Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in North Las Vegas?

In short

A restaurant in North Las Vegas, NV has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of North Las Vegas Planning and Zoning Division charges $100 one-time, per request for the zoning verification letter. 7 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in North Las Vegas

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Restaurant (category fee not published)City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License DivisionA $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (NLVMC 5.02.035) applies to every new business-license application, due at filing. Chapter 5.02's fee schedule runs through eleven alphabetical 'License Fees' sections (5.02.110 through 5.02.310, letters A, B, C, D, F, H, P, R, S, V and W — the only letter sections the chapter contains), each naming specific trades by name. None of them contains a line item for a restaurant, food establishment, eating house or comparable category — the R section itself prices only Real Estate Agent, Real Estate Agency/Broker, Recovery Bureau, Rental Agency, Rental Property and Room Registry Business. Section 5.02.100 levies its category fee only 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories,' so the chapter sets no additional fee for a business type it does not name.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Sign Permit (fee not separately published)City of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services)No feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Kitchen Hood Suppression System Permitonly if it applies to youNorth Las Vegas Fire Department, Fire PreventionUnder the Fire Department's 2010 fee schedule, a kitchen hood suppression system is reviewed as a fire-specific building plan: the Fire Plan Review Fee is $100.00, or the applicable Building Permit fee under Title 15, whichever is greater (this $100 minimum does not apply to a single-family residence or duplex, which is not relevant to a commercial kitchen). Plan-review corrections, revisions or as-builts are a further $80.00 per occurrence.one-time, per system installation2026-09-09
Food Handler Safety Training CardSouthern Nevada Health District$25 for a new card or an on-time renewal; a lapsed renewal is $403 years2026-09-04
Food Establishment PermitSouthern Nevada Health District$290–$1,334 a year, set by whichever of three regulators covers the addressannual2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in North Las Vegas

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of North Las Vegas Planning and Zoning Division$100 one-time, per requestone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services)No feeone-time, no expiration2026-09-09
Fire Prevention Business License Inspection and Permit Feesonly if it applies to youNorth Las Vegas Fire Department, Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the North Las Vegas pageannual for Annual Permits; one-time for Temporary Permits and the business-license inspection itself2026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services)Varies — formula on the North Las Vegas pageone-time, per project2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NV registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Annual Listonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageannual, filed alongside the state business license renewal2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax PermitNevada Department of Taxation$15 for each location, one timeno expiration — valid until suspended or revoked2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings DivisionVaries — formula on the NV pageperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04
State Business LicenseNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$200 a year for most entity types; a corporation pays $500annual — due on the last day of the anniversary month the license was first filed2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division$225 $75 to file plus a $150 initial list, filed togetherperpetual, but an annual list and the state business license are both due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in North Las Vegas?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in North Las Vegas, NV, 8 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $240.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

General Business License — Restaurant (category fee not published): A $30.00 non-refundable processing fee (NLVMC 5.02.035) applies to every new business-license application, due at filing. Chapter 5.02's fee schedule runs through eleven alphabetical 'License Fees' sections (5.02.110 through 5.02.310, letters A, B, C, D, F, H, P, R, S, V and W — the only letter sections the chapter contains), each naming specific trades by name. None of them contains a line item for a restaurant, food establishment, eating house or comparable category — the R section itself prices only Real Estate Agent, Real Estate Agency/Broker, Recovery Bureau, Rental Agency, Rental Property and Room Registry Business. Section 5.02.100 levies its category fee only 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories,' so the chapter sets no additional fee for a business type it does not name.

Kitchen Hood Suppression System Permit: Under the Fire Department's 2010 fee schedule, a kitchen hood suppression system is reviewed as a fire-specific building plan: the Fire Plan Review Fee is $100.00, or the applicable Building Permit fee under Title 15, whichever is greater (this $100 minimum does not apply to a single-family residence or duplex, which is not relevant to a commercial kitchen). Plan-review corrections, revisions or as-builts are a further $80.00 per occurrence.

Food Establishment Permit: $290–$1,334 a year, set by whichever of three regulators covers the address

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the North Las Vegas permits page and the NV state page.

Which offices issue these permits in North Las Vegas?

Permits for a restaurant in North Las Vegas, NV come from 7 separate offices: City of North Las Vegas Finance Department, Business License Division, City of North Las Vegas Planning and Zoning Division, City of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services), North Las Vegas Fire Department, Fire Prevention, Nevada Secretary of State, Commercial Recordings Division, Southern Nevada Health District, Nevada Department of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in North Las Vegas that other businesses do not?

1 of the 5 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in North Las Vegas: General Business License — Restaurant (category fee not published).

General Business License — Restaurant (category fee not published)

A general business license is mandatory for a restaurant regardless (NLVMC 5.02.020); the Municipal Code's fee schedule simply does not price a restaurant or food-establishment category separately from the flat $30 processing fee. A current Southern Nevada Health District food establishment permit and food handler cards (recorded at the state layer, since SNHD covers all of Clark County including North Las Vegas) are required before the City license issues.

Shared with other businesses in North Las Vegas

  • Sign Permit (fee not separately published) — City of North Las Vegas Permit Application Center (Building Safety / Development Services), No fee, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Kitchen Hood Suppression System Permit — North Las Vegas Fire Department, Fire Prevention, Under the Fire Department's 2010 fee schedule, a kitchen hood suppression system is reviewed as a fire-specific building plan: the Fire Plan Review Fee is $100.00, or the applicable Building Permit fee under Title 15, whichever is greater (this $100 minimum does not apply to a single-family residence or duplex, which is not relevant to a commercial kitchen). Plan-review corrections, revisions or as-builts are a further $80.00 per occurrence., one-time, per system installation. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Handler Safety Training Card — Southern Nevada Health District, $25 for a new card or an on-time renewal; a lapsed renewal is $40, 3 years. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — Southern Nevada Health District, $290–$1,334 a year, set by whichever of three regulators covers the address, annual. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in North Las Vegas, NV; what each one involves is set out on the North Las Vegas permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NV and are covered on the NV state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in North Las Vegas?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A restaurant also needs General Business License — Restaurant (category fee not published). A coffee shop needs General Business License — Coffee Shop/Cafe (category fee not published), which a restaurant does not.

Permits particular to each business type in North Las Vegas, NV, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops5411
Food trucks4321
Fitness studios2141
Retail stores2141
Auto repair shops3142
Salons and barbers3142
Veterinary clinics3142
Childcare centres2052
Contractors and trades2052

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the North Las Vegas permits page and the NV state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.035 — Processing fee ($30 non-refundable fee on every new business-license application)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.260 — R—License Fees (no restaurant or retail entry)City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. North Las Vegas Municipal Code § 5.02.100 — Scope of licence fees for businesses (fees apply 'at the rate set forth in the respective categories')City of North Las Vegas, codified by Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.