Commercial Compliance Hub

Las Vegas

City of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing Division

In short

City of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing Division issues 10 permits we publish for Las Vegas, last verified 2026-09-09. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Barber or CosmetologyCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing Division$50 for the first customer chair or station, plus $50 for each additional chair or station, plus a $50 processing fee — priced per chair, not on the standard $150 flat structure most categories use.not stated in the source beyond the initial application fee2026-09-09
General Business License — Veterinary ClinicCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionA one-time $50 non-refundable application fee, plus a semiannual license fee of $100 for the first licensed professional at the facility and $75 for each additional professional.semiannual — billed twice yearly in advance; no fixed calendar renewal date is stated in the source2026-09-09
General Business License — RestaurantCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionA one-time $50 non-refundable processing fee, plus a $100 license fee, both due when the application is submitted; the $100 license fee is then billed again every six months in advance, scaled to the business's gross revenue.semiannual — billed twice yearly in advance based on gross revenue; no fixed calendar renewal date is stated in the source2026-09-09
General Business License — Food Services or CafeCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionA one-time $50 non-refundable processing fee, plus a $100 license fee, both due when the application is submitted; the $100 license fee is then billed again every six months in advance, scaled to the business's gross revenue.semiannual — billed twice yearly in advance based on gross revenue; no fixed calendar renewal date is stated in the source2026-09-09
General Business License — General Retail SalesCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionA one-time $50 non-refundable processing fee, plus a $100 license fee, both due when the application is submitted; the $100 license fee is then billed again every six months in advance, scaled to the business's gross revenue.semiannual — billed twice yearly in advance based on gross revenue; no fixed calendar renewal date is stated in the source2026-09-09
General Business License — Automotive Garage (Minor or Major)City of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionA one-time $50 non-refundable processing fee, plus a $100 license fee, both due when the application is submitted; the $100 license fee is then billed again every six months in advance, scaled to the business's gross revenue — identical for the Minor (A55) and Major (A60) categories.semiannual — billed twice yearly in advance based on gross revenue; no fixed calendar renewal date is stated in the source2026-09-09
General Business License — Child Care Category (fee unpublished)City of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
General Business License — ContractorCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionA one-time $50 non-refundable application fee, plus a semiannual license fee of $125 where Las Vegas is the contractor's primary jurisdiction, or $100 for each additional secondary jurisdiction.semiannual — billed twice yearly in advance; no fixed calendar renewal date is stated in the source2026-09-09
Mobile Food Vendor Business LicenseCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing DivisionA one-time $50 non-refundable processing fee, plus a $100 license fee, both due when the application is submitted; the $100 license fee is then billed again every six months in advance, scaled to the business's gross revenue — the same $150-at-application structure and amount as the Mobile Food Trailer (M24) and Open Air Vending (O07) categories.semiannual — billed twice yearly in advance based on gross revenue; no fixed calendar renewal date is stated in the source2026-09-09
General Business License — Health and Fitness ClubCity of Las Vegas Department of Community Development, Business Licensing Division$200 license fee plus a $50 processing fee ($250 total) due at application — a different, higher figure than the $150 standard structure most categories use.not stated beyond the initial application fee2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

General Business License — Barber or Cosmetology

Applies to any person or establishment licensed or required to be licensed under NRS Chapter 643 or 644 offering barber or cosmetology services. A Nevada cosmetological establishment license (NRS 644.480, recorded at the state layer) is required first, from the same State Board of Cosmetology that already licenses the practitioner — this City license is on top of, not instead of, that state one.

General Business License — Veterinary Clinic

This is a 2012 figure: it comes from the City's category-instruction sheet for Veterinary Clinic (Category Q14) in an archived copy dated 7 March 2012, and the live page sits behind an automated-access challenge. Confirm the current fee directly with Business Licensing (702-229-6281) before relying on it. This is on top of, not instead of, the Nevada Veterinary Facility Permit and individual veterinarian license recorded at the state layer.

General Business License — Restaurant

Applies to a restaurant with seating for 30 or more. Third-party sites repeat a flat '$300' figure for this category; the City's own category-instruction sheet (in its archived January 2022 copy) shows this $50-plus-$100 structure instead. A current Southern Nevada Health District food permit (recorded at the state layer) must be on file first.

General Business License — Food Services or Cafe

Category R10 covers a business with seating for fewer than 30, including takeout, delivery, catering and specialty food counters — the category a coffee shop or cafe falls under, distinct from R09 (Restaurant, 30 or more seats), though the fee is identical. A current Southern Nevada Health District food permit (state layer) must be on file first.

General Business License — General Retail Sales

Category G50 is the generic retail category (clothing, office, household, personal and health supplies, vending, audio/video); a specific named retail trade may carry its own separate category — confirm with Business Licensing (702-229-6281).

General Business License — Automotive Garage (Minor or Major)

Category A55 (Minor) covers tune-ups, brakes, air conditioning, generator and tire work, plus parts and gasoline sales, on vehicles up to 10,000 lb gross weight. Category A60 (Major) covers body repair, painting, reconditioning and all A55 services, on vehicles that may exceed 10,000 lb. Both require a Nevada DMV Enforcement Division certificate and a wastewater profile from the City's Environmental Division before the business license issues.

General Business License — Child Care Category (fee unpublished)

The fee for a childcare business license is not published in the City's public licensing documents. The City's own Business Licensing category system names ten childcare category codes (Family Child Care Home, Nursery - Child Care, Child Care Center - Nursery/Preschool/Preschool-Nursery, Child Care - Institution/Special Needs/Onsite Care, Child Care Summer Camp, and Unlicensed Child Care), but their category-instruction pages sit behind an automated-access challenge, and the Business License Application (Form BL001) lists its fee line items without amounts. Whether a childcare business pays the same $150 standard structure most categories carry (see the restaurant/retail/auto-repair records above) or a category-specific amount is therefore not stated in a public City source. A childcare business is still subject to the general licensing requirement of LVMC 6.02.060 regardless; only the dollar figure is unpublished. Confirm the current fee directly with Business Licensing (702-229-6281). This is on top of, not instead of, the Nevada Division of Welfare and Supportive Services child care license recorded at the state layer.

General Business License — Contractor

Applies to any person licensed or required to be licensed as a contractor under NRS Chapter 624, whether or not the contractor's business is based in the City. A current Nevada State Contractors Board license (recorded at the state layer) is required first. This is on top of, not instead of, that state license. This fee is from the City's category sheet as archived on 13 September 2025; the live page sits behind an automated-access challenge.

Mobile Food Vendor Business License

This is the City's own vehicle-as-a-business license — a Health Permit for each vehicle and a health card for each operator from the Southern Nevada Health District (recorded separately at the state layer) is required on top of it, along with an LP-gas inspection, a commissary agreement, and public liability insurance naming the City as additional insured. Operating restrictions include a 1,000 ft buffer from school property during school hours, a 150 ft buffer from an open restaurant's entrance, and a 30-minute limit per location in the right-of-way (LVMC 6.55.090). This fee is from the City's category sheet as archived on 17 January 2026; the live page sits behind an automated-access challenge.

General Business License — Health and Fitness Club

This is a 2012 figure: it comes from the City's category-instruction sheet for Health and Fitness Club (Category H08) in an archived copy dated 7 March 2012, and the live page sits behind an automated-access challenge. Applies to any business open to the public providing equipment or facilities for physical fitness or weight control; also requires a Southern Nevada Health District permit if the facility has a pool or spa. Confirm the current figure directly with Business Licensing (702-229-6281) before relying on it.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Las Vegas
Phone
(702) 229-6281

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Business License Application, Form BL001 (revised 04/05/16) — fee line items (Application Processing Fee, Origination, License Fees) without published amountsCity of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. Business License Instructions — Automotive Garage, Major (Category A60, body repair/painting/reconditioning): fees due at application (Internet Archive capture, 29 January 2022; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  3. Business License Instructions — Automotive Garage/Service Station, Minor (Category A55, vehicles up to 10,000 lb): fees due at application (Internet Archive capture, 29 January 2022; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  4. Business License Instructions — Barber or Cosmetology (Category B05): per-chair fee schedule (Internet Archive capture, 29 January 2022; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  5. Business License Instructions — Contractor (Category C25): application and per-jurisdiction semi-annual fee (Internet Archive capture, 13 September 2025; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  6. Business License Instructions — Food Services or Cafe (Category R10, seating under 30): fees due at application (Internet Archive capture, 29 January 2022; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  7. Business License Instructions — General Retail Sales (Category G50): fees due at application (Internet Archive capture, 29 January 2022; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  8. Business License Instructions — Health and Fitness Club (Category H08): fees due at application (Internet Archive capture, 7 March 2012 — the only surviving capture; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  9. Business License Instructions — Mobile Food Vendor (Category M25): requirements and fees due at application (Internet Archive capture, 17 January 2026; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  10. Business License Instructions — Restaurant (Category R09): fees due at application (Internet Archive capture, 29 January 2022; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  11. Business License Instructions — Veterinary Clinic (Category Q14): per-professional fee schedule (Internet Archive capture, 7 March 2012 — the only surviving capture; the live host returns an automated-access challenge)City of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  12. Mobile Food Vendor General Information Handout, Form BL026 (revised 11/1/2021) — license categories, required documents and LVMC 6.55 citationsCity of Las Vegas, Business Licensing Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09

Other offices serving Las Vegas

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Nevada jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.