Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-04

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Raleigh?

In short

A restaurant in Raleigh, NC has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Raleigh Planning and Development charges $383 per commercial sign; a residential sign is $285 for the sign permit. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-04 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Raleigh

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certified Food Protection ManagerWake County Environmental Health and SafetyNo feeset by the underlying state certification standard2026-09-04
Food Establishment Plan ReviewWake County Environmental Health and Safety$250 for a restaurant or a food stand; $200 for a mobile food unit; $100 for a push cart; no plan-review fee for a limited food service establishment. Each re-review is $100, and prototype or chain plans submitted with a State approval letter are exempt from the county fee.one-time, per project or change of ownership2026-09-04
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youNorth Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health SectionNo feenot stated in North Carolina law — the certifying programme sets its own2026-09-03
Food Establishment PermitNorth Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section$120 a year, statewidethe permit does not expire; the fee is reassessed annually2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Raleigh

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Raleigh Planning and Development$383 per commercial sign; a residential sign is $285per sign — installation must begin within 6 months of the permit's issue date2026-09-04
Periodic Fire InspectionCity of Raleigh Office of the Fire MarshalVaries — formula on the Raleigh pagerecurring — the exact interval is not stated in the fee guide, though the naming implies a periodic rather than one-time inspection2026-09-04
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Raleigh Planning and Development$200 for a temporary certificate on a single-family or duplex unit; no standalone fee for a standard final certificate appears in the fee guide, suggesting it is bundled into the building permit feea temporary certificate expires 30 days after issuance2026-09-04
Commercial Building Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Raleigh Planning and DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Raleigh pageone-time, per project2026-09-04
General Business License — City of Raleigh positiononly if it applies to youCity of Raleigh Revenue ServicesNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

NC registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Registration (sales and use tax)North Carolina Department of RevenueNo feeno renewal — but see the dormancy rule2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youNorth Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration Division$125 one-time filingno expiry, but an annual report is due every 15 April2026-09-03
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youNorth Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration DivisionVaries — formula on the NC pageannual — 15 April for an LLC2026-09-03
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youNorth Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration Division$125 one-time filingno expiry, but an annual report is due each year2026-09-03
General Business License — North Carolina Secretary of State Positiononly if it applies to youNorth Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Raleigh?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Raleigh, NC, 6 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $320.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Plan Review: $250 for a restaurant or a food stand; $200 for a mobile food unit; $100 for a push cart; no plan-review fee for a limited food service establishment. Each re-review is $100, and prototype or chain plans submitted with a State approval letter are exempt from the county fee.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Raleigh permits page and the NC state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Raleigh?

Permits for a restaurant in Raleigh, NC come from 7 separate offices: Wake County Environmental Health and Safety, City of Raleigh Planning and Development, City of Raleigh Office of the Fire Marshal, City of Raleigh Revenue Services, North Carolina Department of Revenue, North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Business Registration Division, North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Raleigh that other businesses do not?

Food Establishment Plan Review

Raleigh itself runs no restaurant inspection program — Wake County does. Wake County's own plan review application states that plans must be submitted for approval before construction, renovation, modification or a change of ownership, so buying an existing restaurant does not avoid review: permits do not transfer at the sale of the business, and a buyer may be eligible for a transitional permit, which staff decide case by case. The county's matrix prices the review by facility type — $250 for a restaurant or a food stand, $200 for a mobile food unit, $100 for a push cart, and nothing for a limited food service establishment — with each re-review at $100. Prototype or chain plans that arrive with a State approval letter pay no county fee.

Shared with other businesses in Raleigh

  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Wake County Environmental Health and Safety, No fee, set by the underlying state certification standard. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, No fee, not stated in North Carolina law — the certifying programme sets its own. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, $120 a year, statewide, the permit does not expire; the fee is reassessed annually. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Raleigh, NC; what each one involves is set out on the Raleigh permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across NC and are covered on the NC state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Raleigh?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Raleigh, NC need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Raleigh, NC, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops4400
Food trucks2220
Auto repair shops2042
Childcare centres1041
Contractors and trades1041
Fitness studios0040
Retail stores0040
Salons and barbers2042
Veterinary clinics1041

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Raleigh permits page and the NC state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Wake County Environmental Health and Safety — plan review and permit fee matrixWake County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  2. Wake County Environmental Health — Food Service Establishment Plan Review Application (Shared Kitchen, Secondary Permitted Facility, 2026), stating when plans must be submittedWake County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
  3. Wake County Environmental Health & Safety — Plan Review & Permits: opening a new facility or buying an existing oneWake County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.