Commercial Compliance Hub

North Las Vegas

City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License Division

In short

City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License Division issues 10 permits we publish for North Las Vegas, last verified 2026-09-09. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Coffee Shop/Cafe (category fee not published)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionA $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (NLVMC 5.02.035) applies to every new business-license application, due at filing. No line item for a coffee shop, cafe or comparable category appears in the F section (which prices only Finance company, Fireworks and Fortuneteller) or in any of the chapter's other ten letter sections (A, B, C, D, H, P, R, S, V and W — the only ones that exist). Section 5.02.100 levies its category fee only 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories,' so the chapter sets no additional fee for a business type it does not name.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
General Business License — ContractorCity of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License Division$100.00 semiannually (NLVMC 5.02.130, C—License Fees) for any person licensed or required to be licensed as a contractor under NRS Chapter 624, plus the $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (5.02.035) due with the new application.semiannual — billed twice yearly; no fixed calendar renewal date is stated in the source2026-09-09
General Business License — Restaurant (category fee not published)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionA $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (NLVMC 5.02.035) applies to every new business-license application, due at filing. Chapter 5.02's fee schedule runs through eleven alphabetical 'License Fees' sections (5.02.110 through 5.02.310, letters A, B, C, D, F, H, P, R, S, V and W — the only letter sections the chapter contains), each naming specific trades by name. None of them contains a line item for a restaurant, food establishment, eating house or comparable category — the R section itself prices only Real Estate Agent, Real Estate Agency/Broker, Recovery Bureau, Rental Agency, Rental Property and Room Registry Business. Section 5.02.100 levies its category fee only 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories,' so the chapter sets no additional fee for a business type it does not name.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
General Business License — Auto Repair/Garage (category fee not published)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionA $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (NLVMC 5.02.035) applies to every new business-license application, due at filing. The A section prices only an 'Automobile reclaiming agency' ($100.00 annually), a salvage/recovery business rather than a repair shop; no 'Garage,' 'Automotive Repair' or similar line item appears in that or any of the chapter's other nine letter sections (B, C, D, F, H, P, R, S, V and W — the only ones that exist), and no 'G' section exists at all. Section 5.02.100 levies its category fee only 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories,' so the chapter sets no additional fee for a business type it does not name.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
General Business License — Barber Shop or Beauty ParlorCity of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License Division$70.00 annually for the first barber or beauty-parlor chair, plus $20.00 annually for each additional chair (NLVMC 5.02.120, B—License Fees), plus the $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (5.02.035) due with the new application.annual2026-09-09
General Business License — Veterinary (billed as Professional Business)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionBilled under the 'Professional business' entry of NLVMC 5.02.250 (P—License Fees): $200.00 annually for the first professional at an in-city location plus $150.00 for each additional professional, or $200.00 per professional for an out-of-city business — plus the $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (5.02.035) due with the new application. The chapter's own Definitions section (5.02.001) defines 'professional' as anyone holding a license from a regulatory body under Nevada Revised Statutes Title 54 with a relevant bachelor's degree or higher, a definition broad enough to include a Nevada-licensed veterinarian since NRS Chapter 638 sits within Title 54 — but the retrieved Professional Business fee text does not name 'veterinarian' explicitly, so this assignment is a reasoned inference rather than a direct citation.annual2026-09-09
Child Care Facility License (fee unpublished)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
General Business License — Retail Store (category fee not published)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionA $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (NLVMC 5.02.035) applies to every new business-license application, due at filing. No 'Retail Store,' 'Merchandise' or 'Merchant' line item appears in the S section (which prices Salvage Yard, Secondhand Dealers, Short-Term Rental, Sidewalk Vendor, Solicitor and Storage Facilities, but nothing for an ordinary retail shop) or in any of the chapter's other ten letter sections (A, B, C, D, F, H, P, R, V and W — the only ones that exist). Section 5.02.100 levies its category fee only 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories,' so the chapter sets no additional fee for a business type it does not name.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
General Business License — Health & Fitness Club (category fee not published)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionA $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (NLVMC 5.02.035) applies to every new business-license application, due at filing. No 'Gymnasium,' 'Health Club' or 'Physical Fitness' line item appears anywhere in Chapter 5.02's eleven letter sections — the H section prices only Home health care, Hotels—Motels and House moving, with no health-club or gymnasium entry, and the P section prices only an individual 'Personal Fitness Trainer' at $100.00 annually, a different thing from a licensed fitness facility. Section 5.02.100 levies its category fee only 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories,' so the chapter sets no facility-level fee for this business type. The $30 processing fee, and the separate $100.00-annually individual-trainer fee if the operator is also personally licensed as a trainer, are the only amounts the chapter sets.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Mobile Food Vendor Business LicenseCity of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License Division$60.00 annually (NLVMC 5.02.300, V—License Fees, 'Vendors—mobile') for each person selling or soliciting the sale of edible foods from a motorized vehicle approved by the Southern Nevada Health District, plus the $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (5.02.035) due with the new application — $90.00 total at first filing, $60.00 in subsequent renewal years.annual2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

General Business License — Coffee Shop/Cafe (category fee not published)

A general business license is mandatory regardless (NLVMC 5.02.020); the fee schedule simply does not price a coffee shop or cafe category separately from the flat $30 processing fee. A current Southern Nevada Health District food establishment permit and food handler cards (state layer) are required before the City license issues.

General Business License — Contractor

A current Nevada State Contractors Board license (recorded at the state layer, whose own headquarters sits in neighboring Henderson) is required first — this City license is on top of, not instead of, that state one.

General Business License — Restaurant (category fee not published)

A general business license is mandatory for a restaurant regardless (NLVMC 5.02.020); the Municipal Code's fee schedule simply does not price a restaurant or food-establishment category separately from the flat $30 processing fee. A current Southern Nevada Health District food establishment permit and food handler cards (recorded at the state layer, since SNHD covers all of Clark County including North Las Vegas) are required before the City license issues.

General Business License — Auto Repair/Garage (category fee not published)

A general business license is mandatory regardless (NLVMC 5.02.020); the fee schedule simply does not price an auto-repair or garage category separately from the flat $30 processing fee. A repair garage is separately named as 'Repair Garages' in the Fire Department's own annual-permit category list (see the fire records below) even though it has no Chapter 5.02 business-license line item.

General Business License — Barber Shop or Beauty Parlor

This is on top of, not instead of, the Nevada Salon and Barbershop Establishment License from the State Board of Cosmetology (recorded at the state layer), which already licenses the practitioner and the premises.

General Business License — Veterinary (billed as Professional Business)

Confirm this classification directly with the Business License Division (702-633-1520) before relying on it, since the ordinance text this research could retrieve never names veterinary practice by name under the Professional Business entry. This is on top of, not instead of, the Nevada Veterinary Facility Permit and individual veterinarian license recorded at the state layer.

Child Care Facility License (fee unpublished)

NLVMC Chapter 5.14 (Child Care Facilities) is North Las Vegas's dedicated child-care licensing chapter — cross-referenced directly from the general business-license schedule's 'C' section ('Child care — See Chapter 5.14') and confirmed by Chapter 5.14's own table of contents, which names 5.14.090 (License—Fees—Insurance) as the fee section. That section's dollar figure is not published on any source this review reached. A child-care business is licensed under 5.14.010 regardless of the unpublished fee; confirm the current amount directly with the Business License Division (702-633-1520). This sits on top of, not instead of, the Nevada Division of Welfare and Supportive Services child care license recorded at the state layer.

General Business License — Retail Store (category fee not published)

A general business license is mandatory regardless (NLVMC 5.02.020); the fee schedule simply does not price an ordinary retail-store category separately from the flat $30 processing fee. A specific named line of retail trade (for example Secondhand Dealers, priced separately in the S section) may carry its own fee — check the business's exact classification with the Business License Division (702-633-1520) before filing.

General Business License — Health & Fitness Club (category fee not published)

A general business license is mandatory regardless (NLVMC 5.02.020); the fee schedule simply does not price a health-club or fitness-facility category separately from the flat $30 processing fee. A facility with a pool or spa requires a separate Southern Nevada Health District permit on top of this license.

Mobile Food Vendor Business License

This is the City's own vehicle-as-a-business license — a Southern Nevada Health District permit for the vehicle and a food handler card for each operator (recorded at the state layer) are required on top of it. Chapter 5.30 also sets operating conditions for mobile food vendors (buffer distances, commissary requirements, right-of-way rules); confirm the conditions that apply to a given vehicle directly with the Business License Division (702-633-1520).

Contact

Jurisdiction
North Las Vegas
Phone
(702) 633-1520

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.001 — Definitions (including 'Professional,' 'Professional business' and 'Food establishment')City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.035 — Processing fee ($30 non-refundable fee on every new business-license application)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.100 — Scope of licence fees for businesses (fees apply 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories')City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  4. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.110 — A—License Fees (no automotive-repair or garage entry)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  5. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.120 — B—License Fees (Barber shop / Beauty parlor, $70 first chair plus $20 each additional)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  6. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.130 — C—License Fees (Contractor, $100 semiannual; Child care cross-referenced to Chapter 5.14)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  7. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.160 — F—License fees (Finance Company, Fireworks, Fortuneteller — no coffee shop, cafe or eating-establishment entry)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  8. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.180 — H—License Fees (Handbills, Hippodrome, Home health care, Hotels—Motels, House moving, House wrecking — no health club, gymnasium or fitness entry)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
  9. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.250 — P—License fees (Professional business, $200 first professional plus $150 each additional)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  10. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.260 — R—License Fees (no restaurant or retail entry)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  11. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.270 — S—License Fees (no store, retail or salon entry)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  12. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.300 — V—License Fees ('Vendors—mobile,' $60 annually for a motorized mobile food vehicle)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  13. North Las Vegas Municipal Code Chapter 5.14 — Child Care Facilities, table of contents (License required, Definitions, ... License—Fees—Insurance)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09

Other offices serving North Las Vegas

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Nevada jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.