Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-11

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Bellevue?

In short

A auto repair shop in Bellevue, NE has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department charges $50 per letter for the zoning verification letter. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

The permits at a glance

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License (not required by the City of Bellevue)only if it applies to youCity of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City ClerkNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of OccupancyCity of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department)Table 3-A of the 1997 Uniform Administrative Code (as amended, per the Master Fee Schedule), banded by project valuation: $1-$500 = $23.50 flat; $501-$2,000 = $23.50 plus $3.05 per $100 (or fraction) over $500; $2,001-$25,000 = $69.25 plus $14.00 per $1,000 (or fraction) over $2,000; $25,001-$50,000 = $391.75 plus $10.10 per $1,000 over $25,000; $50,001-$100,000 = $643.75 plus $7.00 per $1,000 over $50,000; $100,001-$500,000 = $993.75 plus $5.60 per $1,000 over $100,000; $500,001-$1,000,000 = $3,233.75 plus $4.75 per $1,000 over $500,000; over $1,000,000 = $5,608.75 plus $3.65 per $1,000 over $1,000,000. A commercial plan-review fee of 25% of the building permit fee applies on top of this for new construction. New commercial/civic/office construction separately triggers a $5,000.00-per-development-acre Arterial Street Improvement Program (ASIP) fee, and — only within the Papio Creek and South Sarpy Watershed boundaries — a $5,642.00-per-acre Papio Creek/South Sarpy Watershed Partnership fee (FY2024-2026 rate).one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning DepartmentBanded by sign size: 35 square feet or less = $40.00; 36-75 square feet = $80.00; 76-150 square feet = $150.00; 151-300 square feet = $200.00; over 300 square feet = $300.00. Awnings are priced separately at $4.00 per 100 square feet of vertical projected area (or fraction thereof), with a $40.00 minimum.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-11
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department$50 per letterone-time, per request2026-09-11
Repair Garage Fire Permit (not found in Bellevue's fee schedule)only if it applies to youCity of Bellevue, Nebraska, Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-11
Automotive Repair Shop Licence (not required by Nebraska)only if it applies to youNebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing BoardNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
General Business Licence (not required by Nebraska)only if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $110 in person or by mailperpetual, but a biennial report is due in odd-numbered years2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division$100 filed online; $110 in person or by mailperpetual, but a biennial occupation tax report is due in even-numbered years2026-09-04
Notice of Formation PublicationNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionSet by the newspaper itself, not the state, so no official figure exists — commonly reported in the region of $80 to $250 but unverified against any state schedulea one-time notice, published for three successive weeks2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youNebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionFor an LLC, $25 filed electronically or $30 in writing; for a corporation, an occupation tax starting at $26 domestic or $52 foreign, rising in tiers by paid-in capitalan LLC reports in odd-numbered years by 1 April, delinquent 16 June; a corporation reports in even-numbered years by 1 March, delinquent 15 April2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax PermitNebraska Department of RevenueNo feeno renewal required2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Bellevue?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a auto repair shop in Bellevue, NE, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:

Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy: Table 3-A of the 1997 Uniform Administrative Code (as amended, per the Master Fee Schedule), banded by project valuation: $1-$500 = $23.50 flat; $501-$2,000 = $23.50 plus $3.05 per $100 (or fraction) over $500; $2,001-$25,000 = $69.25 plus $14.00 per $1,000 (or fraction) over $2,000; $25,001-$50,000 = $391.75 plus $10.10 per $1,000 over $25,000; $50,001-$100,000 = $643.75 plus $7.00 per $1,000 over $50,000; $100,001-$500,000 = $993.75 plus $5.60 per $1,000 over $100,000; $500,001-$1,000,000 = $3,233.75 plus $4.75 per $1,000 over $500,000; over $1,000,000 = $5,608.75 plus $3.65 per $1,000 over $1,000,000. A commercial plan-review fee of 25% of the building permit fee applies on top of this for new construction. New commercial/civic/office construction separately triggers a $5,000.00-per-development-acre Arterial Street Improvement Program (ASIP) fee, and — only within the Papio Creek and South Sarpy Watershed boundaries — a $5,642.00-per-acre Papio Creek/South Sarpy Watershed Partnership fee (FY2024-2026 rate).

Sign Permit: Banded by sign size: 35 square feet or less = $40.00; 36-75 square feet = $80.00; 76-150 square feet = $150.00; 151-300 square feet = $200.00; over 300 square feet = $300.00. Awnings are priced separately at $4.00 per 100 square feet of vertical projected area (or fraction thereof), with a $40.00 minimum.

Notice of Formation Publication: Set by the newspaper itself, not the state, so no official figure exists — commonly reported in the region of $80 to $250 but unverified against any state schedule

Biennial Report: For an LLC, $25 filed electronically or $30 in writing; for a corporation, an occupation tax starting at $26 domestic or $52 foreign, rising in tiers by paid-in capital

Which offices issue these permits in Bellevue?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Bellevue, NE come from 7 separate offices: City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City Clerk, City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department), City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department, City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board, Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Nebraska Department of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

  • City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License (not required by the City of Bellevue)1500 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3007www.bellevue.net/278/City-Clerk
  • City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department)Issues 1 permit on this page: Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy1510 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3014www.bellevue.net/331/Permits-Inspections
  • City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Verification Letter1500 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3000www.bellevue.net/334/Planning
  • City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Repair Garage Fire Permit (not found in Bellevue's fee schedule)211 West 22nd Avenue, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 682-6630www.bellevue.net/180/Fire-Department
  • Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing BoardIssues 1 permit on this page: Automotive Repair Shop Licence (not required by Nebraska)301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509 · (402) 471-2148mvilb.nebraska.gov
  • Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including General Business Licence (not required by Nebraska), Certificate of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508 · (402) 471-4079sos.nebraska.gov/business-services
  • Nebraska Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax PermitPO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509 · (402) 471-5729revenue.nebraska.gov/businesses/starting-business-nebraska

Is anything about these requirements changing?

No fee applies. The City's own Master Fee Schedule lists only a short set of narrow occupation taxes — liquor licence classes, natural gas distributors (3% of gross), telephone companies (6.25% of gross), hotel operators (5.5% of gross), and music/vending/amusement machines — with no restaurant, drinking-place or general food-sales tax of the kind Lincoln (2%) and Omaha (2.5%) both charge. Chapter 8.5's own $25.00 annual 'license and occupation tax' applies only to businesses located within a designated Business Improvement District's boundaries, not citywide, and funds local BID public-improvement projects rather than general city operations. A handful of narrow Temporary Business Licences exist instead (Seasonal Merchant $25/one month or $50/four months; Itinerant Merchant/Peddler/Solicitor/Street Vendor/Transient Merchant/Mobile Vendor $50/day or $300/year; Carnival/Circus/Public Amusement Show $50/event plus $10/day per attraction) — none of them a universal operating licence. A business still needs Nebraska Secretary of State entity registration and any applicable state licence (both recorded at the state layer), plus whichever local building, zoning, fire and food-safety approvals apply below.

A genuine, confirmed valuation-based fee table, retrieved from the City's own separately-hosted 'Building Permit Fees' PDF after the Master Fee Schedule itself only referenced the table by name ('1997 Uniform Administrative Code fees as amended') without reprinting it. No standalone certificate-of-occupancy fee appears anywhere in the Master Fee Schedule; this project treats the certificate of occupancy as bundled into this same building-permit process under the locally-adopted 2021 International Building Code, rather than a separately-priced product. A business owner planning new construction (not a remodel) should budget for the ASIP and, if applicable, watershed-partnership fees on top of the base Table 3-A permit fee — both are real, confirmed, per-acre charges tied to the building-permit process rather than the permit fee itself.

A genuine, confirmed, banded fee table administered by the Planning Department (the Master Fee Schedule lists the sign permit under its 'Zoning Fees' heading, alongside the zoning verification letter and change-of-zone fees recorded elsewhere in this file), directly from the City's own Master Fee Schedule rather than an aggregator estimate.

A genuine, confirmed flat fee directly from the City's own Master Fee Schedule. The same schedule prices a Comprehensive Plan Amendment or Zoning Text Amendment at $500.00, a Change of Zone at $200.00-$550.00 by acreage, and a Conditional Use Permit at $175.00 (1 acre or less) or $325.00 (more than 1 acre) — relevant if a business's use requires more than a routine zoning check. No separate, discounted childcare-specific zoning letter was found the way Lincoln prices one; a Bellevue childcare provider pays this same general rate.

No fee applies. Unlike Omaha's fire code, which prices a named 'Repair garages and motor fuel-dispensing facilities' operational permit at $108.00, this project read Bellevue's own Fire Inspection Fee Schedule in full (Hospitals, Health Care Facilities, Liquor Inspections, Child Care Inspections, Foster Care Inspections) and found no repair-garage or auto-service category at all. Nebraska's own Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board, recorded at the state layer, likewise licenses only dealers, wreckers and salvage operations with no repair-shop category, so an auto repair shop's local obligations in Bellevue are the same generic building, zoning and sign requirements recorded elsewhere in this file rather than any trade-specific municipal product.

No fee, because the motor vehicle industry board's own complete list of licence categories runs to dealer, auction dealer, wrecker or salvage dealer, finance company, manufacturer and distributor representative — with no repair-shop entry among them. A licensed dealer is separately required to maintain adequate repair facilities or contract for warranty service, but that obligation attaches to holding a dealer licence, not to running a standalone repair shop, which needs no state licence to operate.

No fee, because Nebraska's own business registration portal lists only industry-specific licences and tax registrations, never a universal operating licence. What a business actually needs is entity registration with the Secretary of State, tax registration with the revenue department if it sells taxable goods, and whichever industry-specific licence applies below.

A hundred dollars online, $110 in person or by mail — filing online genuinely saves ten dollars. A corporation costs the same either way. Neither figure is the whole story, though: Nebraska formation is not complete until the newspaper publication requirement below is satisfied.

The same $100 online, $110 in person or by mail as an LLC, before newspaper publication. A nonprofit corporation is cheaper at $25 online or $30 in person.

Nebraska is one of a small number of states that still requires a company to announce its own existence in print — notice of organisation must run in a legal newspaper of general circulation near the entity's designated office for three consecutive weeks, and proof of that publication has to be filed back with the Secretary of State before formation is truly complete. The state sets no price for this at all; the newspaper does, and rates vary by publication and county. Skipping this step after paying the formation fee leaves the filing incomplete.

The two entity types sit on opposite calendars entirely, not just different fees. An LLC's report is due only in odd-numbered years, an ordinary corporation's only in even-numbered ones, each with its own due date and its own separate delinquency date weeks later. A corporation's charge is not a flat report fee but a genuine occupation tax, starting at $26 for a domestic corporation with modest paid-in capital and $52 for a foreign one, climbing through statutory tiers as capital grows — a large corporation can owe tens of thousands of dollars on this filing. Missing either deadline leads straight to administrative dissolution or, for a foreign entity, revocation of its authority to do business, effective the day after the delinquency date.

No fee to obtain, and the revenue department states plainly that once issued, a sales and use tax permit never needs renewing. It must be posted visibly at the retail location once received.

Sources

Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Bellevue Master Fee Schedule, Resolution No. 2025-01 (effective February 18, 2025) — the complete fee schedule covering building, fire, zoning, sign, contractor/trade licensing, occupation tax and peddler/mobile vendor feesCity of Bellevue, Nebraska · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  2. Bellevue Code of Ordinances § 8.5-3 (License and Occupation Tax Levied on Businesses, Professions Located Within District; Rate; Use) — confirms the $25.00 annual Business Improvement District tax applies only within district boundaries, under Chapter 8.5 (Business Improvement Districts)City of Bellevue, Nebraska (Code of Ordinances, via American Legal Publishing) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  3. Building Permit Fees — the City's own hosted copy of Table 3-A (Building Permit Fees) and Table 3-B (Electrical Permit Fees) of the 1997 Uniform Administrative Code, the valuation-based schedule referenced but not reprinted in the Master Fee ScheduleCity of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-11
  4. Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board — the complete list of licence types it issues, with no repair-shop categoryNebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  5. Nebraska One Stop Business Registration — the state's own business licensing portalState of Nebraska · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  6. Nebraska Secretary of State — business filing fee scheduleNebraska Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  7. Nebraska Revised Statutes section 21-193 — the requirement to publish notice of LLC formation in a local newspaperState of Nebraska · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  8. Nebraska Secretary of State — biennial reporting due dates, delinquency and administrative dissolutionNebraska Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  9. Nebraska Revised Statutes sections 21-303 and 21-304 — the corporate occupation tax and its due dateState of Nebraska · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  10. Nebraska Department of Revenue — registering for a sales tax permit, no fee and no renewalNebraska Department of Revenue · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.