Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-28

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Hennepin County?

In short

A retail store in Hennepin County, MN has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Hennepin County Licenses & Certificates charges $150 per location, stated directly on the county's own license page — 'the license is good for only the location on the application' for the transient merchant license. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-28 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Hennepin County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment License (annual)Hennepin County Public Health, Epidemiology and Environmental Health$100–$1,040 a year, 2026 schedule, by risk/complexity tier, plus a flat fee for each additional facility at the same site: Low Limited (packaged snacks only, portable bar, half-day childcare with snacks/milk only) $100 + $50; Low (convenience store, coffee fountain-only, sales-only bakery) $215 + $108; Medium Limited (small grocery, cafeteria/catering with no on-site prep) $405 + $202; Medium Small (large grocery, bar, catering food vehicle, small kitchen ≤10 meals, pizza) $612 + $305; High Small (full menu, under 175 seats and/or under 500 meals — family restaurant, fast food, deli, caterer) $807 + $404; High Large (full menu, over 175 seats or over 500 meals) $1,040 + $518annual; license period February 1, 2026 to January 31, 2027 for most categories (mobile units and seasonal stands instead run April 1 to March 31)2026-09-28
Liquor License — City Issues; County Role Limited to Fort Snelling (Hennepin County)only if it applies to youHennepin County Licenses & CertificatesNo feenot applicable outside the Fort Snelling unorganized territory2026-09-28
Transient Merchant Licenseonly if it applies to youHennepin County Licenses & Certificates$150 per location, stated directly on the county's own license page — 'the license is good for only the location on the application'not stated on the county's license page; one license covers only the single location applied for2026-09-28
Retail Tobacco Licenseonly if it applies to youHennepin County Public Health, Epidemiology and Environmental HealthHennepin County's own retail tobacco license page does not state a dollar fee amount; confirm the current figure with Hennepin County Public Health, 612-543-5200, before applying.annual; license year March 1 to the last day of February the following year2026-09-28
Precious Metal Dealer Licenseonly if it applies to youHennepin County Licenses & Certificates$50 per license, stated directly on the county's own license pagenot stated on the county's license page2026-09-28

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Hennepin County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License — Hennepin County Positiononly if it applies to youHennepin County Licenses & CertificatesNo feenot applicable — the county's business licenses and certificates page lists no general business license2026-09-28
Subsurface Sewage Treatment System (SSTS) Permitonly if it applies to youHennepin County Public Health, Epidemiology and Environmental HealthVaries — formula on the Hennepin County pageper installation, alteration or compliance inspection; no fixed renewal term published2026-09-28
Well Permit — Minnesota Department of Health Notification (Hennepin County)only if it applies to youHennepin County Public Health, Epidemiology and Environmental HealthNo feenot applicable at the county level — Minn. Stat. §103I.205 preempts county well permitting unless the Commissioner of Health has delegated it under §103I.1112026-09-28
Building Permit / Zoning Approval — City Issues (Hennepin County)only if it applies to youHennepin County Licenses & CertificatesNo feenot applicable — the county's ordinance index lists no building or zoning ordinance; each city issues building permits and zoning approvals2026-09-28

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MN registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youOffice of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Business Services Division$135 one-time filing by post; $155 online or in personperpetual, subject to a free annual renewal every December2026-09-03
General Business License — Minnesota state positiononly if it applies to youOffice of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feeset by the city2026-09-03
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youOffice of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Business Services Division$135 one-time filing by post; $155 online or in personperpetual, subject to a free annual renewal every December2026-09-03
Annual Renewalonly if it applies to youOffice of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Business Services DivisionNo feeannual — due by 31 December every year after the year of formation2026-09-03
Sales and Use Tax AccountMinnesota Department of Revenue, Business RegistrationNo feevalid until cancelled or revoked2026-09-03

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Hennepin County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a retail store in Hennepin County, MN, 2 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

3 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 7 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment License (annual): $100–$1,040 a year, 2026 schedule, by risk/complexity tier, plus a flat fee for each additional facility at the same site: Low Limited (packaged snacks only, portable bar, half-day childcare with snacks/milk only) $100 + $50; Low (convenience store, coffee fountain-only, sales-only bakery) $215 + $108; Medium Limited (small grocery, cafeteria/catering with no on-site prep) $405 + $202; Medium Small (large grocery, bar, catering food vehicle, small kitchen ≤10 meals, pizza) $612 + $305; High Small (full menu, under 175 seats and/or under 500 meals — family restaurant, fast food, deli, caterer) $807 + $404; High Large (full menu, over 175 seats or over 500 meals) $1,040 + $518

Retail Tobacco License: Hennepin County's own retail tobacco license page does not state a dollar fee amount; confirm the current figure with Hennepin County Public Health, 612-543-5200, before applying.

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Hennepin County permits page and the MN state page.

Is Hennepin County expensive for a retail store?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Hennepin County sits where the table below puts it against every other MN jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Precious Metal Dealer License: Hennepin County charges $50. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $25 in Washington County to $200 in Ramsey County, with a median of $50. 1 charges less, 2 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Transient Merchant License: Hennepin County charges $150. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $150 in Anoka County to $150 here, with a median of $150. 5 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Precious Metal Dealer License varies by $175 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Hennepin County?

Permits for a retail store in Hennepin County, MN come from 4 separate offices: Hennepin County Licenses & Certificates, Hennepin County Public Health, Epidemiology and Environmental Health, Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Business Services Division, Minnesota Department of Revenue, Business Registration. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Hennepin County that other businesses do not?

3 of the 5 permits particular to a retail store here apply to no other business type we cover in Hennepin County: Transient Merchant License, Retail Tobacco License and Precious Metal Dealer License.

Transient Merchant License

Hennepin County's own page frames this license around 'out-of-state businesses having a sale in Hennepin County' — a temporary or pop-up seller rather than a fixed local retail-store, though a retail-store hosting a visiting pop-up vendor could need it too. The fee is $150, good only for the specific location named on the application, so a multi-location temporary sale needs a separate license per site. Minn. Stat. §329.15 states directly that a city's own transient-merchant regulation is 'in addition' to the county/state license structure ('the requirements of sections 329.10 to 329.17 shall be in addition thereto'), not a replacement for it — the same reasoned structural conclusion as the precious metal dealer license above: this license likely stacks with a city's own transient-merchant or peddler ordinance rather than being pre-empted by one, wherever a city has adopted such an ordinance.

Retail Tobacco License

This license reaches only a narrow slice of the county: the unorganized territory of Fort Snelling and any city or town without its own compliant tobacco ordinance, which in practice is a short, named list — Greenfield, Mound, Rockford, Rogers, St. Bonifacius, and the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport. Minneapolis and nearly every other Hennepin County city run their own tobacco licensing and are excluded; the county's own page confirms directly that 'retail establishments licensed by a city or town are not required to obtain a second license for the same location under this ordinance,' so this is a substitute for a city license where one exists, not an addition to it. Relevant only to a retail-store (for example, a convenience store) actually sited in one of those specific small cities or at the airport; a retail-store anywhere else in the county should check its own city's tobacco ordinance instead. Compliance checks using persons under 21 apply regardless of which government issues the license.

Precious Metal Dealer License

A retail-store subtype dealing in pawn, coin or secondhand jewelry — a pawn shop, coin dealer or some jewelry stores — needs this $50 county license. Minn. Stat. §325F.733 requires the application to be filed with the auditor of the county where the dealer does business, a structure that runs through the county government directly rather than through an MDH-style delegation agreement a city could substitute for. Unlike the food, pool, body-art and tobacco licenses above, no source found states that Minneapolis or any other Hennepin County city carves itself out of this license the way it does for those programs, and the county-auditor filing structure gives no mechanism for a city to opt out even if it wanted to. The reasoned conclusion is that this license likely stacks with, rather than substitutes for, a Minneapolis business's own city precious-metal or pawnbroker license, rather than being pre-empted by one — a Minneapolis dealer should expect to hold both.

Shared with other businesses in Hennepin County

  • Food Establishment License (annual) — Hennepin County Public Health, Epidemiology and Environmental Health, $100–$1,040 a year, 2026 schedule, by risk/complexity tier, plus a flat fee for each additional facility at the same site: Low Limited (packaged snacks only, portable bar, half-day childcare with snacks/milk only) $100 + $50; Low (convenience store, coffee fountain-only, sales-only bakery) $215 + $108; Medium Limited (small grocery, cafeteria/catering with no on-site prep) $405 + $202; Medium Small (large grocery, bar, catering food vehicle, small kitchen ≤10 meals, pizza) $612 + $305; High Small (full menu, under 175 seats and/or under 500 meals — family restaurant, fast food, deli, caterer) $807 + $404; High Large (full menu, over 175 seats or over 500 meals) $1,040 + $518, annual; license period February 1, 2026 to January 31, 2027 for most categories (mobile units and seasonal stands instead run April 1 to March 31). Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Liquor License — City Issues; County Role Limited to Fort Snelling (Hennepin County) — Hennepin County Licenses & Certificates, No fee, not applicable outside the Fort Snelling unorganized territory. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Hennepin County, MN; what each one involves is set out on the Hennepin County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MN and are covered on the MN state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Hennepin County?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A retail store also needs Transient Merchant License, Retail Tobacco License and Precious Metal Dealer License. A coffee shop needs Special / Short-Term Event Food License (10 days or fewer), Certified Food Protection Manager and Food and Beverage Establishment License, which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Hennepin County, MN, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops5233
Restaurants5233
Childcare centres4143
Food trucks5144
Auto repair shops2052
Contractors and trades5055
Fitness studios1051
Salons and barbers5055
Veterinary clinics3053

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Hennepin County permits page and the MN state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Transient merchant license — $150 fee, for out-of-state businesses having a sale in Hennepin County, good only for the location on the applicationHennepin County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  2. Minn. Stat. Ch. 329, Transient MerchantsMinnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  3. Minn. Stat. §329.15 — municipal transient-merchant regulation is 'in addition' to county/state licensing, not a substitute for itMinnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  4. Retail tobacco license — annual license, March 1 to the last day of February; a city-licensed retailer needs no second county licenseHennepin County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  5. Retail Tobacco Sales Ordinance (Ordinance 21), effective January 1, 2020, enacted under Minn. Stat. §§461.12–461.18Hennepin County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  6. Precious metal dealer license — $50 fee, filed with the countyHennepin County · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29
  7. Minn. Stat. §325F.733 — precious metal dealer license application filed with the auditor of the county in which the dealer does businessMinnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-29

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.