14 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Bellevue?
In short
A restaurant in Bellevue, NE has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department charges $50 per letter for the zoning verification letter. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Bellevue
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department | Banded by sign size: 35 square feet or less = $40.00; 36-75 square feet = $80.00; 76-150 square feet = $150.00; 151-300 square feet = $200.00; over 300 square feet = $300.00. Awnings are priced separately at $4.00 per 100 square feet of vertical projected area (or fraction thereof), with a $40.00 minimum. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Food Establishment Permit (administered directly by the Nebraska Department of Agriculture) | Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection | No fee | annual — set by the state's own renewal cycle (recorded at the state layer) | 2026-09-11 |
| Fire Alarm / Fire-Extinguishing System Permit (Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression)only if it applies to you | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | Range Hood Fire Extinguishing system: $10.65 each. Related fire alarm/detection devices installed at the same time (smoke detectors, pull stations, heat detectors, water flow switches, tamper switches, remote annunciators): $1.10 each; panel/circuit connections $4.75 each. A flat $23.50 issuance fee applies per permit, plus $7.25 for each supplemental permit issued. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection | No fee | set by the accrediting programme | 2026-09-04 |
| Retail Food Establishment Permit | Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection | $122 a year for a limited retail food establishment; further preparation areas add $61 each | annual — renewal payments are due by 1 August | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Bellevue
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department | $50 per letter | one-time, per request | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business Licensing — City of Bellevue Master Fee Schedule Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City Clerk | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
| Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department) | Varies — formula on the Bellevue page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
NE registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Nebraska Department of Revenue | No fee | no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Notice of Formation Publication | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the NE page | a one-time notice, published for three successive weeks | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the NE page | an LLC reports in odd-numbered years by 1 April, delinquent 16 June; a corporation reports in even-numbered years by 1 March, delinquent 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $110 in person or by mail | perpetual, but a biennial report is due in odd-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $110 in person or by mail | perpetual, but a biennial occupation tax report is due in even-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — State of Nebraska positiononly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Bellevue?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Bellevue, NE, 5 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $122.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Banded by sign size: 35 square feet or less = $40.00; 36-75 square feet = $80.00; 76-150 square feet = $150.00; 151-300 square feet = $200.00; over 300 square feet = $300.00. Awnings are priced separately at $4.00 per 100 square feet of vertical projected area (or fraction thereof), with a $40.00 minimum.
Fire Alarm / Fire-Extinguishing System Permit (Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression): Range Hood Fire Extinguishing system: $10.65 each. Related fire alarm/detection devices installed at the same time (smoke detectors, pull stations, heat detectors, water flow switches, tamper switches, remote annunciators): $1.10 each; panel/circuit connections $4.75 each. A flat $23.50 issuance fee applies per permit, plus $7.25 for each supplemental permit issued.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Bellevue permits page and the NE state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Bellevue?
Permits for a restaurant in Bellevue, NE come from 7 separate offices: City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department, City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City Clerk, City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department), Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection, City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Nebraska Department of Revenue, Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Verification Letter1500 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3000www.bellevue.net/334/Planning
- City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business Licensing — City of Bellevue Master Fee Schedule Position1500 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3007www.bellevue.net/278/City-Clerk
- City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department)Issues 1 permit on this page: Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy1510 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3014www.bellevue.net/331/Permits-Inspections
- Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer ProtectionIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Establishment Permit (administered directly by the Nebraska Department of Agriculture)PO Box 94947, Lincoln, NE 68509 · (402) 471-3422nda.nebraska.gov/fscp/foods/inspection_areas
- City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Alarm / Fire-Extinguishing System Permit (Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression)211 West 22nd Avenue, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 682-6630www.bellevue.net/180/Fire-Department
- Nebraska Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax PermitPO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509 · (402) 471-5729revenue.nebraska.gov/businesses/starting-business-nebraska
- Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer ProtectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager, Retail Food Establishment PermitPO Box 94947, Lincoln, NE 68509 · (402) 471-3422nda.nebraska.gov/fscp/foods/inspection_areas
- Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Notice of Formation Publication, Biennial Report, Certificate of Organization (LLC)1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508 · (402) 471-4079sos.nebraska.gov/business-services
What does a restaurant need in Bellevue that other businesses do not?
Retail Food Establishment Permit
The agriculture department's own fee schedule bands by establishment type and can change from year to year, but its published limited-retail figure sits at $122 for the initial permit and the same $122 annually after that, with each additional food preparation area adding $61. An establishment already operating before applying pays a further $60. This is not a statewide-only programme: applications for Lancaster, Douglas or Hall counties are forwarded to those counties' own delegated health departments — Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department and Douglas County Health Department in Omaha each run their own inspection and permitting programme rather than the state administering it directly.
Shared with other businesses in Bellevue
- Sign Permit — City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department, Banded by sign size: 35 square feet or less = $40.00; 36-75 square feet = $80.00; 76-150 square feet = $150.00; 151-300 square feet = $200.00; over 300 square feet = $300.00. Awnings are priced separately at $4.00 per 100 square feet of vertical projected area (or fraction thereof), with a $40.00 minimum., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Permit (administered directly by the Nebraska Department of Agriculture) — Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection, No fee, annual — set by the state's own renewal cycle (recorded at the state layer). Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Fire Alarm / Fire-Extinguishing System Permit (Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression) — City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Range Hood Fire Extinguishing system: $10.65 each. Related fire alarm/detection devices installed at the same time (smoke detectors, pull stations, heat detectors, water flow switches, tamper switches, remote annunciators): $1.10 each; panel/circuit connections $4.75 each. A flat $23.50 issuance fee applies per permit, plus $7.25 for each supplemental permit issued., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Certified Food Protection Manager — Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Consumer Protection, No fee, set by the accrediting programme. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Bellevue, NE; what each one involves is set out on the Bellevue permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NE and are covered on the NE state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Bellevue?
A restaurant and a coffee shop in Bellevue, NE need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 5 | 5 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 3 | 2 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 1 | 4 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 1 | 4 | 0 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 4 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 4 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 5 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 5 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Bellevue permits page and the NE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Nebraska Department of Agriculture — retail food inspection areas, and the counties with their own delegated programmeNebraska Department of Agriculture · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Nebraska Department of Agriculture — retail food permit renewal, due by 1 AugustNebraska Department of Agriculture · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
