Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-08-26

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Beaumont?

In short

A restaurant in Beaumont, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Beaumont Building Codes Division charges $125 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 8 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-26 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Beaumont

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Parking Lot, Paving and Site Works Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Beaumont Building Codes Division$50–$300 per permit, by work typeper permit2026-08-26
Temporary Food Service Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$52 per permit14 consecutive days2026-08-26
Inspection and Re-Inspection Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$150–$200 inspection or re-inspectionper inspection2026-08-26
Yearly Gas InspectionCity of Beaumont Building Codes Division$100 per year1 year2026-08-26
Food PermitCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$150–$350 per year, by number of chairsnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-26
Retail Food Store PermitCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$19,250–$35,750 per year, by checkout countersnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-26
Seafood Establishment Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$22–$44 retail or wholesalenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-26
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to youTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission$2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewalevery 2 years2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Beaumont

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitCity of Beaumont Building Codes DivisionVaries — formula on the Beaumont pageper permit2026-08-26
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Beaumont Building Codes Division$125 per certificate30 days for a temporary certificate2026-08-26
Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing and Gas PermitCity of Beaumont Building Codes DivisionVaries — formula on the Beaumont pageper permit2026-08-26

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Beaumont?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a restaurant in Beaumont, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $225.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Parking Lot, Paving and Site Works Permit: $50–$300 per permit, by work type

Inspection and Re-Inspection Fee: $150–$200 inspection or re-inspection

Food Permit: $150–$350 per year, by number of chairs

Retail Food Store Permit: $19,250–$35,750 per year, by checkout counters

Seafood Establishment License: $22–$44 retail or wholesale

Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Beaumont permits page and the TX state page.

Is Beaumont expensive for a restaurant?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Beaumont sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Beaumont charges $125. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 12 charge less, 8 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Beaumont?

Permits for a restaurant in Beaumont, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Beaumont Building Codes Division, City of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Beaumont that other businesses do not?

1 of the 8 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Beaumont: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).

Temporary Food Service Permit

$52 for 14 consecutive days, the state ceiling. Filing late adds only $15 — the mildest late-filing penalty recorded here, against $100 in Longview and a 50 per cent surcharge in Wichita Falls — so a missed deadline in Beaumont is an inconvenience rather than a real cost.

Inspection and Re-Inspection Fee

$150 for an inspection and $200 for a re-inspection. On the smallest chair band that re-inspection costs more than the annual permit itself, which makes failing an inspection proportionally more expensive for a ten-seat cafe than for a large restaurant. A general late fee of $15 also appears on the schedule.

Food Permit

Banded by seating: $150 for 0 to 10 chairs, $225 for the band the ordinance prints as "11-10 chairs", $250 for 21 to 30, $275 for 31 to 50, $300 for 51 to 75, $325 for 76 to 100 and $350 above 100. The second band is a typo in the adopted ordinance — 11 to 10 is not a range, and the next band starting at 21 suggests 11 to 20 was meant — but that is an inference, so the fee is recorded and the range is quoted as printed. If your dining room seats between 11 and 20, confirm the figure with Environmental Health rather than assuming $225. Counting chairs is a rare basis for a food fee and a practical one: you can work out your band before you apply.

Seafood Establishment License

$44 for a wholesale seafood license and $22 for retail — separate from the general food permit and specific to Beaumont's Gulf Coast trade. Both are trivial sums beside the permit itself, but they are separate licenses and easy to miss when opening a fish counter or a wholesale operation. A public or parochial school cafeteria is $55.

Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)

Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.

Shared with other businesses in Beaumont

  • Parking Lot, Paving and Site Works Permit — City of Beaumont Building Codes Division, $50–$300 per permit, by work type, per permit. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios, veterinary clinics, childcare centres and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Yearly Gas Inspection — City of Beaumont Building Codes Division, $100 per year, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Retail Food Store Permit — City of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health, $19,250–$35,750 per year, by checkout counters, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Beaumont, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Beaumont permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Beaumont?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Food Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A retail store needs nothing here that a restaurant does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Beaumont, TX, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Retail stores6620
Coffee shops5530
Auto repair shops2260
Childcare centres2171
Contractors and trades2171
Fitness studios2171
Food trucks2171
Veterinary clinics2171
Salons and barbers1081

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page, coffee shops page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Beaumont permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Beaumont Ordinance No. 25-058, FY2026 fee schedule, Environmental Health (filed with Texas DSHS 30 October 2025)City of Beaumont, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
  2. Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.