520) before relying on it, since the ordinance text this research could retrieve never names veterinary practice by name under the Professional Business entry. This is on top of, not instead of, the Nevada Veterinary Facility Permit and individual veterinarian license recorded at the state layer.

Veterinary Facility Permit

This is a required, separate premises permit, and its price turns on ownership rather than being one flat figure: $500 where a licensed veterinarian owns the facility, $700 where they do not, $150 for a mobile clinic and $200 for a nonprofit facility. None of these fees is refundable. A facility that advertises emergency service must keep a licensed veterinarian on the premises around the clock. The permit renews on the same two-year cycle as an individual veterinarian's own license.

Shared with other businesses in North Las Vegas

  • Sign Permit (fee not separately published) — City of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services), No fee, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in North Las Vegas, NV; what each one involves is set out on the North Las Vegas permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NV and are covered on the NV state page.

How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in North Las Vegas?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs General Business License — Veterinary (billed as Professional Business) and Veterinary Facility Permit. A fitness studio needs General Business License — Health & Fitness Club (category fee not published), which a veterinary clinic does not.

Permits particular to each business type in North Las Vegas, NV, compared with a veterinary clinic
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a veterinary clinicOnly a veterinary clinic needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2121
Retail stores2121
Auto repair shops3122
Salons and barbers3122
Coffee shops5124
Restaurants5124
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades2032
Food trucks4034

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the North Las Vegas permits page and the NV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.250 — P—License fees (Professional business, $200 first professional plus $150 each additional)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.001 — Definitions (including 'Professional,' 'Professional business' and 'Food establishment')City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.035 — Processing fee ($30 non-refundable fee on every new business-license application)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  4. Nevada Administrative Code section 638.035 — veterinary facility permit fees by ownership typeNevada State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.