9 permits · verified 2026-09-28
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Franklin County?
In short
A food truck in Franklin County, OH has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Franklin County Auditor, Licensing Section charges $50 one-time, per fixed place of business ($25 to the state Organized Crime Commission Fund, $25 to the Franklin County general fund) for the vendor's license (county vendor's license). 2 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-28 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a food truck in Franklin County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vendor's License (County Vendor's License) | Franklin County Auditor, Licensing Section | $50 one-time, per fixed place of business ($25 to the state Organized Crime Commission Fund, $25 to the Franklin County general fund) | standing registration, no renewal required — the Franklin County Auditor's own page states 'There is no annual renewal fee for either license' | 2026-09-28 |
| Mobile Food License (FCPH)only if it applies to you | Franklin County Public Health | $157.74 a year (FY2023 calculated-maximum figure), per mobile food unit | annual, same license year as the Permanent Food Facility License (expires March 1); a pre-operation inspection is required before the unit's first use | 2026-09-28 |
| Temporary Food License (FCPH)only if it applies to you | Franklin County Public Health | $73.98–$123.23 FY2023 calculated-maximum figures: up to $73.98 per day of operation, or up to $123.23 per event, depending on which basis FCPH applies | per event; limited to not more than 10 temporary licenses per licensing period to the same person or government entity under ORC 3717.43, one license per particular event | 2026-09-28 |
| Manager Certification in Food Protectiononly if it applies to you | Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety Program | No fee | not stated by the Ohio Department of Health | 2026-09-03 |
| Transient Vendor's Licenseonly if it applies to you | Ohio Department of Taxation | $50 one-time, valid statewide | no renewal — stays in effect until cancelled | 2026-09-03 |
| Food Service Operation License | Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety Program | $28 state fee for a commercial operation ($14 non-commercial, $6 per vending machine location), plus a license fee set independently by the local board of health | 1 March to the last day of February | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Franklin County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — Franklin County Auditor positiononly if it applies to you | Franklin County Auditor, Licensing Section | No fee | not applicable — the Auditor's Licensing Types page lists no general business license | 2026-09-28 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
OH registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $99 one-time filing | no expiry — Ohio requires no annual report | 2026-09-03 |
| Initial Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division | $99 one-time filing, minimum — see notes on authorised shares | no expiry — Ohio requires no annual report | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Franklin County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a food truck in Franklin County, OH, 2 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary Food License (FCPH): $73.98–$123.23 FY2023 calculated-maximum figures: up to $73.98 per day of operation, or up to $123.23 per event, depending on which basis FCPH applies
Food Service Operation License: $28 state fee for a commercial operation ($14 non-commercial, $6 per vending machine location), plus a license fee set independently by the local board of health
Which offices issue these permits in Franklin County?
Permits for a food truck in Franklin County, OH come from 5 separate offices: Franklin County Auditor, Licensing Section, Franklin County Public Health, Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety Program, Ohio Department of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Franklin County Auditor, Licensing SectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Vendor's License (County Vendor's License), General Business License — Franklin County Auditor position373 S. High St., 21st Floor, Columbus, OH 43215 · 614-525-3260auditor.franklincountyohio.gov/Consumer/Licensing-Types
- Franklin County Public HealthIssues 2 permits on this page: Mobile Food License (FCPH), Temporary Food License (FCPH)280 E. Broad St., Columbus, OH 43215 · 614-525-7462myfcph.org/food-safety
- Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Articles of Organization (LLC), Initial Articles of Incorporation22 North Fourth Street, Columbus, OH 43215 · (877) 767-6446bsportal.ohiosos.gov
- Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Manager Certification in Food Protection, Food Service Operation License246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215odh.ohio.gov/know-our-programs/food-safety-program
- Ohio Department of TaxationIssues 1 permit on this page: Transient Vendor's Licensetax.ohio.gov
What does a food truck need in Franklin County that other businesses do not?
2 of the 6 permits particular to a food truck here apply to no other business type we cover in Franklin County: Mobile Food License (FCPH) and Temporary Food License (FCPH).
Mobile Food License (FCPH)
A food truck, cart or trailer based outside Columbus and Worthington needs a Mobile Food License from Franklin County Public Health before operating: a pre-operation inspection is required, and FCPH's own Food Safety page states the mobile unit 'must move the mobile to a new location every 40 days.' A unit whose commissary or base of operations is inside Columbus or Worthington instead falls under Columbus Public Health, the independent city health department — CPH's own page states its inspections cover 'the cities of Columbus and Worthington' specifically, not the rest of the county. The FY2023 cost-analysis figure above ($157.74) is the calculated maximum for the mobile facility category, the most recent figure FCPH has filed; FY2023 actual collected revenue for this category averaged closer to $85 per unit, so a truck owner should confirm the currently charged amount with the Food Safety Program directly. A food truck also needs the county Vendor's License if it sells goods subject to Ohio sales tax from a fixed base location.
Temporary Food License (FCPH)
A food vendor operating at a single festival, fair or other short-term event outside Columbus and Worthington uses FCPH's Temporary Food License. FCPH's own Food Safety page and Columbus Public Health's page use identical '10 per year' language for this cap, and the reason they match is that both are simply restating the same state statute: ORC 3717.43 provides that 'a licensor may issue not more than ten temporary food service operation licenses per licensing period to the same person or government entity to operate at different events within the licensor's jurisdiction,' with only one license per particular event. The FY2023 cost-analysis filing calculates two possible maximum fee bases for this category — up to $73.98 per day of operation, or up to $123.23 per event — and Franklin County's actual per-event collections in FY2023 ran closer to $67-$112, so a vendor should confirm which basis and amount FCPH is currently charging. An event or vendor inside Columbus or Worthington instead needs Columbus Public Health's equivalent temporary permit, not FCPH's.
Transient Vendor's License
This is the license for selling away from a fixed address — fairs, festivals, markets, travelling to the customer — and unlike the county vendor's license it is valid in all eighty-eight counties on one registration. It is issued by the Department of Taxation only, never by a county auditor. Same $50 as the fixed-location license since House Bill 366 took effect on 9 April 2025.
Shared with other businesses in Franklin County
- Vendor's License (County Vendor's License) — Franklin County Auditor, Licensing Section, $50 one-time, per fixed place of business ($25 to the state Organized Crime Commission Fund, $25 to the Franklin County general fund), standing registration, no renewal required — the Franklin County Auditor's own page states 'There is no annual renewal fee for either license'. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, auto repair shops and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Manager Certification in Food Protection — Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety Program, No fee, not stated by the Ohio Department of Health. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Service Operation License — Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety Program, $28 state fee for a commercial operation ($14 non-commercial, $6 per vending machine location), plus a license fee set independently by the local board of health, 1 March to the last day of February. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 1 local permit in the tables apply to every type of business in Franklin County, OH; what each one involves is set out on the Franklin County permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OH and are covered on the OH state page.
How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Franklin County?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food License (FCPH), Temporary Food License (FCPH) and Transient Vendor's License. A coffee shop needs Liquor Permits — State Division of Liquor Control (Franklin County), Permanent Food Facility License (FCPH) and Vendor's License, which a food truck does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a food truck | Only a food truck needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 6 | 3 | 3 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 3 | 3 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 5 | 2 | 4 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 1 | 5 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 5 | 1 | 5 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 6 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 5 | 0 | 6 | 5 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Franklin County permits page and the OH state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Certification of Cost Analysis (M-2), FY2023 — FCPH's state-mandated filing computing maximum license fees by risk level, mobile, vending and temporary category, health-commissioner-signedFranklin County Public Health, Board of Health document archive · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Food Safety — FCPH's own program page: license categories, the 40-day mobile-relocation rule, the 10-per-year temporary license cap, and the March 1 annual expiration/20% late feeFranklin County Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Food Protection Program — Columbus Public Health's own page, stating 'Inspections are done to verify the safety of Columbus' food supply for all people who live, work or visit the cities of Columbus and Worthington' (a CITY agency, not Franklin County)City of Columbus, Columbus Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- ORC 3717.43 — a licensor may issue not more than ten temporary food service operation licenses per licensing period to the same person or government entityOhio Legislative Service Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
- Ohio Department of Taxation — sales and use tax, vendor's license types and feesOhio Department of Taxation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Ohio Department of Taxation — vendor's license fee change, House Bill 366Ohio Department of Taxation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
