16 permits · verified 2026-10-02
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Gwinnett County?
In short
A coffee shop in Gwinnett County, GA has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Gwinnett County Fire Marshal's Office charges $100 per Fire Certificate of Occupancy for a tenant building, per the Dept. of Planning & Development's Fee Schedule, Fire section for the gwinnett county fire certificate of occupancy (countywide). 8 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-02 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Gwinnett County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire / Life-Safety Permitsonly if it applies to you | Gwinnett County Fire Marshal's Office | Burn Permit $500.00; Site Plan Review $100.00; Commercial Kitchen Hood/Duct $100.00 per hood; Shell Fire Permit and Interior Finish Fire Permit scaled by square footage and sprinkler status — for example, a sprinklered Business/Mercantile/Day Care/Educational Occupancy up to 10,000 square feet costs $200.00. Other specialty fire permits on the same schedule range from $64.00 up to $1,280.00 for a high-rise building, all from the Dept. of Planning & Development's Fee Schedule, 'Fire Fees' section, effective July 1, 2024. | Per permit, tied to construction, remodeling, or a specific activity such as an open burn. | 2026-10-02 |
| Food Service Establishment Health Permit | Gwinnett County Health Department, Environmental Health Section (Gwinnett, Newton & Rockdale Public Health District) | Annual permit fee by inspection Risk Type and seating, per the GNR Environmental Health Fee Schedule, Rev. 082625, adopted August 25, 2025: Risk Type 1, under 30 seats $260.00 / 30 or more seats $360.00; Risk Type 2, under 30 seats $500.00 / 30 or more seats $700.00; Risk Type 3, under 30 seats $750.00 / 30 or more seats $1,050.00. New or change-of-ownership plan review: under 30 seats $350.00 / 30 or more seats $550.00. Temporary Food Service Permit: 1-4 days $150.00, 5-14 days $375.00. Pop-up Facilitator Plan Review $150.00; Pop-up Authorization for Vendor $150.00. HACCP Plan Review $200.00. Food Service Manager Course $150.00. A mobile food unit whose base of operation is permitted in Gwinnett, Newton, or Rockdale County is billed under this same schedule; the current fee schedule's full category list has no separate 'Mobile Food Unit' line, and the Mobile Unit Food Service Permit Application states that all plan review and permitting fees under this standard schedule apply to it. | Annual permit; New/Change-of-Ownership Plan Review and HACCP Plan Review are one-time charges. | 2026-10-02 |
| Building Permitonly if it applies to you | Gwinnett County Dept. of Planning & Development, Building & Development Divisions | New construction: $4.00 per $1,000.00 of ICC Building Valuation Data estimated construction cost (0.004 × valuation), updated annually each January 1 to the current ICC chart; Shell-Only construction is priced at 50% of the calculated valuation, and a 5% fee reduction applies for LEED/EarthCraft certification or a solar/EV-charger installation. Minor renovation under $75,000.00: Residential $125.00 / Non-residential $150.00. Extensive renovation of $75,000.00 or more: the same $4.00 per $1,000.00 formula. Selected related fees on the same schedule: Demolition $150.00; Tenant Change Permit $120.00; Mobile Home $75.00; Building Permit Extension $25.00; Building Permit Reinspection (first follow-up $0, second $50.00, third and later $100.00); Compliance Inspection Report (non-residential) $500.00. | Per project, from permit issuance through final inspection. | 2026-10-02 |
| Alcoholic Beverage License (County Layer, Unincorporated Gwinnett)only if it applies to you | Gwinnett County Licensing & Revenue Office, Dept. of Planning & Development | The dollar fee for this county license is not published in any public Gwinnett County document; the amount is disclosed only after logging into the county's authenticated Business Tax Portal. Contact the Licensing & Revenue Office, 678-377-4100, for the current amount. | Annual; county renewal deadline November 30, with online renewal by November 1 to receive the renewed license by January 1. | 2026-10-02 |
| Individual Alcohol (Pouring) Permitonly if it applies to you | Gwinnett County Police Department, Permits Unit | $100 per individual bartender or server, flat fee, as published on the Gwinnett County Police Department's Police Services page | Not stated on the Police Department's fee page; the primary source lists only the $100.00 fee amount, with no renewal term specified. | 2026-10-02 |
| Food Service Permit | Georgia Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Section | $240–$1,050 a year, set by the county board of health — no state fee, floor or ceiling | the permit is valid until suspended or revoked, but counties bill an annual fee | 2026-09-03 |
| Certified Food Safety Manageronly if it applies to you | Georgia Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Section | No fee | set by the certifying organisation, not by Georgia | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Gwinnett County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business/Occupation Tax Certificate | Gwinnett County Licensing & Revenue Office, Dept. of Planning & Development | Varies — formula on the Gwinnett County page | Annual; renewal due February 15. A $25.00 late fee applies after the deadline, with an additional 10% penalty after March 31 plus 1.5% monthly interest. | 2026-10-02 |
| Gwinnett County Fire Certificate of Occupancy (Countywide) | Gwinnett County Fire Marshal's Office | $100 per Fire Certificate of Occupancy for a tenant building, per the Dept. of Planning & Development's Fee Schedule, Fire section | Per occupancy, required before a commercial business opens or changes tenancy. | 2026-10-02 |
| Rezoning / Special Use Permit / Zoning Varianceonly if it applies to you | Gwinnett County Dept. of Planning & Development, Building & Development Divisions | Varies — formula on the Gwinnett County page | Per application. | 2026-10-02 |
| Certificate of Occupancy / Tenant Name Change Permit | Gwinnett County Dept. of Planning & Development, Building & Development Divisions | Varies — formula on the Gwinnett County page | Per occupancy; a Tenant Name Change Permit is required in place of a new Certificate of Occupancy when there is no construction. | 2026-10-02 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
GA registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Registration | Georgia Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services Division | No fee | no renewal — valid until cancelled, suspended or revoked | 2026-09-03 |
| General Business License — Georgia state position (local occupation tax certificate)only if it applies to you | Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | set by the issuing city or county, usually annual | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $110 one-time — $100 filing fee plus a $10 service charge | no expiry, but an annual registration is due each year | 2026-09-03 |
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $110 one-time — $100 filing fee plus a $10 service charge | no expiry, but an annual registration is due each year | 2026-09-03 |
| Annual Registrationonly if it applies to you | Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year — $50 plus a $10 service charge; $40 for a nonprofit | annual — filed between 1 January and 1 April | 2026-09-03 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Gwinnett County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a coffee shop in Gwinnett County, GA, 6 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire / Life-Safety Permits: Burn Permit $500.00; Site Plan Review $100.00; Commercial Kitchen Hood/Duct $100.00 per hood; Shell Fire Permit and Interior Finish Fire Permit scaled by square footage and sprinkler status — for example, a sprinklered Business/Mercantile/Day Care/Educational Occupancy up to 10,000 square feet costs $200.00. Other specialty fire permits on the same schedule range from $64.00 up to $1,280.00 for a high-rise building, all from the Dept. of Planning & Development's Fee Schedule, 'Fire Fees' section, effective July 1, 2024.
Food Service Establishment Health Permit: Annual permit fee by inspection Risk Type and seating, per the GNR Environmental Health Fee Schedule, Rev. 082625, adopted August 25, 2025: Risk Type 1, under 30 seats $260.00 / 30 or more seats $360.00; Risk Type 2, under 30 seats $500.00 / 30 or more seats $700.00; Risk Type 3, under 30 seats $750.00 / 30 or more seats $1,050.00. New or change-of-ownership plan review: under 30 seats $350.00 / 30 or more seats $550.00. Temporary Food Service Permit: 1-4 days $150.00, 5-14 days $375.00. Pop-up Facilitator Plan Review $150.00; Pop-up Authorization for Vendor $150.00. HACCP Plan Review $200.00. Food Service Manager Course $150.00. A mobile food unit whose base of operation is permitted in Gwinnett, Newton, or Rockdale County is billed under this same schedule; the current fee schedule's full category list has no separate 'Mobile Food Unit' line, and the Mobile Unit Food Service Permit Application states that all plan review and permitting fees under this standard schedule apply to it.
Building Permit: New construction: $4.00 per $1,000.00 of ICC Building Valuation Data estimated construction cost (0.004 × valuation), updated annually each January 1 to the current ICC chart; Shell-Only construction is priced at 50% of the calculated valuation, and a 5% fee reduction applies for LEED/EarthCraft certification or a solar/EV-charger installation. Minor renovation under $75,000.00: Residential $125.00 / Non-residential $150.00. Extensive renovation of $75,000.00 or more: the same $4.00 per $1,000.00 formula. Selected related fees on the same schedule: Demolition $150.00; Tenant Change Permit $120.00; Mobile Home $75.00; Building Permit Extension $25.00; Building Permit Reinspection (first follow-up $0, second $50.00, third and later $100.00); Compliance Inspection Report (non-residential) $500.00.
Alcoholic Beverage License (County Layer, Unincorporated Gwinnett): The dollar fee for this county license is not published in any public Gwinnett County document; the amount is disclosed only after logging into the county's authenticated Business Tax Portal. Contact the Licensing & Revenue Office, 678-377-4100, for the current amount.
Food Service Permit: $240–$1,050 a year, set by the county board of health — no state fee, floor or ceiling
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Gwinnett County permits page and the GA state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Gwinnett County?
Permits for a coffee shop in Gwinnett County, GA come from 8 separate offices: Gwinnett County Licensing & Revenue Office, Dept. of Planning & Development, Gwinnett County Fire Marshal's Office, Gwinnett County Dept. of Planning & Development, Building & Development Divisions, Gwinnett County Health Department, Environmental Health Section (Gwinnett, Newton & Rockdale Public Health District), Gwinnett County Police Department, Permits Unit, Georgia Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services Division, Georgia Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Gwinnett County Licensing & Revenue Office, Dept. of Planning & DevelopmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Business/Occupation Tax Certificate, Alcoholic Beverage License (County Layer, Unincorporated Gwinnett)75 Langley Drive, Lawrenceville, GA 30046 · 678-377-4100www.gwinnettcounty.com/government/departments/planning-development/services/business-license
- Gwinnett County Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Gwinnett County Fire Certificate of Occupancy (Countywide), Fire / Life-Safety Permitswww.gwinnettcounty.com/documents/d/gwinnett-county/fee-schedule-pdf
- Gwinnett County Dept. of Planning & Development, Building & Development DivisionsIssues 3 permits on this page: Rezoning / Special Use Permit / Zoning Variance, Certificate of Occupancy / Tenant Name Change Permit, Building Permit75 Langley Drive, Lawrenceville, GA 30046 · 678-518-6020www.gwinnettcounty.com/documents/d/gwinnett-county/fee-schedule-pdf
- Gwinnett County Health Department, Environmental Health Section (Gwinnett, Newton & Rockdale Public Health District)Issues 1 permit on this page: Food Service Establishment Health Permit455 Grayson Highway, Suite 600, Lawrenceville, GA 30046 · 770-963-5132www.gnrhealth.com
- Gwinnett County Police Department, Permits UnitIssues 1 permit on this page: Individual Alcohol (Pouring) Permit446 West Crogan Street, Suite 102, Lawrenceville, GA 30046www.gwinnettcounty.com/government/departments/police/police-services
- Georgia Department of Revenue, Taxpayer Services DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Registration1800 Century Boulevard NE, Atlanta, GA 30345-3205 · (877) 423-6711gtc.dor.ga.gov
- Georgia Department of Public Health, Environmental Health SectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Service Permit, Certified Food Safety Manager200 Piedmont Avenue SE, Atlanta, GA 30334 · (404) 657-2700dph.georgia.gov/environmental-health/food-service
- Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: General Business License — Georgia state position (local occupation tax certificate), Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization (LLC), Annual Registration2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive SE, Suite 313, Floyd West Tower, Atlanta, GA 30334-1530 · (404) 656-2817ecorp.sos.ga.gov
What does a coffee shop need in Gwinnett County that other businesses do not?
Food Service Establishment Health Permit
A restaurant, coffee shop, or food truck preparing or serving food in Gwinnett County needs this permit from the Gwinnett County Health Department's Environmental Health Section, part of the Gwinnett, Newton & Rockdale (GNR) Public Health district under the Georgia Dept. of Public Health. Annual fees run by inspection Risk Type and seating count: Risk 1 is $260.00 under 30 seats or $360.00 at 30 or more; Risk 2 is $500.00/$700.00; Risk 3 is $750.00/$1,050.00. A new establishment or change of ownership pays a plan-review fee of $350.00 or $550.00 by the same seating split. A mobile food unit (food truck) based in Gwinnett, Newton, or Rockdale County pays under this identical schedule — there is no separate mobile-unit fee line. Temporary permits, pop-up fees, HACCP plan review, and the Food Service Manager Course are each priced separately above. All figures are from the current schedule, Rev. 082625, adopted August 25, 2025.
Food Service Permit
Georgia sets the sanitation standard, the permit form, the inspection regime and the manager certification rule, and then sets no fee at all — the state's food service rule chapter contains no dollar figure anywhere. Every dollar is the county board of health's, with no statutory cap or floor, and the counties do not even band the same way: Fulton by risk type alone at $450, $600 or $750; Gwinnett, Newton and Rockdale by risk type crossed with seating from $260 to $1,050; DeKalb by cooking category crossed with risk points and floor area from $250 to $800. The range recorded here spans the verified county schedules rather than pretending to a single number. Plan review is required statewide but priced locally, and applications must be filed at least ten business days before opening. One jurisdictional trap: restaurants are not regulated by the Department of Agriculture, which covers food sales rather than food service.
Shared with other businesses in Gwinnett County
- Fire / Life-Safety Permits — Gwinnett County Fire Marshal's Office, Burn Permit $500.00; Site Plan Review $100.00; Commercial Kitchen Hood/Duct $100.00 per hood; Shell Fire Permit and Interior Finish Fire Permit scaled by square footage and sprinkler status — for example, a sprinklered Business/Mercantile/Day Care/Educational Occupancy up to 10,000 square feet costs $200.00. Other specialty fire permits on the same schedule range from $64.00 up to $1,280.00 for a high-rise building, all from the Dept. of Planning & Development's Fee Schedule, 'Fire Fees' section, effective July 1, 2024., Per permit, tied to construction, remodeling, or a specific activity such as an open burn.. Also required for restaurants, food trucks, childcare centres, fitness studios and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Building Permit — Gwinnett County Dept. of Planning & Development, Building & Development Divisions, New construction: $4.00 per $1,000.00 of ICC Building Valuation Data estimated construction cost (0.004 × valuation), updated annually each January 1 to the current ICC chart; Shell-Only construction is priced at 50% of the calculated valuation, and a 5% fee reduction applies for LEED/EarthCraft certification or a solar/EV-charger installation. Minor renovation under $75,000.00: Residential $125.00 / Non-residential $150.00. Extensive renovation of $75,000.00 or more: the same $4.00 per $1,000.00 formula. Selected related fees on the same schedule: Demolition $150.00; Tenant Change Permit $120.00; Mobile Home $75.00; Building Permit Extension $25.00; Building Permit Reinspection (first follow-up $0, second $50.00, third and later $100.00); Compliance Inspection Report (non-residential) $500.00., Per project, from permit issuance through final inspection.. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, childcare centres, fitness studios, auto repair shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Alcoholic Beverage License (County Layer, Unincorporated Gwinnett) — Gwinnett County Licensing & Revenue Office, Dept. of Planning & Development, The dollar fee for this county license is not published in any public Gwinnett County document; the amount is disclosed only after logging into the county's authenticated Business Tax Portal. Contact the Licensing & Revenue Office, 678-377-4100, for the current amount., Annual; county renewal deadline November 30, with online renewal by November 1 to receive the renewed license by January 1.. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Individual Alcohol (Pouring) Permit — Gwinnett County Police Department, Permits Unit, $100 per individual bartender or server, flat fee, as published on the Gwinnett County Police Department's Police Services page, Not stated on the Police Department's fee page; the primary source lists only the $100.00 fee amount, with no renewal term specified.. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Certified Food Safety Manager — Georgia Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Section, No fee, set by the certifying organisation, not by Georgia. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Gwinnett County, GA; what each one involves is set out on the Gwinnett County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across GA and are covered on the GA state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Gwinnett County?
A coffee shop and a restaurant in Gwinnett County, GA need exactly the same 7 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 7 | 7 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 4 | 3 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 2 | 5 | 0 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 2 | 5 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 5 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 1 | 6 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 6 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 7 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page, fitness studios page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Gwinnett County permits page and the GA state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- GNR Public Health — Gwinnett County environmental health fee scheduleGwinnett, Newton and Rockdale County Health Departments · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Mobile Unit Food Service Permit Application Packet, Rev. 2026.08.07Gwinnett, Newton & Rockdale (GNR) Public Health District · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02
- Georgia Comp. R. & Regs. chapter 511-6-1 — food service, including the permit requirement and the certified food safety manager ruleGeorgia Department of Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
- Fulton County Board of Health environmental health fee schedule, exhibit A to resolution 26-0451, adopted 5 August 2026Fulton County Board of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-03
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
