Commercial Compliance Hub

6 permits · verified 2026-09-04

What permits do you need to open a food truck in Cleveland?

In short

A food truck in Cleveland, OH has 1 permit that applies to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Cleveland Division of Assessments and Licenses charges $60 a year for the badge; a zone permit is a further $60, or $30 a day / $125 a year for a mobile food shop zone for the street vendor's license. 1 of the 6 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-04 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a food truck in Cleveland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Street Vendor's Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Cleveland Division of Assessments and Licenses$60 a year for the badge; a zone permit is a further $60, or $30 a day / $125 a year for a mobile food shop zoneannual — expires July 312026-09-04
Manager Certification in Food Protectiononly if it applies to youOhio Department of Health, Food Safety ProgramNo feenot stated by the Ohio Department of Health2026-09-03
Transient Vendor's Licenseonly if it applies to youOhio Department of Taxation$50 one-time, valid statewideno renewal — stays in effect until cancelled2026-09-03
Food Service Operation LicenseOhio Department of Health, Food Safety Program$28 state fee for a commercial operation ($14 non-commercial, $6 per vending machine location), plus a license fee set independently by the local board of health1 March to the last day of February2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

OH registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youOhio Secretary of State, Business Services Division$99 one-time filingno expiry — Ohio requires no annual report2026-09-03
Initial Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youOhio Secretary of State, Business Services Division$99 one-time filing, minimum — see notes on authorised sharesno expiry — Ohio requires no annual report2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Cleveland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 6 records listed for a food truck in Cleveland, OH, 1 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

1 of the 6 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Service Operation License: $28 state fee for a commercial operation ($14 non-commercial, $6 per vending machine location), plus a license fee set independently by the local board of health

Which offices issue these permits in Cleveland?

Permits for a food truck in Cleveland, OH come from 4 separate offices: City of Cleveland Division of Assessments and Licenses, Ohio Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety Program, Ohio Department of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a food truck need in Cleveland that other businesses do not?

Street Vendor's License

Cleveland licenses no universal general business — this street-level vendor's license, plus a small set of other named categories the city itself describes as covering 'over 140 types of licenses and permits,' is the closest analog for anyone selling on city streets or in city rights-of-way.

Transient Vendor's License

This is the license for selling away from a fixed address — fairs, festivals, markets, travelling to the customer — and unlike the county vendor's license it is valid in all eighty-eight counties on one registration. It is issued by the Department of Taxation only, never by a county auditor. Same $50 as the fixed-location license since House Bill 366 took effect on 9 April 2025.

Shared with other businesses in Cleveland

  • Manager Certification in Food Protection — Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety Program, No fee, not stated by the Ohio Department of Health. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Service Operation License — Ohio Department of Health, Food Safety Program, $28 state fee for a commercial operation ($14 non-commercial, $6 per vending machine location), plus a license fee set independently by the local board of health, 1 March to the last day of February. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across OH and are covered on the OH state page.

How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Cleveland?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A food truck also needs Manager Certification in Food Protection and Food Service Operation License. A retail store needs Vendor's License, which a food truck does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Cleveland, OH, compared with a food truck
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a food truckOnly a food truck needsOnly it needs
Retail stores3221
Coffee shops4222
Restaurants4222
Auto repair shops2042
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades2042
Fitness studios1041
Salons and barbers3043
Veterinary clinics2042

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Cleveland permits page and the OH state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Cleveland — street vendor license and zone permit fees, annual expiration July 31City of Cleveland · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  2. Ohio Department of Taxation — sales and use tax, vendor's license types and feesOhio Department of Taxation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
  3. Ohio Department of Taxation — vendor's license fee change, House Bill 366Ohio Department of Taxation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.