10 permits · verified 2026-09-11
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Bellevue?
In short
A retail store in Bellevue, NE has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department charges $50 per letter for the zoning verification letter. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-11 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Bellevue
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department | Banded by sign size: 35 square feet or less = $40.00; 36-75 square feet = $80.00; 76-150 square feet = $150.00; 151-300 square feet = $200.00; over 300 square feet = $300.00. Awnings are priced separately at $4.00 per 100 square feet of vertical projected area (or fraction thereof), with a $40.00 minimum. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Bellevue
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department | $50 per letter | one-time, per request | 2026-09-11 |
| General Business Licensing — City of Bellevue Master Fee Schedule Positiononly if it applies to you | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City Clerk | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-11 |
| Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy | City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department) | Varies — formula on the Bellevue page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-11 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
NE registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Nebraska Department of Revenue | No fee | no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Notice of Formation Publication | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the NE page | a one-time notice, published for three successive weeks | 2026-09-04 |
| Biennial Reportonly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | Varies — formula on the NE page | an LLC reports in odd-numbered years by 1 April, delinquent 16 June; a corporation reports in even-numbered years by 1 March, delinquent 15 April | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $110 in person or by mail | perpetual, but a biennial report is due in odd-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $100 filed online; $110 in person or by mail | perpetual, but a biennial occupation tax report is due in even-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — State of Nebraska positiononly if it applies to you | Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Bellevue?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a retail store in Bellevue, NE, 3 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
4 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: Banded by sign size: 35 square feet or less = $40.00; 36-75 square feet = $80.00; 76-150 square feet = $150.00; 151-300 square feet = $200.00; over 300 square feet = $300.00. Awnings are priced separately at $4.00 per 100 square feet of vertical projected area (or fraction thereof), with a $40.00 minimum.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Bellevue permits page and the NE state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Bellevue?
Permits for a retail store in Bellevue, NE come from 5 separate offices: City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department, City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City Clerk, City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department), Nebraska Department of Revenue, Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Zoning Verification Letter1500 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3000www.bellevue.net/334/Planning
- City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Office of the City ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business Licensing — City of Bellevue Master Fee Schedule Position1500 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3007www.bellevue.net/278/City-Clerk
- City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Permits & Inspections (Building Department)Issues 1 permit on this page: Commercial Building Permit & Certificate of Occupancy1510 Wall Street, Bellevue, NE 68005 · (402) 293-3014www.bellevue.net/331/Permits-Inspections
- Nebraska Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax PermitPO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509 · (402) 471-5729revenue.nebraska.gov/businesses/starting-business-nebraska
- Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Notice of Formation Publication, Biennial Report, Certificate of Organization (LLC)1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508 · (402) 471-4079sos.nebraska.gov/business-services
What does a retail store need in Bellevue that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Bellevue
- Sign Permit — City of Bellevue, Nebraska, Planning Department, Banded by sign size: 35 square feet or less = $40.00; 36-75 square feet = $80.00; 76-150 square feet = $150.00; 151-300 square feet = $200.00; over 300 square feet = $300.00. Awnings are priced separately at $4.00 per 100 square feet of vertical projected area (or fraction thereof), with a $40.00 minimum., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Bellevue, NE; what each one involves is set out on the Bellevue permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NE and are covered on the NE state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Bellevue?
A retail store and a fitness studio in Bellevue, NE need exactly the same 1 permit beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 1 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 0 | 1 | 5 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Bellevue permits page and the NE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
